Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
M. Eerie
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 214
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#46 by M. Eerie » 02 Mar 2018, 19:37

Sorry being late...

In MATE DE the locale modules generated via Porteus Centre seems to be mixed/uncomplete. I.E. Brisk Menu shows locale strings correctly, but desktop menu (RightMouseButton) is showing in english.

Also, some settings (power-management sleep display, fonts settings, etc.), remain unchanged despite saving changes while some others are kept.

The keyboard behaviour operates as in version 3.2.2: Whenever the desktop is alive, the us layout is back into bussiness no matter what cheatcode was chosen at startup (cheatcode keyb=es in my case). Clicking on the country tray icon switches to the desired one, althought it changes from time to time, and depending on which tasks are executed. The only valid solution I've found is to click in the systray and set it manually _just after_ login in.

Thanks.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1165
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#47 by jssouza » 02 Mar 2018, 20:12

M. Eerie, thanks for your feedback, currently the locales are not fully implemented, and would be handled properly once we reach Porteus v4.0 final.
M. Eerie wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 19:37
cheatcode keyb=es in my case
I think the cheatcode would be kmap=es. Could you verify please? Thanks.

User avatar
M. Eerie
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 214
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#48 by M. Eerie » 02 Mar 2018, 22:23

jssouza wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 20:12
the cheatcode would be kmap=es.
Yes you're right. The cheatcode I'm using is kmap=es

:)

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 72
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 4.0 LXDE 64-bit
Location: England

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#49 by Philip » 03 Mar 2018, 13:09

fulalas

LXDE 32-bit
I can now confirm that the Porteus settings centre does start from the menu. But for some unknown reason it didn't work at the time of the test.

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 72
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 4.0 LXDE 64-bit
Location: England

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#50 by Philip » 04 Mar 2018, 12:26

Openbox 32-bit

epdf viewer: If a pdf document contains .jpg images, they are not shown in the viewer.

Cannot get kmap=gb to work. Even setting the keymap in porteus-settings-centre does not retain the setting between boots.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1548
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#51 by fulalas » 04 Mar 2018, 20:30

@Philip, this was already fixed. It's going public on the next release :)

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1560
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My Mate 64 bit
Location: USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#52 by Jack » 05 Mar 2018, 15:13

Philip wrote:
04 Mar 2018, 12:26
Openbox 32-bit

epdf viewer: If a pdf document contains .jpg images, they are not shown in the viewer.

Cannot get kmap=gb to work. Even setting the keymap in porteus-settings-centre does not retain the setting between boots.
Thanks for the test file with the 4 images and with my builds I can see all 4 images when I open your pdf file. Thanks for your test pdf file.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1165
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#53 by jssouza » 08 Mar 2018, 12:26

If cheatcodes like changes=, volume=, kmap= etc. are added in the new porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg instead of passing through the bootloader, then these cheatcodes will not be present in /proc/cmdline. Hence porteus scripts that check only /proc/cmdline for cheatcodes would fail to implement the cheatcodes.

Code: Select all

[root:/opt/porteus-scripts]# grep -R cmdline
xorg/gui-autostart:VOLUME=`egrep -o " volume=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2`
xorg/gui-autostart:KMAP=`egrep -o " kmap=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2`
xorg/gui-autostart:for cmd in `egrep -o " guiexec=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2- | tr ";" " "`; do
gtk-porteus-timeconfig:grep "changes=" /proc/cmdline && export using_changes=1 || unset using_changes
make-changes:## Check if changes file was used in cmdline
make-changes:changeline=`grep -o -P 'changes=/.*.dat' /proc/cmdline`
pinstaller:             export cmdline=`</proc/cmdline`
pinstaller:#export cchanges=`cat /proc/cmdline|grep -o "[^ ]*changes[^ ]*"`
pinstaller:if [ `grep -o copy2ram /proc/cmdline` ]; then
porteus-settings-centre:[[ `grep -o "changes=" /proc/cmdline` ]] && using_changes=1
xpsinfo:cat /proc/cmdline >> $info
psinfo:cat /proc/cmdline >> $info
pxe-server:storage=`egrep -o " storage=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2 | sed s@^/dev/@/mnt/@`
update-porteus:if [ `egrep -o " from=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2 | grep "\.iso"` ]; then
Also looks like some cheatcodes (noeject, changes-ro etc.) are only checked in /proc/cmdline by linuxrc.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1165
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#54 by jssouza » 08 Mar 2018, 14:47

M. Eerie wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 19:37
The keyboard behaviour operates as in version 3.2.2: Whenever the desktop is alive, the us layout is back into bussiness no matter what cheatcode was chosen at startup
M. Eerie, can you execute the following command and then check if keyboard layout stays in es layout and does not jump to us layout after that from time to time?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ gsettings set org.mate.peripherals-keyboard-xkb.kbd layouts "['es', 'us']"
Thanks

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#55 by Ed_P » 08 Mar 2018, 14:56

:shock: Nice catch jssouza.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#56 by brokenman » 09 Mar 2018, 00:02

Thanks jssouza,

I know there are many cheatcodes that won`t work. It`s a matter of me tracking them all down and adding the extra check. Thanks for the list.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
M. Eerie
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 214
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#57 by M. Eerie » 09 Mar 2018, 00:19

jssouza wrote:
08 Mar 2018, 14:47
M. Eerie, can you execute the following command...
Done. And yes, the layout seems to be fixed now. ;)

However, in dconf-editor, the real path seems to be: /org/mate/desktop/peripherals/keyboard/kbd/layouts

Perhaps this schema was missing. I'll check it out booting again, prior to save my ~/.config/dconf/user file.

Thanks!

Edit: This was my previous setup. Not sure this makes a big change.

Image

Edit2: Sorry... :pulpfiction: :Oops:
Last edited by M. Eerie on 09 Mar 2018, 16:26, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5539
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#58 by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2018, 05:20

brokenman wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 00:02
I know there are many cheatcodes that won`t work. It`s a matter of me tracking them all down and adding the extra check.
Maybe an early run routine that merges the .cfg file cheatcodes into the cmdline ones would be an easier approach. :happy62:
M. Eerie wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 00:19
Edit: This was my previous setup. Not sure this makes a big change.

Image
:%) Anyone able to read this image?
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#59 by Rava » 09 Mar 2018, 12:27

Ed_P wrote:
09 Mar 2018, 05:20
:%) Anyone able to read this image?
Nope, seems the image is just a preview? M. Eerie, you need to upload a higher quality image...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
M. Eerie
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 214
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#60 by M. Eerie » 09 Mar 2018, 16:58

Fixed image above.

Digging up a bit more, I've found that keyboard reverts back to 'us' as before.

I'd swear this is happening whenever a system updating script fires up (i.e. a module gets activated, etc.). Then the layout can't get swapped by simply clicking system tray icon. You have to right-click on it, then select Layouts --> English (US), and only then, you are able to select another layout. :%)

Cheers!

Post Reply