Changes are copied into the memory

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
por01
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Apr 2018, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus LXDE 4.0 x86_64

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#1 by por01 » 19 Apr 2018, 21:03

First I want to congratulate the Porteus team for creating such a fantastic OS. With my bug reports I want only to help it to be better not to criticize the developers' work. I found a few ones, so I think I create a different bug report for all.

When saving the changes, the changes are copied into the
memory

I use Porteus LXDE 4.0rc4 64bit version. (I am glad that you made LXDE version too, wich is the fastest and most user-friendly DE ever.) The content of ISO was copied into boot/porteus/Porteus-LXDE-v4.0rc4-x86_64 directory of my internal HDD (with only 1 partition). I boot Porteus with GRUB2. The menuentries in the grub/grub.cfg file:

Code: Select all

menuentry 'Porteus LXDE 4.0rc4 64b 20180212 live config k:hu,ro,us' {
 set OS=boot/porteus/Porteus-LXDE-v4.0rc4-x86_64
 linux /$OS/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$OS noswap zram=33% \
 extramod=boot/porteus/modules nomagic norootcopy kmap=hu,ro,us \
 cliexec=/mnt/sda1/boot/porteus/config/por_cli.sh \
 guiexec=/mnt/sda1/boot/porteus/config/por_gui.sh login=root
 initrd /$OS/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}

menuentry 'Porteus LXDE 4.0rc4 64b 20180212 live k:hu,ro,us' {
 set OS=boot/porteus/Porteus-LXDE-v4.0rc4-x86_64
 linux /$OS/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$OS noswap zram=33% \
 nomagic base_only norootcopy kmap=hu,ro,us login=root
 initrd /$OS/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}

menuentry 'Porteus LXDE 4.0rc4 64b 20180212 per-e k:hu,ro,us' {
 set OS=boot/porteus/Porteus-LXDE-v4.0rc4-x86_64
 linux /$OS/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$OS noswap zram=33% \
 changes=EXIT:boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1 \
 extramod=boot/porteus/modules kmap=hu,ro,us login=root
 initrd /$OS/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}

While using persistence, I used also Wine which created about 500M size directory in home. Then I observed that my available memory significantly decreased. The reason was that the changes directory was not loop mounted but directly copied into the RAM. If this is the normal behaviour of Porteus, this is not a bug report. But if so, I will use Porteus always in live mode. :)

Boot with persistence, using boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1/changes directory:

Code: Select all

# mount
...
tmpfs on /mnt/live/memory/changes type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=2307128k)
...

# free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3755         197        3127          70         430        3093
Swap:          1239           0        1239

# du -sm /mnt/sda1/boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1
43	/mnt/sda1/boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1
Boot in live mode:

Code: Select all

# free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3755         169        3300          24         285        3215
Swap:          1239           0        1239
The shared memory difference is: 70-24=46 : the size of changes directory. Meantime I deleted the big wine directory from home, but this also shows that the changes are directly copied into the RAM.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#2 by Blaze » 20 Apr 2018, 16:54

Hi por01.
Probably you are skip this / character in this line
changes=EXIT:/boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1 \
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#3 by Ed_P » 20 Apr 2018, 17:03

Or this line

Code: Select all

changes=/boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1 \
Ed

por01
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Apr 2018, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus LXDE 4.0 x86_64

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#4 by por01 » 21 Apr 2018, 16:58

This would have been a very simple solution... :D Unfortunately "/" does not help in this case.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#5 by Ed_P » 21 Apr 2018, 17:07

How about

Code: Select all

changes=/$OS/boot/porteus/v4.0-rc4_c1 \
Ed

por01
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Apr 2018, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus LXDE 4.0 x86_64

Changes are copied into the memory

Post#6 by por01 » 21 Apr 2018, 17:34

Yes, I put everywhere a slash. But I got only one difference: at Porteus system info > Boot_info > Modules activated during boot time, instead of "/mnt/sda1/boot/porteus/..." appears "/mnt/sda1//boot/porteus/...". Otherwise, this is the reason I omit those slashes. I do not like to see "//" instad of the correct "/" path...

And also tried to give the path like "/mnt/sda1/..." Without success, too.

Post Reply