Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4192
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#181 by Ed_P » 19 Aug 2018, 22:06

lukaluki wrote:
19 Aug 2018, 17:13
VPN is still not working :(
Maybe just as well. https://fossbytes.com/is-free-vpn-safe/ :o
Ed

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 91
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#182 by lukaluki » 19 Aug 2018, 23:18

I am using a paid vpn, pptp is just for testing though, openvpn will be used. But if pptp is not working, openvpn wont work either. However thx for the concern :)

Regarding to the Topic, any Solution ?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5957
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#183 by brokenman » 20 Aug 2018, 02:29

Does your VPN work from a command line?
Do you have the package NetworkManager-pptp installed?

Code: Select all

ls /var/log/packages/NetworkManager*
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

AcnapyxoB
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 24 Dec 2014, 10:15
Distribution: 4.0 XFCE x64
Location: Bulgaria

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#184 by AcnapyxoB » 20 Aug 2018, 05:31

lukaluki wrote:
19 Aug 2018, 23:18
I am using a paid vpn, pptp is just for testing though, openvpn will be used. But if pptp is not working, openvpn wont work either. However thx for the concern :)

Regarding to the Topic, any Solution ?
Look at this post: VPN not working
For me it's working after settings permission:

su
mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0


Porteus 4.0 Cinnamon & XFCE

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 91
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#185 by lukaluki » 20 Aug 2018, 21:55

brokenman wrote:
20 Aug 2018, 02:29
Does your VPN work from a command line?
Do you have the package NetworkManager-pptp installed?

Code: Select all

ls /var/log/packages/NetworkManager*

Code: Select all

ls /var/log/packages/NetworkManager*
RESULT: /var/log/packages/NetworkManager-1.8.4-x86_64-1jay

so i guess its there ?

also have done:
su
mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0
Same error like before after klicking "connect" to the new created vpn connection:
Aug 20 23:39:51 porteus kernel: [ 1726.297485] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: therm: temperature (90 C) hit the 'fanboost' threshold
Aug 20 23:41:38 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801298.6800] keyfile: add connection /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/New vpn connection (9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c,"New vpn connection")
Aug 20 23:41:38 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801298.6803] audit: op="connection-add" uuid="9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c" name="New vpn connection" pid=1898 uid=0 result="success"
Aug 20 23:41:38 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801298.7244] keyfile: update /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/New vpn connection (9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c,"New vpn connection")
Aug 20 23:41:38 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801298.7393] keyfile: update /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/New vpn connection (9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c,"New vpn connection")
Aug 20 23:41:59 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801319.7671] keyfile: update /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/New vpn connection (9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c,"New vpn connection")
Aug 20 23:41:59 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801319.7674] audit: op="connection-update" uuid="9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c" name="New vpn connection" pid=1898 uid=0 result="success"
Aug 20 23:42:03 porteus NetworkManager[1249]: <info> [1534801323.7430] audit: op="connection-activate" uuid="9773a76a-e588-400a-a84b-408f4f72a09c" name="New vpn connection" pid=1425 uid=0 result="fail" reason="The VPN service 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pptp' was not installed."
I am in copy2ram mode with root:
APPEND copy2ram ramsize=70% timezone=Europe/Berlin kmap=de,us login=root

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1406
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#186 by donald » 20 Aug 2018, 22:47

result="fail" reason="The VPN service 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.pptp' was not installed."
It seems some packages are missing.

Porteus 3.2.2 (32):
guest@porteus:~$ ls /var/log/packages/NetworkManager*
/var/log/packages/NetworkManager-1.4.4-i486-1jay
/var/log/packages/NetworkManager-openvpn-1.2.6-i586-1jay
/var/log/packages/NetworkManager-pptp-1.2.4-i586-1jay
/var/log/packages/NetworkManager-vpnc-1.2.4-i586-1jay

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5957
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#187 by brokenman » 24 Aug 2018, 23:16

Yes missing the NetworkManager plugins. Can you run the openvpn from a command line? You will need to research how this is done.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4192
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#188 by Ed_P » 06 Sep 2018, 05:52

Ed

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 91
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#189 by lukaluki » 22 Sep 2018, 14:25

brokenman wrote:
24 Aug 2018, 23:16
Yes missing the NetworkManager plugins. Can you run the openvpn from a command line? You will need to research how this is done.
Why does porteus not work from scratch with vpn ? I remember times when Version 3 had no problem using vpn / openvpn :(

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5957
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#190 by brokenman » 22 Sep 2018, 17:06

lukaluki wrote:
22 Sep 2018, 14:25
Why does porteus not work from scratch with vpn ?
Well it does work from scratch. I use it everyday. I think the problem is that the desktop mantainers aren't including the GUI portion which is the NetworkManager applet.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4192
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#191 by Ed_P » 16 Oct 2018, 16:39

The Savedat file is saving too much when changes=EXIT is used. IMO

/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/storage/default/* and all the /home/guest/.java/deployment/cache/6.* sub directories are not needed.

Fewer files means faster shutdown and less disk space needed.

-update-


cleanup script copy update

/etc/changes-exit.conf :good:

Code: Select all

 :
 :
!/home/guest/.cache/thumbnails/normal
!/home/guest/.cache/mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/thumbnails/
!/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/storage/default/
!/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/dxsqumip.default/datareporting/archived
!/home/guest/.java/deployment/cache/6.0/
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4192
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#192 by Ed_P » 31 Oct 2018, 15:43

Vbox Builder not downloading 05-devel.xzm module. Not in /tmp when module attempting to be activated.

And update-vbox shows link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live yet my machine is x86_64.
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1553
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 4.0-64bit all-DE+more
Location: australia
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#193 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Oct 2018, 22:34

Ed_P wrote:
31 Oct 2018, 15:43
And update-vbox shows link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live yet my machine is x86_64.
that's just where all the live update-* scripts are kept, the scripts themselves cover and detect arch..

EDIT:
looking at update-vbox-live:
line 96:

Code: Select all

KSRCLINK=$SERVER/$ARCH/kernel/porteus-$KR/05-devel.xzm
which translates to dl.porteus.org/x86_64/kernel/ or a mirror thereof.. which doesn't contain the latest kernel(and devel,sources.)
so, brokenman needs to, either copy the kernel to that directory,
or change the script to point to the correct location:

Code: Select all

KSRCLINK=$SERVER/$ARCH/current/kernel/05-devel.xzm
and same for crippled sources line: 134
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5957
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#194 by brokenman » 02 Nov 2018, 12:16

That should be fixed now. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4192
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0 bug reports

Post#195 by Ed_P » 03 Nov 2018, 15:18

Yup, it works. :happy62: :good: :)
Ed

Post Reply