Porteus-v5.0x86_64_bugs reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7324
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 4.0 & 5.0 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v5.0x86_64_bugs reports

Post#196 by Ed_P » 17 Nov 2022, 17:08

Rava wrote:
17 Nov 2022, 16:39
and then I ran this:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# updatedb
root@porteus:~# echo $?
0
:o Thanks Rava. :friends: What module got updated? :unknown:
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4414
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.0 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Porteus-v5.0x86_64_bugs reports

Post#197 by Rava » 17 Nov 2022, 17:17

Ed_P wrote:
17 Nov 2022, 17:08
:o Thanks Rava. :friends: What module got updated? :unknown:
No module got updated but man is your friend:
man updatedb :

Code: Select all

updatedb(8)                 System Manager's Manual                updatedb(8)

NAME
       updatedb - update a database for mlocate

SYNOPSIS
       updatedb [OPTION]...

DESCRIPTION
       updatedb creates or updates a database used by locate(1).  If the data‐
       base already exists, its data is reused to avoid rereading  directories
       that have not changed.

       updatedb  is  usually  run daily by cron(8) to update the default data‐
       base.

EXIT STATUS
       updatedb returns with exit status 0 on success, 1 on error.
When I tried yesterday

Code: Select all

locate ntfs-3g
on the now crashed system ( see here: Some tips on getting to the reason for the recent suspend crashes ) it also did report the same successful results, seems by then cron did run updatedb in the background by itself.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply