Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1165
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#61 by jssouza » 09 Mar 2018, 17:13

M. Eerie wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 16:58
I've found that keyboard reverts back to 'us' as before.
Hmm, I was today the whole day on Mate with kb layout "at" with a programmatical fix in the mate startup scripts what I mentioned earlier, and not once it reverted back to "us". I will keep an eye on it. Maybe you are running gsettings much later, and my fix comes much earlier in the DE startup, maybe even earlier than the setxkbmap itself, and that's why it works.
The surest way (before this change) to reproduce this issue is to connect a new USB, a HDMI monitor, or just go Ctrl-Alt-F1 to VT1 and then come back to the Xorg terminal. The layout would have jumped to "us".
M. Eerie wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 16:58
Then the layout can't get swapped by simply clicking system tray icon.
This I've seen. I have a workaround in mind. I will see if it works.
Thanks.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#62 by Blaze » 09 Mar 2018, 17:21

M. Eerie, I use this configuration + cheat code kmap=us,ru in /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg
BTW, I prefer us for keyboard layout by default. Probably it help you to fix your issue.

ru_RU-locales-files-new.xzm

Code: Select all

/ru_RU-locales-files-new
├── etc
│   ├── profile.d
│   │   ├── lang.csh
│   │   └── lang.sh
│   └── rc.d
│       └── rc.font
└── usr
    └── lib64
        └── locale
            └── locale-archive

6 directories, 4 files

Code: Select all

cat /etc/profile.d/lang.csh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/csh
# Set the system locale.  (no, we don't have a menu for this ;-)
# For a list of locales which are supported by this machine, type:
#   locale -a

# en_US.UTF-8 is the Slackware default locale.  If you're looking for
# a different UTF-8 locale, be aware that some of them do not include
# UTF-8 or utf8 in the name.  To test if a locale is UTF-8, use this
# command:
#
# LANG=<locale> locale -k charmap
#
# UTF-8 locales will include "UTF-8" in the output.
setenv LANG ru_RU.UTF-8

# 'C' is the old Slackware (and UNIX) default, which is 127-bit ASCII
# with a charmap setting of ANSI_X3.4-1968.  These days, it's better to
# use en_US.UTF-8 or another modern $LANG setting (or at least en_US)
# to support extended character sets.
#setenv LANG C

# Non-UTF-8 options for en_US:
#setenv LANG en_US
#setenv LANG en_US.ISO8859-1

# One side effect of the newer locales is that the sort order
# is no longer according to ASCII values, so the sort order will
# change in many places.  Since this isn't usually expected and
# can break scripts, we'll stick with traditional ASCII sorting.
# If you'd prefer the sort algorithm that goes with your $LANG
# setting, comment this out.
setenv LC_COLLATE C

# End of /etc/profile.d/lang.csh

Code: Select all

cat /etc/profile.d/lang.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
export LANG=ru_RU.utf8
export LC_COLLATE=C

Code: Select all

cat /etc/rc.d/rc.font

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# This selects your default screen font from among the ones in
# /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts.
#
setfont -v UniCyr_8x16.psf
Linux 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
M. Eerie
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 214
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#63 by M. Eerie » 09 Mar 2018, 19:01

jssouza wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 17:13
just go Ctrl-Alt-F1 to VT1 and then come back to the Xorg terminal
I was into it, when system got totally frozen and had to... errrrrrrrrrrm unbusier him... ALT+SYS Req+reisub

Upon reboot, I've made a shot of what's going on...

Image

Hope this helps.

Blaze, I will follow your advices and see how it goes. Hopefully this will help solve the lack of locale support in Nemesis as well.

Thanks all!

Cheers!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#64 by brokenman » 11 Mar 2018, 13:42

Ed_P wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 05:20
Maybe an early run routine that merges the .cfg file cheatcodes into the cmdline ones would be an easier approach.
Splendid idea! I'll see if it's practical

Added in 4 hours 12 minutes 16 seconds:
I've implemented that superlative idea. Now all boot line arguments are collated into one single file at /etc/bootcmd.cfg and I've updated scripts to check this single file. Please do so with /etc/rc.4 for your respective desktops.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#65 by Ed_P » 11 Mar 2018, 21:53

:hmmm: cp /etc/bootcmd.cfg /proc/cmdline work? I have scripts accessing the /proc/cmdline file also. :%) And I suspect maybe other users.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#66 by brokenman » 11 Mar 2018, 23:12

cp /etc/bootcmd.cfg /proc/cmdline work?
No. No. Absolutely not. This is a process file created every boot. I've put a few lines in linuxrc to copy all used cheatcodes from both /proc/cmdline and the porteus-v4.0-$ARCH.cfg file into a single config file so all scripts can just check one file.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#67 by Ed_P » 12 Mar 2018, 05:12

brokenman wrote:
11 Mar 2018, 23:12
I've put a few lines in linuxrc to copy all used cheatcodes from both /proc/cmdline and the porteus-v4.0-$ARCH.cfg file into a single config file so all scripts can just check one file.
I understand the concept but why not have the lines in linuxrc copy all the cheatcodes from the porteus-v4.0-$ARCH.cfg file into the /proc/cmdline file when booting so all scripts can continue to check the file they currently check?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#68 by brokenman » 12 Mar 2018, 23:17

I understand the concept but why not have the lines in linuxrc copy all the cheatcodes from the porteus-v4.0-$ARCH.cfg file into the /proc/cmdline file when booting
Perhaps not. /proc/cmdline is a process file. It's not writable even as root during boot and it is used to communicate with the kernel. One could hijack the file by bind mounting over it as a mask but this is polluting the boot process. It's a rather messy measure to take and it could inadvertently impact other applications that read the file. Also, I've already made the changes by creating a third bootcmd.cfg file.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#69 by Ed_P » 12 Mar 2018, 23:46

Oh! Ok. Thanks for the detailed followup.

Basically you just like creating .cfg files. :D
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#70 by Rava » 13 Mar 2018, 12:21

Blaze wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 17:21
M. Eerie, I use this configuration + cheat code kmap=us,ru in /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg
BTW, I prefer us for keyboard layout by default. Probably it help you to fix your issue.
Blaze, where did you get the ru_RU.utf8 or ru_RU.UTF8 from?

When I ask my rc4 4.0 XFCE system about it I get this:

Code: Select all

# locale -a
C
C.utf8
POSIX
en_US
en.US.utf8
No de_DE.utf8. Brokenman told me some weeks ago that I have to wait for the final version, but I presume you get the needed locales somewhere... But How to get these?

Tried to find these myself since I can be online right now and download all I want (until the 90 minutes time limit is up, that is) but seems my search-fu fails... Image <-- I am just kidding there. :D
I tried https://duckduckgo.com/?q=de_DE.utf8+ge ... are&ia=web but got explanations how to set it up like https://docs.slackware.com/slackware:localization or https://www.shellhacks.com/linux-define ... -settings/ ... but I wanted to get the needed files for locale de_DE.utf8...

______________________

and another bug:
youtube-dl gives an error with 4.0rc4 (x86-64 XFCE)

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# uname -a
Linux porteus 4.15.2-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 11 18:34:01 -02 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
root@porteus:/home/guest# youtube-dl 
bash: /usr/bin/youtube-dl: /usr/bin/python3: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# python --version
Python 2.7.14
root@porteus:/home/guest# vi /usr/bin/youtube-dl
root@porteus:/home/guest# head -n 1 /usr/bin/youtube-dl
#!/usr/bin/python
root@porteus:/home/guest# youtube-dl --help
Usage: youtube-dl [OPTIONS] URL [URL...]

Options:
  General Options:
    -h, --help                       Print this help text and exit
    --version                        Print program version and exit
I know, it is a very dirty trick to just replace #!/usr/bin/python3 with #!/usr/bin/python… could currently not check if youtube-dl is really working as it should due to lack of internet where my porteus pcs are....
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#71 by Blaze » 13 Mar 2018, 18:07

Rava wrote:
13 Mar 2018, 12:21
where did you get the ru_RU.utf8 or ru_RU.UTF8 from?
In the glibc-i18n-2.27-x86_64-1.txz

Code: Select all

/glibc-i18n-2.27-x86_64-1/usr/lib64/locale$ ls | grep -i de_DE.utf8
de_DE.utf8/
XFCE, LXDE, LXQt, KDE5 does not have python3
except MATE and Cinnamon - the are have it =)
Linux 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#72 by Rava » 14 Mar 2018, 12:56

Blaze wrote:
13 Mar 2018, 18:07
In the glibc-i18n-2.27-x86_64-1.txz
Your link was not accessible... but https://packages.slackware.com/?r=slack ... i586-1.txz worked okay. Thanks.

...
And silly me downloaded the i586 version by mistake. *facedesk*

Update
This time the x86_64 version as of link of Blaze downloaded just fine.
Last edited by Rava on 15 Mar 2018, 08:06, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#73 by Ed_P » 15 Mar 2018, 04:40

Cinnamon

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ keepassx
keepassx: error while loading shared libraries: libQtCore.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/ | grep keep
keepassx-2.0.3-x86_64-1alien.xzm/
guest@porteus:~$ 
keepassx downloaded via USM, no errors during the download or when creating the module.


-update-

Found a solution: keepassx error (Post by Ed_P #57800) :good:
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#74 by Rava » 16 Mar 2018, 01:57

Anyhow. .. how does one figure out which font Definitions in /usr/share/i18n/charmaps I need to keep for de_DE.utf8?
I try just keeping ISO-8859-1 and DIN_66003 ... but have to restart to see if that works okay (together with the changes in rc.d/lang.csh & lang.sh)

I Stripped down the glibc Module for de_DE to just 220kB for now.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1188
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v4.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#75 by wread » 16 Mar 2018, 12:15

KDE
As you say, I normally cook my own version of KDE.....This time I have done it again, but I did it trying to conserve as much as possible the official version. That meant not to touch -if possible- 000, 001 and 002.

Many features I had in 003 are now built in 002- good!

I had to add the "hostname" command, that was not present and one or other missing file I have now forgotten. I bumped NetworkManager (or was it ModemManager? -one of both for sure) to current, they were not paired, and chasing for the bold points (one on the left corner, proxy for an icon and three on the right corner, proxies for inverted ^, ^ and x, I actually found the missing file and added it to 003.

I lost the piece of paper where I wrote down changes I did. But I am posting this link to the actual changed modules, for the case the developer of this version wants to examine it.

Cheers!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply