Page 11 of 15

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 11 Oct 2016, 04:42
by rchase
The lockup occurred only once on my desktop running (I believe at that point, unmodified) 3.2rc5 XFCE, while I had the file browser open and the Network Manager was failing to connect to the Internet using my Ethernet.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 11 Oct 2016, 05:33
by rchase
Success! Your latest version fixed my Internet connection -- thanks! I will be on the lookout for the only problem I encountered in rc4 (occasional loss of graphical cursor with the rest of the GUI seemingly intact), but I hope to use this copy of Porteus more and more. I am writing this from just-installed Firefox; Libre Office downloaded, but threw a number of warnings. I'll try Kodi next.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 12 Oct 2016, 05:47
by Ed_P
update-firefox appears to only make FireFox beta modules. Is there a way for it or some other update- script to create official release FireFox modules like 49.0.1?

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 12 Oct 2016, 18:13
by brokenman
Download the archive that you want to use and place it in /tmp and then run the udpate script. It should detect an archive there and attempt to use it.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 12 Oct 2016, 21:09
by Ed_P
Thank you brokenman.

I just saw this answer you posted also. viewtopic.php?f=49&t=6292&p=49586#p49582

Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports: Cinnamon 32 Bit

Posted: 13 Oct 2016, 22:12
by Bogomips
Activated in terminal libreoffice-5.2.2.2-i586.xzm from Update Script viewtopic.php?f=51&t=6265 and promptly lost all icons in menu. The only places with icons remaining, being Places & Recent Files. The activation process was also quite drawn out.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 03:01
by Slaxmax
fdisk -l

Code: Select all

Disk /dev/sda: 931.5 GiB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt

Device          Start        End    Sectors   Size Type
/dev/sda1        2048    2050047    2048000  1000M Windows recovery environment
/dev/sda2     2050048    2582527     532480   260M EFI System
/dev/sda3     2582528    4630527    2048000  1000M Lenovo boot partition
/dev/sda4     4630528    4892671     262144   128M Microsoft reserved
/dev/sda5     4892672  414953471  410060800 195.5G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda6  1875177472 1927606271   52428800    25G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda7  1927606272 1953523711   25917440  12.4G Windows recovery environment
/dev/sda8   414953472 1875177471 1460224000 696.3G Microsoft basic data 

Partition table entries are not in disk order.
Try mount any partition and show this error in dolphin
An error occurred while accessing 'BACKUP', the system responded: The requested operation has failed: Error mounting system-managed device /dev/sda8: Command-line `mount "/mnt/sda8"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: The disk contains an unclean file system (0, 0).
Metadata kept in Windows cache, refused to mount.
Failed to mount '/dev/sda8': Operation not permitted
The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown
Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume
read-only with the 'ro' mount option.

In porteus 3.1 is mounted partitions normally

EDIT
bluetooth not work same problem in porteus 3.1

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# dmesg | grep fail
[   10.043848] usb 1-7: Direct firmware load for ar3k/AthrBT_0x31010000.dfu failed with error -2
[   10.043851] Bluetooth: Loading patch file failed
[   10.043855] ath3k: probe of 1-7:1.0 failed with error -2

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 03:59
by freestyler
I am getting some new messages I haven't seen before on boot up. Is the a log file file somewhere for this?
other than that everything else is running sweet. Nice theming

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 15:38
by francois
Welcome back freestyler. Will you be around for a few weeks? :wink:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 17:16
by brokenman
At the start of the 4.8 kernel I noticed a flurry of "Could not connect to X server" messages during the start process. Then it connects. It all happens rather quickly. Logs are found in /var/logs

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 17:34
by FURRY_NOVA
Still problems with getting WiFi applet to enable on start up. :(

So far I've tried:
* Loading dhcp-4.3.4-i586-1.xzm in module. Edited the 00-dhcp-client.conf by changing "dhcp=dhcpcd" to "# dhcp=dhcpcd" and changing "# dhcp=dhclient" to "dhcp=dhclient".
* I've gone to my WiFi connection and set IPv6 Settings Method to Ignore, which disables it I think.
* I've added network-manager-applet-1.4.2-i486-1_gfs.xzm and NetworkManager-1.4.2-i586-1_gfs.xzm to module folder which Blaze made.
* I've gone to Porteus Settings Center and ran Porteus Updater, had to disable Porteus Firewall to run it.
brokenman wrote:For people with ipv6 problems, NetworkManager should be compiled with dhclient support.
--with-dhclient
I'm not sure if you mean setting conf file with the modules I noted, mate. Unless this is what causing problem.
brokenman wrote: Then you will need to include the latest updates which I pushed to the server this morning I doubt very much that this is what is causing the complete lockups you mention. Can you describe your setup a bit more? Vanilla Porteus-v3.2rc5?
XFCE Porteus 3.2rc5

I'm wondering if I should just wait till 3.2 is released and hope problem is fixed. I don't want to be a bother to you guys with the backbone problem I'm having. Although it took like 5 reboots to get online. Should I try making a new dat? Only thing I'm concerned about is setting all my personalization back up again. :( :wall:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 17:45
by brokenman
Should I try making a new dat?
This should be the first thing you try to see if the problem is in your changes. Boot into always fresh mode.
Check your PMs.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 22:35
by rchase
I have given up on GPT partitioning; I don't need more than four partitions and couldn't load (x86) Phoenix with my 64-bit UEFI loader anyway. In reverting to MBR and separating Phoenix and Porteus into their own separate partitions (to facilitate booting with EasyBCD), I now seem to have lost my Internet connection (via Ethernet) again. I just downloaded Porteus-XFCE-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso from Kent Univeristy again -- all the modules in /base are dated 9/2 or before. Where are the updated 001 and 002 files to be found?

P.S. I am sorely confused; I thought that I was in possession of an 3.2rc5 XFCE iso with working (Ethernet) Network Manager, but upon re-installing what I now have, I again have no Internet. I see brokenman's edit above of a post dated 10/10 makes reference to new 001 and 002 files uploaded then, but all the mirrors' rc5s are dated 9/2 or before.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 22:44
by Jack
rchase wrote:I have given up on GPT partitioning; I don't need more than four partitions and couldn't load (x86) Phoenix with my 64-bit UEFI loader anyway. In reverting to MBR and separating Phoenix and Porteus into their own separate partitions (to facilitate booting with EasyBCD), I now seem to have lost my Internet connection (via Ethernet) again. I just downloaded Porteus-XFCE-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso from Kent Univeristy again -- all the modules in /base are dated 9/2 or before. Where are the updated 001 and 002 files to be found?
Here is the latest for rc5 http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... ates/core/

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Posted: 16 Oct 2016, 22:58
by rchase
Jack wrote:Here is the latest for rc5 http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... ates/core/
Thank you very much!