Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1345
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#46 by ncmprhnsbl » 27 Feb 2018, 21:30

Ed_P wrote:
27 Feb 2018, 14:15
But in looking at the porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg file that certainly is not a menu file.
yeah Ed, it just does cheatcodes.
and note that whatever cheatcodes are set in that file will be passed to whatever boot entry you choose..
so special boot options ( say eg: load=foo noload=bah 3 ) should be in ReFind.conf or porteus.cfg.
and of course if you're booting isos via grub(or whatever), you have no option(without remastering) to edit porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Binary Enigma
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Feb 2018, 11:44
Distribution: Porteus v4 32 bit

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#47 by Binary Enigma » 27 Feb 2018, 22:46

jssouza wrote:
27 Feb 2018, 05:22
Checked this logged in as guest and it works. Is this when you are logged in as root? This is upstream. Cinnamon developers have disabled logging in as root.
This turned out to be just a temporary bug, not sure, it no longer happens.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3819
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#48 by Ed_P » 27 Feb 2018, 22:48

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
27 Feb 2018, 21:30
and of course if you're booting isos via grub (or whatever), you have no option (without remastering) to edit porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg..
Actually when booting via grub2 porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg, porteus.cfg and rEFInd.conf are not used. The booting options are specified in the grub2 menu and passed to vmlinuz.

Code: Select all

#
#  SubMenu Entry 1       Porteus 4.0
#
submenu     'Porteus 4.0'       --class submenu   --class icon-porteus   --class custom_001  {
#
# start-custom-code
# Set the timeout for the submenu
set timeout=30

# Set the subdefault variable to the submenu entry you prefer
set subdefault=1

set gfxpayload=1024x768

     set linux_folder=/porteus4.0
     if [ -f /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz ]; then linux_folder=""; fi
#     set iso=/ISOs/porteus-4.0rc3-x86_64-20180128.iso
#     LXQT  MATE  OPENBOX  XFCE
     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v4.0rc4-x86_64.iso
#     set porteusmods="extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;"
     set porteusmods="extramod="

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold $porteusmods "
#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold "

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF+" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=my40changes extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;$linux_folder/Modules"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=my40changes $porteusmods$linux_folder/Modules"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO - AF'" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold  extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;$linux_folder/Modules"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold  $porteusmods$linux_folder/Modules"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }

menuentry " Porteus 4.0 ISO" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=xfce load=cinn extramod=$linux_folder/Modules resolution=1600x900"
#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;$linux_folder/Modules changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat 3"
#     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=my40changes extramod=$linux_folder/003Modules;$linux_folder/Modules changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat"
     set boot_parms="volume=33 reboot=cold noload=my40changes $porteusmods$linux_folder/Modules changes=EXIT:$linux_folder/changes/porteussave.dat"

     search -f $iso --set=root
     loopback loop $iso
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $boot_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
     }
# end-custom-code
}
Ed

throwaway
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Feb 2018, 07:24
Distribution: Manjaro

link http://goo.gl/ci4EE leads to an error 500

Post#49 by throwaway » 28 Feb 2018, 23:36

I get an error 500 when I follow the link http://goo.gl/ci4EE found on the file USB_INSTALLATION.txt produced after mounting Porteus-LXQT-v4.0rc4-x86_64

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3819
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

link http://goo.gl/ci4EE leads to an error 500

Post#50 by Ed_P » 01 Mar 2018, 01:19

hmmm Somebody forget to pay the annual fee?? B)
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1345
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#51 by ncmprhnsbl » 01 Mar 2018, 01:30

thanks, the correct (redirected) link should be: http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... guide.html (i assume)
not : http://porteus.org/info/docs/37-install ... -v-10.html
i will move this post to the rc4.0 bug reports (done)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

M. Eerie
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#52 by M. Eerie » 02 Mar 2018, 19:37

Sorry being late...

In MATE DE the locale modules generated via Porteus Centre seems to be mixed/uncomplete. I.E. Brisk Menu shows locale strings correctly, but desktop menu (RightMouseButton) is showing in english.

Also, some settings (power-management sleep display, fonts settings, etc.), remain unchanged despite saving changes while some others are kept.

The keyboard behaviour operates as in version 3.2.2: Whenever the desktop is alive, the us layout is back into bussiness no matter what cheatcode was chosen at startup (cheatcode keyb=es in my case). Clicking on the country tray icon switches to the desired one, althought it changes from time to time, and depending on which tasks are executed. The only valid solution I've found is to click in the systray and set it manually _just after_ login in.

Thanks.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#53 by jssouza » 02 Mar 2018, 20:12

M. Eerie, thanks for your feedback, currently the locales are not fully implemented, and would be handled properly once we reach Porteus v4.0 final.
M. Eerie wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 19:37
cheatcode keyb=es in my case
I think the cheatcode would be kmap=es. Could you verify please? Thanks.

M. Eerie
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 21:18
Distribution: APorteus BUDGIE x64

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#54 by M. Eerie » 02 Mar 2018, 22:23

jssouza wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 20:12
the cheatcode would be kmap=es.
Yes you're right. The cheatcode I'm using is kmap=es

:)

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#55 by Philip » 03 Mar 2018, 13:09

fulalas

LXDE 32-bit
I can now confirm that the Porteus settings centre does start from the menu. But for some unknown reason it didn't work at the time of the test.

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#56 by Philip » 04 Mar 2018, 12:26

Openbox 32-bit

epdf viewer: If a pdf document contains .jpg images, they are not shown in the viewer.

Cannot get kmap=gb to work. Even setting the keymap in porteus-settings-centre does not retain the setting between boots.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1031
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#57 by fulalas » 04 Mar 2018, 20:30

@Philip, this was already fixed. It's going public on the next release :)

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1514
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 4.0rc4 My LXDE 64 bit
Location: USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#58 by Jack » 05 Mar 2018, 15:13

Philip wrote:
04 Mar 2018, 12:26
Openbox 32-bit

epdf viewer: If a pdf document contains .jpg images, they are not shown in the viewer.

Cannot get kmap=gb to work. Even setting the keymap in porteus-settings-centre does not retain the setting between boots.
Thanks for the test file with the 4 images and with my builds I can see all 4 images when I open your pdf file. Thanks for your test pdf file.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#59 by jssouza » 08 Mar 2018, 12:26

If cheatcodes like changes=, volume=, kmap= etc. are added in the new porteus-v4.0-x86_64.cfg instead of passing through the bootloader, then these cheatcodes will not be present in /proc/cmdline. Hence porteus scripts that check only /proc/cmdline for cheatcodes would fail to implement the cheatcodes.

Code: Select all

[root:/opt/porteus-scripts]# grep -R cmdline
xorg/gui-autostart:VOLUME=`egrep -o " volume=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2`
xorg/gui-autostart:KMAP=`egrep -o " kmap=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2`
xorg/gui-autostart:for cmd in `egrep -o " guiexec=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2- | tr ";" " "`; do
gtk-porteus-timeconfig:grep "changes=" /proc/cmdline && export using_changes=1 || unset using_changes
make-changes:## Check if changes file was used in cmdline
make-changes:changeline=`grep -o -P 'changes=/.*.dat' /proc/cmdline`
pinstaller:             export cmdline=`</proc/cmdline`
pinstaller:#export cchanges=`cat /proc/cmdline|grep -o "[^ ]*changes[^ ]*"`
pinstaller:if [ `grep -o copy2ram /proc/cmdline` ]; then
porteus-settings-centre:[[ `grep -o "changes=" /proc/cmdline` ]] && using_changes=1
xpsinfo:cat /proc/cmdline >> $info
psinfo:cat /proc/cmdline >> $info
pxe-server:storage=`egrep -o " storage=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2 | sed s@^/dev/@/mnt/@`
update-porteus:if [ `egrep -o " from=[^ ]+" /proc/cmdline | cut -d= -f2 | grep "\.iso"` ]; then
Also looks like some cheatcodes (noeject, changes-ro etc.) are only checked in /proc/cmdline by linuxrc.

jssouza
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#60 by jssouza » 08 Mar 2018, 14:47

M. Eerie wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 19:37
The keyboard behaviour operates as in version 3.2.2: Whenever the desktop is alive, the us layout is back into bussiness no matter what cheatcode was chosen at startup
M. Eerie, can you execute the following command and then check if keyboard layout stays in es layout and does not jump to us layout after that from time to time?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ gsettings set org.mate.peripherals-keyboard-xkb.kbd layouts "['es', 'us']"
Thanks

Post Reply