Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
-
benjibasson
- Black ninja

- Posts: 64
- Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
- Distribution: Arch linux
Post#1
by benjibasson » 09 Mar 2023, 06:56
Hi
Since the february's update, the cheatcode noswap doesn't work anymore
expected result: no swap partition in use
Code: Select all
root@porteus:/home/guest# swapon
NAME TYPE SIZE USED PRIO
/dev/zram0 partition 3.3G 0B 100
what happen?
Code: Select all
root@porteus:/home/guest# swapon
NAME TYPE SIZE USED PRIO
/dev/sda6 partition 9.7G 0B -2
/dev/zram0 partition 3.3G 0B 100
how to fix this? my /dev/sda6 is used to my Arch linux hibernation, and if other linux erase suspend data from /dev/sda6 it make extra mess in this distrib ( whole file system corruption)
Cheers
benjibasson
-
Ed_P
- Contributor

- Posts: 7569
- Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
- Distribution: Cinnamon 5.0 ISO
- Location: Western NY, USA
Post#2
by Ed_P » 09 Mar 2023, 18:56
I'm not seeing what you're seeing
benji.
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password:
root@porteus:/home/guest# swap
bash: swap: command not found
root@porteus:/home/guest# noswap
bash: noswap: command not found
root@porteus:/home/guest# swapon
root@porteus:/home/guest# swapon
root@porteus:/home/guest# swapon -s
root@porteus:/home/guest#
I don't use the noswap cheatcode and I have no partitions formatted as swap. Why do you have swap partitions if you don't want them used?
Code: Select all
guest@porteus:~$ lsblk -f --output NAME,FSTYPE,LABEL,SIZE,TYPE
NAME FSTYPE LABEL SIZE TYPE
loop0 iso9660 Porteus 358M loop
:
nvme0n1 931.5G disk
├─nvme0n1p1 vfat ESP 150M part
├─nvme0n1p2 128M part
├─nvme0n1p3 ntfs OS 219G part
├─nvme0n1p4 ntfs 1.2G part
├─nvme0n1p5 ntfs Image 16.6G part
├─nvme0n1p6 ntfs DELLSUPPORT 1.4G part
├─nvme0n1p7 ntfs Data 250G part
└─nvme0n1p8 ntfs Backups 443.1G part
guest@porteus:~$
Ed
Ed_P
-
ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team

- Posts: 3730
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
-
Contact:
Post#3
by ncmprhnsbl » 09 Mar 2023, 23:43
benjibasson wrote: ↑09 Mar 2023, 06:56
Since the february's update, the cheatcode noswap doesn't work anymore
can't seem to reproduce this.. ie. noswap works as expected here..
i did introduce a new cheatcode: "swapfile=" into /etc/rc.d/rc.S, but that shouldn't have any effect on the noswap cheatcode (in fact, it requires it if there is a swap partition present) because it should do nothing at all if it isn't being used..
are you using any other cheatcodes or something else in the booting process?
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
ncmprhnsbl
-
benjibasson
- Black ninja

- Posts: 64
- Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
- Distribution: Arch linux
Post#4
by benjibasson » 10 Mar 2023, 21:53
Hi,
@Ed_P
the swap partition is reserved for my arch Linux and its hibernation.
I prefer to use the swapfile on porteus via RC.LOCAL and change=
@ncmprhnsbl
I am using this boot option and it mont and swapon /dev/sda6 swap partitions
Code: Select all
menuentry "porteus on sda3 xfce safe mode"{
set root=(hd0,3)
linux /porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/porteus64bit_v50 load=999 resume=/dev/sda3 resume_offset=4268032 login=guest copy2ram ramsize=14% zram=43% noswap noauto
initrd /porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
even with
Code: Select all
menuentry "porteus on sda3 xfce always fresh"{
set root=(hd0,3)
linux /porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/porteus64bit_v50 login=guest copy2ram base_only noswap
initrd /porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
it swapon
didn't occure with 20221210's update
always occure with 20230216/
benjibasson
-
ncmprhnsbl
- DEV Team

- Posts: 3730
- Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
- Distribution: v5.0-64bit
- Location: australia
-
Contact:
Post#5
by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Mar 2023, 02:30
ok, to rule out(or in) the change in /etc/rc.d/rc.S, since you're using changes, comment(#) or remove lines 62 to 83 in /etc/rc.d/rc.S (as root user)
although i don't see the changes= cheatcode in your examples..
otherwise, make a module with that adjusted file in it and place in your modules folder..
another thing to try is maybe using the swapfile=</path/to/swapfile> cheatcode instead of the rc.local way, to seee if that makes a difference (without the above change)
apart from this, i can't see how any of the package updates might be affecting this..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
ncmprhnsbl
-
benjibasson
- Black ninja

- Posts: 64
- Joined: 06 Mar 2019, 15:14
- Distribution: Arch linux
Post#6
by benjibasson » 15 Mar 2023, 15:01
Hi
I have edited rc.s but the troubleshoot still hapen
Here is extract of dmessg
Code: Select all
[ 0.000000] Linux version 5.18.8-porteus (root@porteus.example.net) (gcc (GCC) 11.2.0, GNU ld version 2.37-slack15) #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sat Jul 2 10:05:31 MSK 2022
[ 0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/porteus64bit_v50 load=999 resume=/dev/sda3 resume_offset=4268032 login=guest copy2ram ramsize=14% zram=43% [b]noswap[/b] noauto
[ 0.024391] PM: hibernation: Registered nosave memory: [mem 0xff000000-0xffffffff]
[ 0.024394] [mem 0xdf200000-0xf7ffffff] available for PCI devices
[ 0.024397] clocksource: refined-jiffies: mask: 0xffffffff max_cycles: 0xffffffff, max_idle_ns: 1910969940391419 ns
[ 0.039762] setup_percpu: NR_CPUS:32 nr_cpumask_bits:32 nr_cpu_ids:4 nr_node_ids:1
[ 0.039934] percpu: Embedded 44 pages/cpu s143016 r8192 d29016 u524288
[ 0.039940] pcpu-alloc: s143016 r8192 d29016 u524288 alloc=1*2097152
[ 0.039942] pcpu-alloc: [0] 0 1 2 3
[ 0.039959] Fallback order for Node 0: 0
[ 0.039961] Built 1 zonelists, mobility grouping on. Total pages: 2044185
[ 0.039963] Policy zone: Normal
[ 0.039965] Kernel command line: quiet BOOT_IMAGE=/porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/porteus64bit_v50 load=999 resume=/dev/sda3 resume_offset=4268032 login=guest copy2ram ramsize=14% zram=43% noswap noauto
[ 0.040107] Unknown kernel command line parameters "copy2ram [b]noswap[/b] noauto BOOT_IMAGE=/porteus64bit_v50/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/porteus64bit_v50 load=999 login=guest ramsize=14% zram=43%", will be passed to user space.
[ 0.040551] Dentry cache hash table entries: 1048576 (order: 11, 8388608 bytes, linear)
[ 25.249532] intel_rapl_common: RAPL package-0 domain package locked by BIOS
[ 25.249540] intel_rapl_common: RAPL package-0 domain dram locked by BIOS
[ 25.329019] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-mvm-rs'
[ 25.692672] Adding 10208252k swap on /dev/sda6. Priority:-2 extents:1 across:10208252k
[ 25.774530] zram: Added device: zram0
[ 25.830911] zram0: detected capacity change from 0 to 6947424
[ 25.865485] Adding 3473708k swap on /dev/zram0. Priority:100 extents:1 across:3473708k SS
[ 26.758814] Generic FE-GE Realtek PHY r8169-0-301:00: attached PHY driver (mii_bus:phy_addr=r8169-0-301:00, irq=MAC)
[ 26.843298] EXT4-fs (sda3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Quota mode: disabled.
[ 26.894371] Adding 10239996k swap on /mnt/sda3/swapfile.swap. Priority:-3 extents:148 across:163168256k
[ 26.941330] r8169 0000:03:00.1 eth0: Link is Down
[ 28.424327] wlan0: authenticate with 06:2c:fa:a1:28:a9
[ 28.424341] wlan0: 80 MHz not supported, disabling VHT
Should I remove both noswap and rc.local content to add swapfile=</path/to/swapfile> cheatcode?
The change is on 999-change.xzm on optional ( purpose switch off sda drive. And take less memory on ramsize with compressed change)
benjibasson