Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 151
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v4.0-xfce
Location: France

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#16 by bour59 » 03 May 2018, 15:44

x86_64 for non english speakers the nls files should be in /usr/lib64/locales
the fr-core_locales.xzm put them in /usr/lib/locale

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#17 by brokenman » 05 May 2018, 02:12

bour59 wrote:
03 May 2018, 15:44
x86_64 for non english speakers the nls files should be in /usr/lib64/locales
the fr-core_locales.xzm put them in /usr/lib/locale
Did you use the language settings tool in Porteus? It should move everything into the correct /usr/lib64/locales path.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 151
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v4.0-xfce
Location: France

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#18 by bour59 » 05 May 2018, 04:10

hi
as I can't find your tool in cli mode,
I simply put the language modules in base folder for always activate!
Bravo! to you and your team

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2541
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#19 by Blaze » 05 May 2018, 08:47

Hi bour59.

In CLI mode:

Code: Select all

su
toor
gtk-language-selection
In GUI mode: Porteus Settings Centre > Show the system screen (it's a second tab) > Language setup
Linux 5.3.0-rc3-porteus #1 SMP Mon Aug 5 11:28:55 UTC 2019 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 151
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v4.0-xfce
Location: France

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#20 by bour59 » 05 May 2018, 10:14

thx, Blaze
but gtk-language-selection requires an xsession,
which is not really in CLI mode
so I startx and all's ok.
verified by starting nano whose interface is now a french one

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#21 by Payoon » 05 May 2018, 14:07

In the moment I am migrating from porteus XFCE 322 64bit to porteus xfce 4.0 64 bit. Everything works fine. I can use all my (homemade) modules and could also use all the changes I had made to porteus 322. The only problem is with highlighting (marking) text in the browser by mouse. That works with all browsers in 322, it works with porteus LXQT 4.0, but it doesn't work with porteus xfce 4.0 ( I prefer this desktop). Not with the firefox browser and not with chrome. Does anyone have an idea, how to solve it. My mouse is a standard optical cherry mouse, but due to the said above the solution should be some where in xfce, but where?

Other than that, thanks to all for this great piece of work.

Payoon

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#22 by tome » 06 May 2018, 07:18

vmlinuz 4.16.3 - it doesn't work if porteus is on sdcard (mmcblk0), only partitions from hard drive are mounted at boot. In porteus 4.0rc5 it worked and was visible at /union/mnt but now /union is empty and /mnt has only hard drive partitions - it is for early boot stage. delay= cheatcode doesn't works also if .cfg(.sgn) file is not found earlier.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#23 by brokenman » 06 May 2018, 13:12

Missing kernel module? Anything in dmesg about it?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#24 by tome » 06 May 2018, 14:00

brokenman wrote:
06 May 2018, 13:12
Missing kernel module? Anything in dmesg about it?
It is before xzm modules are mounted/activated at boot. I must keep vmlinuz and initrd.xz files on hard drive because my bios doesn't see sdcards and previous vmlinuz can see/mount sdcard before searching xzm modules (that I keep on sdcard). I will try later dmesg.
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#25 by tome » 06 May 2018, 17:52

dmesg output for both kernels (used with core.xzm only, without core.xzm "dmesg > file.txt" doesn't work -> file.txt is empty):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/injb899xdcvm4 ... 0.txt?dl=1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ehtifzs4mg4qr ... 3.txt?dl=1

Compared in meld:
4.15.10 has "mmc0: cannot verify signal voltage switch" but 4.16.3 not,
and below part occurs earlier for 4.15.10:

"mmc0: new ultra high speed SDR104 SDXC card at address 0007
mmcblk0: mmc0:0007 SD64G 57.9 GiB
mmcblk0: p1 p2"

Maybe it has some sense not to mount sd-cards at boot (write "mounted" flag) because of read-write limits of flash cards? And for the same reason at shutdown they probably have not changed the flag to "unmounted".
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

raja
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 213
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32 and v5.0-rc1-zstd-64
Location: Chennai,India

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#26 by raja » 07 May 2018, 18:04

Finally,I downloaded final release v4.0-LXQt:

Kernel: Just like previous v4.15.2, v4.16.3 too is without support for Intel signal processing controller. No no touchpad.

Code: Select all

#Multi Function Driver:

#Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 21) needs Intel drivers for LPSS

CONFIG_LPC_ICH=m
CONFIG_LPC_SCH=m
CONFIG_MFD_INTEL_LPSS=m
CONFIG_MFD_INTEL_LPSS_ACPI=m
CONFIG_MFD_INTEL_LPSS_PCI=m
viewtopic.php?f=140&t=7452

Not enabled as promised.
I will add these to the kernel for next release.
HID over I2C - Precision Mouse

Again, Firmware -ath10k-qca9377-hw1.0 folder is empty. So no wireless device detection.

Pulse Audio: No connection possible.no mixer, no volume. Icon marked x.

LXqt: Battery not detected error- no blue icon in panel

menu -Leave - No action for "reboot and shutdown" .Shutdown m/c from terminal.

Got fed up and didn't test for any more bugs.

I will stay with v4.0rc1 with my custom kernel, for the time being.
Linux Kernel-4.4.120-32 bit; Linux kernel-5.2-64 bit.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1426
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#27 by fulalas » 09 May 2018, 10:13

brokenman wrote:
01 May 2018, 13:59
Confirmed. The virtualbox-guest module is not loaded during boot on the porteus guest. Loading it manually from /mnt/sr0/porteus/modules/ works fine and you can then go on as usual and create shared folders etc. Nothing in TTY1 to show failure to load.
I tried it here and indeed it seems to have something weird happening.

If we boot into Graphics Mode the vbox-guest module is not loaded, indeed. But there a some display driver errors during the boot (check /var/log/Xorg.0.log). If we boot into Text Mode we can see vbox-guest inside /mnt/live/memory/images, however we can't startx because of the lack of 'vboxvideo', which is true and a pity since this is the driver responsible for dynamic resolution setting (i.e. when it's loaded you can change the VBox window size and the internal OS automagically sets the new resolution).

If I could guess, I would look at the vboxvideo issue inside our vbox-guest module creation script.

Edit: I tried to manually copy vboxvideo from inside VBoxLinuxAdditions.run to /usr/lib64/xorg/modules. There are tons of vboxvideo files inside the package, but trying the vboxvideo_drv_118.so (pure guess) and renaming it to vboxvideo.so I received the following Xorg error:

Code: Select all

[     7.635] (II) LoadModule: "vboxvideo"
[     7.635] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/vboxvideo.so
[     7.636] (II) Module vboxvideo: vendor="Oracle Corporation"
[     7.636] 	compiled for 1.18.0, module version = 1.0.1
[     7.636] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[     7.636] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 20.0
[     7.640] (EE) vboxvideo: module ABI major version (20) doesn't match the server's version (23)
[     7.640] (II) UnloadModule: "vboxvideo"
[     7.640] (II) Unloading vboxvideo
[     7.640] (EE) Failed to load module "vboxvideo" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
[     7.640] (EE) No drivers available.
Edit 2: compiled xf86-video-vboxvideo-1.0.0 successfully but when loading it from inside VBox I get this:

Code: Select all

[     8.125] (II) LoadModule: "vboxvideo"
[     8.126] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/vboxvideo_drv.so
[     8.126] (II) Module vboxvideo: vendor="Oracle Corporation"
[     8.126] 	compiled for 1.19.6, module version = 1.0.1
[     8.126] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[     8.126] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 23.0
[     8.126] (**) Load address of symbol "VBOXVIDEO" is 0x7f3f6a8132c0
[     8.126] (II) VBoxVideo: guest driver for VirtualBox: vbox
[     8.126] (--) using VT number 7

[     8.129] (II) vboxvideo: kernel driver found, not loading.
[     8.129] (EE) No devices detected.
[     8.129] (EE) 
Fatal server error:
[     8.129] (EE) no screens found(EE) 
:crazy:

Edit 3: booting only with my build of xf86-video-vboxvideo and no vbox-guest seems to work. Well, kind of... We can now manually change the resolution from inside the VM (the system indeed sees the display as 'VBOX monitor'), but if we change the VBox window size (from the real machine) both LXDE and XFCE open tons of instances of the display setting app and the resolution isn't automatically changed. Hmmm... This is getting interesting. :thumbsup:

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 74
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#28 by Payoon » 12 May 2018, 09:12

[SOLVED]
Payoon wrote:
05 May 2018, 14:07
In the moment I am migrating from porteus XFCE 322 64bit to porteus xfce 4.0 64 bit. Everything works fine. I can use all my (homemade) modules and could also use all the changes I had made to porteus 322. The only problem is with highlighting (marking) text in the browser by mouse. That works with all browsers in 322, it works with porteus LXQT 4.0, but it doesn't work with porteus xfce 4.0 ( I prefer this desktop). Not with the firefox browser and not with chrome. Does anyone have an idea, how to solve it. My mouse is a standard optical cherry mouse, but due to the said above the solution should be some where in xfce, but where?

Other than that, thanks to all for this great piece of work.

Payoon
The problem was the use of my old changes xzm from porteus 322.
OK now!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6094
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#29 by brokenman » 13 May 2018, 14:04

@Tome
Can you run as root:
lspci -nnk|grep -A2 R104

@Raja
Apologies. I have updated the latest kernel and will upload tonight.

Added in 14 minutes 50 seconds:
@Raja please try the kernel at:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/kernel/porteus-4.16.8/
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 633
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#30 by tome » 14 May 2018, 14:49

brokenman wrote:
13 May 2018, 14:19
lspci -nnk|grep -A2 R104
Nothing found
Output from lspci -nnk is:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller [8086:0154] (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16bf]
	Kernel driver in use: ivb_uncore
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller [8086:0166] (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16c3]
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller [8086:1e31] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16ee]
	Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 [8086:1e3a] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16ea]
	Kernel driver in use: mei_me
	Kernel modules: mei_me
00:19.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82579V Gigabit Network Connection [8086:1503] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:161c]
	Kernel driver in use: e1000e
	Kernel modules: e1000e
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1e2d] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16e8]
	Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1e20] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:1757]
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1e10] (rev c4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:1e14] (rev c4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.7 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 8 [8086:1e1e] (rev c4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1e26] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16e8]
	Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation HM76 Express Chipset LPC Controller [8086:1e59] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16e0]
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 7 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [8086:1e03] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16e2]
	Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1e22] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:16e6]
	Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
	Kernel modules: i2c_i801
0a:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] [8086:0082] (rev 34)
	Subsystem: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 AGN [8086:1301]
	Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
	Kernel modules: iwlwifi
0b:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5229 PCI Express Card Reader [10ec:5229] (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Limited. Device [10cf:176b]
	Kernel driver in use: rtsx_pci
Kernel 4.15.10
No intelligence, no life and no information can exist without prior intelligence, life or information (in place where things change and time is running).

Post Reply