Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2584
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#1 by ncmprhnsbl » 09 Aug 2020, 13:33

This is the place to report bugs/issues/feature requests for Porteus 5.0 RC2
Porteus-v5.0rc2 is released
i'll update this post with known issues..
eg.
the guis for file/folder de/encryption are not currently functional
the system for saving psc settings to a module is not compete
fsck cheatcode is broken: fsck binary in initrd needs fixing
and so on...


EDIT: a gtk+2 bundle for cinnamon, mate, lxqt and kde is now available (for use with programs that need it eg. palemoon)
just use the bundles app from the system menu or via terminal.. note: the integrity test will fail, due to a missing md5sum, should be safe to ignore this. hopefully will be fixed soon..
note about bundles: these were built for RC1, so, they may or may not work, will try to get these updated in the coming days..
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5638
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 & 5.0rc2 Cinnamon 64 ISOs
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#2 by Ed_P » 09 Aug 2020, 19:28

Wow!!

:Yahoo!: :thumbsup: :w00tx100: :bounce8:







Added in 4 hours 56 minutes 16 seconds:

Code: Select all

Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso
OS:       Porteus-v5.0
ARCH:     x86_64
Linux:    Slackware 14.2+
Kernel:   Linux porteus 5.4.57-porteus
Desktop:  cinnamon.xzm  Cinnamon 4.4.8
Executable scripts do not run or give an option to run when double clicked in Nemo.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ./SysSnapshot.sh
~#  uname -a
Linux porteus.example.net 5.4.57-porteus #1 SMP Sun Aug 9 09:03:28 UTC 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100U CPU @ 2.30GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

~#  cat /etc/porteus/*
001-core.xzm:20200807
002-xorg.xzm:20200803
002-xtra.xzm:20200803
003-cinnamon.xzm:20200325
initrd.xz:20200404

~#  ls -l /mnt/live/memory/images
000-kernel.xzm : Aug 9 05:22
001-core.xzm : Aug 7 04:54
002-xorg.xzm : Aug 3 04:28
002-xtra.xzm : Aug 3 02:15
003-cinnamon.xzm : Jul 20 13:02

ISO: /ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v5.0rc2-x86_64.iso
Ed

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#3 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 02:04

No network devices.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1589
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#4 by fulalas » 10 Aug 2020, 02:23

@Ed_P, you can change this setting in Nemo: Edit > Preferences > Behavior > Executable text files

@rchase, you mean your network card isn't detected?

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#5 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 02:41

@fulafas, this is what the XFCE and LXQt GUIs report; I believe that the answer is "yes".

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1589
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#6 by fulalas » 10 Aug 2020, 02:54

@rchase, do you mind going to the terminal and executing these 2 commands?

Code: Select all

sudo su
lspci
(the password is 'toor')

Send us the output, please.

User avatar
babam
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 124
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 10:30
Distribution: Porteus Xfce 3.2.2
Location: Rainy city

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#7 by babam » 10 Aug 2020, 03:25

Why use old kernel 5.4
Sorry, my English is bad.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#8 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 04:05

The Ethernet controller is detected:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 06)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 06)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI (rev 05)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #2 (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev d5)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev d5)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation C220 Series Chipset Family H81 Express LPC Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 0c)
I keep on thinking I understand something about Porteus and keep getting confounded -- how can there be a /changes folder in /porteus on reboot if I start with a clean copy of Porteus and uncheck the radio button in the Log Out dialog box before restarting? It's there even when I start with a clean copy and hit the reset button on the computer in the middle of a new session. If (say) network drivers are broken by changed packages at boot, the changes are then incorporated in /changes without regard for what instructions the user gives for what to do with changes during the session -- I suppose; is this why once networking is broken. it stays that way until /changes is deleted? The description of the "changes=" cheatcode really ought to disclose the fact that the folder gets written when the session starts and that it incorporates changes made by packages irrespective of whether users tell Porteus to discard changes when they log out. Porteus needs a means "... for setting up Porteus how you like it" that works outside the context of a single installation; can't desktop settings be saved so that we can set up Porteus how we like on different partitions or machines? The suggestion that saving changes to a module, file, or folder enables setting up Porteus easily rings hollow when the context is apparently only the original installation partition.
Last edited by rchase on 10 Aug 2020, 04:35, edited 2 times in total.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#9 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 04:28

babam wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 03:25
Why use old kernel 5.4
I had no networking after installing Blaze's kernel under Porteus 5.0rc1 and I had no networking with or without installing it under Porteus 5.0rc2.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 252
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 5.0-RC1
Location: In a hayfield

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#10 by roadie » 10 Aug 2020, 04:34

rchase,

That's new, I've never seen Porteus create a changes folder unless I told it to. Does the folder contain all changes you made? I use rootcopy exclusively and never have problems and I have 7 different versions of Porteus and others on the go. Of course changes aren't made automatically with rootcopy but I prefer things that way.

What are the contents of your /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 2584
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 5.0rc1-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#11 by ncmprhnsbl » 10 Aug 2020, 04:34

babam wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 03:25
Why use old kernel 5.4
it's the latest LTS version.. should present the least problems, hopefully..
rchase wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 04:05
how can there be a /changes folder in /porteus on reboot if I start with a clean copy of Porteus and uncheck the radio button in the Log Out dialog box before restarting?
the option on the logout button is just an xfce feature(that may or may not actually do anything..idk) and has no connection to porteus changes facility.
the way to disable changes is to edit /mnt/<your install usb>/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg and remove the changes= cheatcode (or hit tab at the bootscreen and remove it then)
rchase wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 04:05
Porteus needs a means "... for setting up Porteus how you like it" that works outside the context of a single installation; can't desktop settings be saved so that we can set up Porteus how we like on different partitions or machines? The suggestion that saving changes to a module, file, or folder enables setting up Porteus easily rings hollow when the context is apparently only the original installation partition.
one way to achieve this is to have boot entries specific to each hardware, eg.

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL XFCE4(laptop)
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/intel-ucode.cpio,/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND load=ati changes=/changes-lt
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus the best way we can.
    Try to autoconfigure graphics
    card and use the maximum
    allowed resolution
ENDTEXT

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL XFCE4(desktop)
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND load=08-nvidia guiexec=nvidia-settings changes=/changes-dt
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus the best way we can.
    Try to autoconfigure graphics
    card and use the maximum
    allowed resolution
ENDTEXT
note this just an example, i personally never use changes.. (only because i don't need to)
settings specific to hardware can easliy be loaded or not using the load= and/or noload= or even extramod=<some dir of mods> ... porteus.cfg is your friend, arguably the most important file in a porteus install ...
Forum Rules : https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#12 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 04:37

roadie wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 04:34
rchase,

That's new, I've never seen Porteus create a changes folder unless I told it to. Does the folder contain all changes you made? I use rootcopy exclusively and never have problems and I have 7 different versions of Porteus and others on the go. Of course changes aren't made automatically with rootcopy but I prefer things that way.

What are the contents of your /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg?
No, it's getting extremely old. I'm telling Porteus to create a changes folder foolishly thinking that it will only do so after it knows what changes I've made. I guess it's mostly a failure to use the save session feature as intended; I would prefer to make the saving of changes the default, but abort making them if things go wrong rather than to leave "changes=" out of porteus.conf and manually save the session -- except for some changes being made immediately upon boot, this would work. I don't understand why Porteus writes out changes prior to the end of a session -- what useful purpose is served?
Last edited by rchase on 10 Aug 2020, 05:21, edited 1 time in total.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#13 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 04:50

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 04:34
porteus.cfg is your friend, arguably the most important file in a porteus install ...
You're entirely missing the point. I am using the "changes=" cheatcode and making incessant reference and changes to porteus.conf. The stanza relating to testing I've been using is

Code: Select all

LABEL TEST
MENU LABEL Test Porteus
KERNEL /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
INITRD /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
APPEND from=UUID:"3d99f0ce-54f5-48b9-bc1d-5926d0e45f3e"/testPorteus changes=UUID:"3d99f0ce-54f5-48b9-bc1d-5926d0e45f3e"/testPorteus/porteus utc timezone=America/Denver ramsize=40% login=root cliexec=mount~/dev/sda2
TEXT HELP
    Boot Porteus from
    /mnt/sdb5/testPorteus
    and login as root
ENDTEXT
It's natural to expect /changes to be written after changes are made by a user during a session; it's obvious that changes I make during a session have to be written after I make them, but one of the great confusions of Porteus derives from the fact that /changes apparently gets written at boot -- and can incorporate changes made in the course of loading packages that e.g. disable networking until /changes is deleted. You don't use /changes -- I do. I can't use porteus.conf to set up my desktop the way I want it to look and I can't save those settings in a module, file, or folder so that I can quickly set up new installations how I want them. You may not care what the various desktops look like, but I suppose that most users do; we would like a means of setting them up other than painstakingly recreating them with every installation to a new partition.
Last edited by rchase on 10 Aug 2020, 05:14, edited 1 time in total.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#14 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 05:02

P.S.
ncmprhnsbl wrote:
10 Aug 2020, 04:34
the option on the logout button is just an xfce feature(that may or may not actually do anything..idk) and has no connection to porteus changes facility.
The option is "just" a part of Porteus that does not function -- in combination with the extant documentation, it suggests a process: Porteus loads from somewhere (specified by "for=") and if changes are made, they're saved to someplace (specified by "changes="). It's reasonable to suppose that changes can't be written before they're elected to be made (ignoring background changes made by the loading of packages) and the dysfunctional radio button contributes to the misperception.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 239
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc1 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Porteus 5.0 RC2 bug reports

Post#15 by rchase » 10 Aug 2020, 05:12

I'm bitching about disconnected radio buttons and user friendliness, because disabled networking is one of the consequences of misunderstanding all the ramifications of /changes; to be clear, I took care to delete /changes when I tried Blaze's kernel (and to include 06-crippled-sources and the new vmlinuz) and Porteus 5.0rc2; the hardware is detected by lspci, but the GUI reports no network devices.

Post Reply