Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#76 by Ed_P » 16 Mar 2018, 16:03

yldouright wrote:
16 Mar 2018, 12:30
Looking into the "USM:Settings:Edit Database" menu command, I didn't not a listing for slackware patches.
Confirmed.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#77 by brokenman » 18 Mar 2018, 13:29

slackware-patches IS slackware.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5509
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#78 by Ed_P » 18 Mar 2018, 13:41

When doing a usm -u all it shows as a separate update. Can be misleading to some users.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -u all
 Starting slackware database update 
Downloading: vercheck.txt  DONE
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5  DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz  DONE
File verification was good.
Optimizing manifest
 slackware  database updated. 

Updating config file

 Starting slackwarepatches database update 
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5  DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz  DONE
File verification was good.
Optimizing manifest
 slackwarepatches  database updated.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6104
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#79 by brokenman » 18 Mar 2018, 15:48

I'll see if I can add slackwarepatches to the GUI.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#80 by cchuang » 21 Mar 2018, 01:25

As the Porteus-4.x released, I had tried to run on Mac notebook pro with retina. But it always halted with a blackscreen; only text-mode worked. However, Porteus-3.2 works with X. Is it caused by the absent of boardcom driver or something else missed?

Thanks in advance,

cch

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2480
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 5.0rc1 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#81 by Rava » 22 Mar 2018, 14:41

cchuang wrote:
21 Mar 2018, 01:25
As the Porteus-4.x released, I had tried to run on Mac notebook pro with retina. But it always halted with a blackscreen; only text-mode worked. However, Porteus-3.2 works with X. Is it caused by the absent of boardcom driver or something else missed?

Thanks in advance,

cch
Can you try booting into text mode aka runlevel 3, and if you not use changes folder to save the logs, do the below to log the Info to your harddrive. Make sure the target folder and target partition exists. I use /mnt/sda1/backup/ as the main partition and target folder. Adjust it to your own system.

To log /var/log/messages Do this:

Code: Select all

#log into a virtual terminal (VT) as root and type this (adjust the path if needed)
 tail -fn 10 /var/log/messages|tee -a /mnt/sda1/backup/var_log_messages_INSERT.DATE.HERE 
Log into another VT as root and Do the same for the /home/guest/ xsession log File. For XFCE that would be .xfce4-xsession.verbose-log

Could be that the x session log file not exists.

Then log into an VT as guest and create an empty file using "touch" command. (At least I hope the first X session uses that very same log file. .. I use a different approach using a script of mine that is able to copy the text ouput of an VT. But you need my script for that)

Anyhow when both log files are also copied to your hard disk log in as guest (if you are not already logged in as guest) and start X.
I do so via "startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" but that only works for Xfce.

Then look into both log files if any significent error got logged. Post these errors here.


I hope my above tips are not too complicated.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

ziutek
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2016, 17:13
Distribution: 3.2 r5 x86
Location: 127.0.0.1

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#82 by ziutek » 23 Mar 2018, 13:23

RC4 32bit doesn't recognize my video card (show sofware rendering mode window, and very slow), network card doens't work too, the same is sound card. On RC1 work ok, but i don' tested rc2 and 3 :(
Machine is Dell FX170, http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/pr ... -sheet.pdf
Graphic Intel 945GSE, audio inte HDA, network realtek RT8111/8168/8411
I know it'a ancient. Something changes in kernel make it unusable?

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 234
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#83 by roadie » 24 Mar 2018, 16:42

ziutek wrote:
23 Mar 2018, 13:23
RC4 32bit doesn't recognize my video card (show sofware rendering mode window, and very slow), network card doens't work too, the same is sound card. On RC1 work ok, but i don' tested rc2 and 3 :(
Machine is Dell FX170, http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/pr ... -sheet.pdf
Graphic Intel 945GSE, audio inte HDA, network realtek RT8111/8168/8411
I know it'a ancient. Something changes in kernel make it unusable?
I have the same specs in my laptops, apart from the network card and have not seen the display and sound problems you're having.

I have tried the 586 RC4 Cinnamon and Mate ISO's and they both have a very long waiting time to get to the desktop. When they open to the desktop, they run well, speed being a relative thing due to the machine specs, but I certainly have no problems doing what I want.

I have an idea what may be causing this, but I haven't looked into it as I run a different init with Porteus and that will effect things as compared to the standard Porteus init. But, booting from the ISO showed the same problems when I last tested them. Looking into it is on my todo list, but I'm easily led astray with my current playing. However, I don't believe your machine specs are the problem, it's a software issue causing it.

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 75
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#84 by Payoon » 27 Mar 2018, 11:30

I'm not sure, but I think in the language module

Code: Select all

de-core_locales.xzm
for XFCE 64bit the

Code: Select all

/usr/lib
directory should be renamed to

Code: Select all

/usr/lib64
.
Don't hang me, if I'm wrong.

Anyway great piece of work.

Payoon

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 75
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#85 by Payoon » 27 Mar 2018, 11:41

P.S. we had that some time ago (I think it was 3.2) and Donald was the smart guy to discover.

Happy Eastern to everyone!

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#86 by cchuang » 28 Mar 2018, 01:44

Thanks, Rava. Almost can't save all the log. Thus I tried to install on older USB2 pendriver, previous one being USB3. It works now on a Mac notebook pro. However, network card can't be recognized since b43 module, for boardcom product, was absent. Do anyone provide the b43 related module?

Best wishes,

cch

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#87 by cchuang » 28 Mar 2018, 14:21

Also un-detected card, (Broadcom BCM43xx), seems to related the message in "dmesg",

btusb: loading module not compiled with retpoline compiler.

How to load the driver for the Broadcom device?

Thanks,

cch

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#88 by cchuang » 30 Mar 2018, 04:01

Also libgst*.so (gsstream*) had been removed from 005-devel.xzm. Right?

Thanks,

cch

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 234
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#89 by roadie » 30 Mar 2018, 17:49

4.0-Rc4 586 Mate edition in AF boot.
Asus EeePc 1000 Atom N270

When the lid is closed, it goes to suspend but when reopened the machine reboots, but not in a nice way. I get the Grub boot screen, but the keyboard is frozen so the machine has to be shutdown. Power Manager is set to suspend on lid closure.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1165
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#90 by jssouza » 30 Mar 2018, 18:03

roadie wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 17:49
When the lid is closed, it goes to suspend but when reopened the machine reboots
Tried on an acer aspire one, lid closed and reopened, I get the lock screen prompt. Enter password and brings me back to desktop.
roadie wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 17:49
I get the Grub boot screen
Why grub? is this a customized mate?
roadie wrote:
30 Mar 2018, 17:49
Power Manager is set to suspend on lid closure.
Yes, Isnt this correct?

Post Reply