Problems connecting to Samba share

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
nickh
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 07 Mar 2011, 20:56
Location: UK

Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#1 by nickh » 06 Jul 2012, 17:18

Hi,
With 1.2 now and I'm having problems connecting to a Samba share on my server. If I go to the System icon > Add network folder > Microsoft Windows Network Drive > then put in:
name: nnn
server: 192.168.2.1 or //192.168.2.1
Folder: shared or /shared

1 - The save and connect button stays greyed out until I hit back then reselect Microsoft Windows Network Drive
2 - Even then hitting Save and Connect gives a box "Sorry - TDE Network Wizard" wiht the message "Unable to connect to server. Please check your settings and try again". I would at this point have expected to be prompted for a user name and password. Do you know what is happening?

I can successfully connect from the command line with the mount.cifs command. I cannot use smb:// in the location bar of Konqueror as it says protocol not supported.

Regards,

Nick

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#2 by brokenman » 06 Jul 2012, 23:38

Thanks for the report. I will look into what's causing it, my guess is a change in TDE somewhere but i will nail it down. In the meantime you could install a full blown samba package from slackware to see if works for you. This version is a highly stripped samba.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

kaz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 02:21
Location: Japan

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#3 by kaz » 07 Jul 2012, 02:36

nickh wrote:Hi,
With 1.2 now and I'm having problems connecting to a Samba share on my server.
I can successfully connect from the command line with the mount.cifs command. I cannot use smb:// in the location bar of Konqueror as it says protocol not supported.
Nick
In my case, mount.cifs does not work:

root@porteus:~# mount.cifs //192.168.2.1/public /mnt/ph -o user=kaz,uid=kaz
Password:
mount error 22 = Invalid argument
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

mount.cifs perfectly worked with Porteus i486 1.1, but not with 1.2.

Before Porteus 1.2 was released, I tested Porteus XFCE i486 1.2 rc2, which did not have mount.cifs. I installed the samba package of Slackware 13.37, and mount.cifs worked perfectly there.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#4 by brokenman » 07 Jul 2012, 02:49

I can successfully connect from the command line with the mount.cifs command.
Ok so mount.cifs works ok in V1.2, i have also used it successfully.

Here is my block to connect to a winshare:

Code: Select all

modprobe cifs
mkdir /mnt/win
mount -t cifs -o useranme=Maura,password=secret  //192.168.1.200/jay /mnt/win
Maura is the username on winbox.
//192.168.1.200/jay is the winbox IP and share.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

kaz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 02:21
Location: Japan

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#5 by kaz » 07 Jul 2012, 08:57

But in my case, with Porteus v1.2 i486,

root@porteus:~# modprobe cifs
root@porteus:~# mount -t cifs -o user=kaz //192.168.2.1/public /mnt/ph
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on //192.168.2.1/public,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
(for several filesystems (e.g. nfs, cifs) you might
need a /sbin/mount.<type> helper program)
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so
root@porteus:~# dmesg | tail
...
[ 1282.638220] CIFS VFS: Connecting to DFS root not implemented yet
[ 1282.638363] CIFS VFS: cifs_mount failed w/return code = -22

//192.168.2.1/public is a samba share on Arch Linux.

Posted after 5 hours 12 minutes 39 seconds:
I have installed samba-3.5.8-i486-1.txz from Slackware 13.37, and now mount.cifs works fine.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#6 by brokenman » 07 Jul 2012, 14:50

Ok i've found the problem.

Code: Select all

mount -t smbfs //192.168.1.200/public /mnt/win
This gives the message:
/sbin/mount.smbfs: line 115: /sbin/mount.cifs: No such file or directory

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/sbin/mount.cifs /sbin/mount.cifs
Fixes the problem. I'm very sorry about that, my symlink didn't make the iso. I will ensure it is included in the next patch.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

nickh
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 07 Mar 2011, 20:56
Location: UK

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#7 by nickh » 10 Jul 2012, 19:24

I did not have a problem using the mount.cifs command and unfortunately adding the symlink did nothing to help with the Add a Network Folder wizard.

Do you want me to still try installing a full version of samba?

kaz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 02:21
Location: Japan

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#8 by kaz » 10 Jul 2012, 21:29

I should have reported my problem of mount.cifs in a new topic.

Please continue discussing the original problem here.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#9 by brokenman » 11 Jul 2012, 02:43

nickh i can reproduce the problem with the button being greyed out and am working on it. Looks to be problem during compilation of tdelib or tdebase.
Installing full samba made little difference. Can you please give me the output of:smbclient -L //192.168.1.200 (replace ip with target IP)

For now you can mount using cifs 'as above' and then navigate to the mounted location in konqueror.

Posted after 59 minutes 13 seconds:
yep. Looks like i need to recompile avahi and then tdelibs to re-enable support. Something changed between v1.2rc1 and v1.2 final. Could be the recompile of tde or the removal of python (which avahi was compiled in the presence of). Either way i will add it to the bug list.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

nickh
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 07 Mar 2011, 20:56
Location: UK

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#10 by nickh » 12 Jul 2012, 19:31

smbclient not found.

Installing samba from slackware then gives:

Code: Select all

smbclient -L //192.168.2.1
Enter root's password:
Anonymous login successful
Domain=[HOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.5.14-1.1.v5]

        Sharename       Type      Comment
        ---------       ----      -------
        IPC$            IPC       IPC Service (File Server)
        family          Disk      Server Family Files
        shared          Disk      Server Common Files
Anonymous login successful
Domain=[HOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.5.14-1.1.v5]

        Server               Comment
        ---------            -------
        BLACK
        SERVER               File Server

        Workgroup            Master
        ---------            -------
        HOME                 SERVER
HTH,

Nick

slaxeee
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 02 Aug 2012, 04:53
Location: FRANCE

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#11 by slaxeee » 02 Aug 2012, 05:10

Hi everybody,

Definitely, the problem in 1.2 come from TDE compilation options.

I notice lack of kio_smb.so in /usr/lib/trinity directory, reason why konkeror could not browse for samba share even with samba package activated.

When you update to KDE4, kio_smb.so appears in kde4 directory.

Solution is to rebuild tdebase / libs with samba support. I suppose samba headers or lib should be present to do that.

SxN
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 16:23
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Canada

Re: Problems connecting to Samba share

Post#12 by SxN » 27 Jan 2015, 16:26

Hi,

I'm confronting the same problem; is there a known solution to it?

Thanks,
SxN

Post Reply