Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4251
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: 4.0 Cinnamon 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#106 by Ed_P » 03 Apr 2018, 00:39

:oops: You read better than I do ncmprhnsbl. :sorry:
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1591
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#107 by Rava » 03 Apr 2018, 15:20

Ed_P wrote:
02 Apr 2018, 14:18
Rava wrote:
02 Apr 2018, 06:22
Why won't swapon (or Porteus?) assign the priority as I told it to? Why has the newly added swapfile priority of -3 instead of -10?
And what difference does it make? :%) What runs faster that way? And how much faster? :crazy:
On slow machines, and it is a slow one, you try to get everything as high-performance as you manage.

By default, a swap partition, especially one that sits at the very beginning of a harddisk, always will be quicker than some file that sits at the very end of the hard disk.

But you also could donate a 64 bit compatible laptop or notebook to me, then I won't have such issues with older hardware anymore. I am pulling your leg with the last sentence; I hope you get the joke... :D :crazy: :Yahoo!:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
alsass
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Apr 2018, 19:09
Distribution: Porteus XFCE V3.2.2 32bit
Location: Europe

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#108 by alsass » 03 Apr 2018, 15:56

sorry for my bad english. Probably my previous message was not clear.

in
I related 3 points:
1) When being in China, the chinese national firewall blocks lots of US Internet sites like google or facebook.
This is why I suggested using something else than "google.com" for checking Internet availibility.
2) The dl.porteus.org site is connected first (before google.com).
I don't think that the server load would be much higher if it was used as sparing partner in function "has_internet"
3) No need to contact it twice (first dowload, then check for Internet connection), if the dowload of the update-live script succeeds, the Internet connection is definitively OK.

Hope that clarifies my observations and suggestions.
Would you be interested in patches to remedy that (very special) problem?

Thanks
hoppla geiss!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5981
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#109 by brokenman » 07 Apr 2018, 00:38

Thanks alsass,

The patches would be appreciated.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
alsass
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Apr 2018, 19:09
Distribution: Porteus XFCE V3.2.2 32bit
Location: Europe

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#110 by alsass » 08 Apr 2018, 10:06

here are my patches (two for now):

1) librokenman.patch for file /usr/lib/librokenman

Code: Select all

--- librokenman.orig	2017-03-05 21:11:00.000000000 +0100
+++ librokenman	2018-04-08 11:05:34.956451679 +0200
@@ -262,17 +262,22 @@
 	else
     answ=1
   fi
+  export HAS_NO_INTERNET=$answ
 fi
 }
 
 # Check if a website is online and working (silently)
 # Returns url=0 if it is avaiable
 has_internet(){
-if (wget -q --spider --force-html --inet4-only http://www.google.com >/dev/null 2>&1); then
+answ=$HAS_NO_INTERNET
+if [ "$HAS_NO_INTERNET" != "0" ]; then
+  if (wget -q --spider --force-html --inet4-only http://dl.porteus.org >/dev/null 2>&1); then
     answ=0
-	else
+	   else
     answ=1
+   fi
 fi
+export HAS_NO_INTERNET=$answ
 }
 
 # Check that writable flag is set
2) update-vbox.patch for file /opt/porteus-scripts/update-vbox

Code: Select all

--- update-vbox.orig	2016-05-29 01:46:47.000000000 +0200
+++ update-vbox	2018-04-08 11:25:25.004451537 +0200
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@
 PIXMAPS=/usr/share/pixmaps/porteus
 SERVER=`awk -F= '/SERVER=/{print$NF}' /etc/porteus.conf`
 link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live
-trap cleanup SIGHUP SIGINT SIGTERM
+trap cleanup 0
 
 cleanup(){
 rm /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null
@@ -64,18 +64,21 @@
 </window>
 '
 gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG > /tmp/.vbox-live
+. /tmp/.vbox-live
 
-[ `egrep "Cancel|abort" /tmp/.vbox-live` ] && { cleanup; exit; }
-[[ `grep vbox-live /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null|cut -d'"' -f2` == "" ]] &&  { cleanup; exit; }
+if [ "$EXIT" = "abort" -o "$EXIT" = "Cancel" -o "$vbox-live" = "" ]; then
+   exit
+fi
 
-answer=`awk -F'"' '/vbox-live/{print$2}' /tmp/.vbox-live`
+answer=$vbox-live
 ## Internet check
 if [ ! -e /tmp/update-vbox-live ]; then
 if wget --spider -v "$link"; then
+        export HAS_NO_INTERNET=0
 	wget $link -P /tmp
 		else
+        export HAS_NO_INTERNET=1
 	gtk_message "An internet connection was not found or the porteus server was not reachable. Exiting now." 450 gtk-dialog-warning
-	cleanup
 fi
 fi
 
@@ -85,12 +88,8 @@
 case $answer in
 VirtualBox )
 /usr/local/bin/update-vbox-live vbox
-cleanup
 ;;
 "VirtualBox Guest additions" )
 /usr/local/bin/update-vbox-live vboxguest
-cleanup
 ;;
 esac
-
-rm /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null
you may apply them with these commands

Code: Select all

  # cd /usr/lib && patch < librokenman.patch
  # cd /opt/porteus-scripts && patch < update-vbox.patch
Short explanation of the patches:
I created an environment variable "HAS_NO_INTERNET". When it is set to "0" we know we have a valid Internet connection. No further tests will be done to check for that process (and children).
I also changed "google.com" to "dl.porteus.org" (within function "has_internet"), since that is the real destination for all update-* scripts.
And finally I rewrote some parts of update-vbox, to streamline it a bit.

If these patches are welcome, I plan to send you some more patches for the rest of the update-* scripts.
Just please give me a short message, if that is OK for you.
But then it then it would probably better to create a new threat, to not pollute this on...

Thanks
hoppla geiss!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5981
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#111 by brokenman » 08 Apr 2018, 13:29

Thanks. I'll apply these patches. Further patches are welcome.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
alsass
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Apr 2018, 19:09
Distribution: Porteus XFCE V3.2.2 32bit
Location: Europe

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#112 by alsass » 08 Apr 2018, 15:47

Thanks brokenman. I'll do my best to submit the other patches soon.

Unfortunately I discovered a glitch with one of my patches.
The sourcing of "/tmp/.vbox-live" does not work as intended. My apologies.
Here is a corrected version of the patch:

update-vbox.patch for file /opt/porteus-scripts/update-vbox

Code: Select all

--- update-vbox.orig	2016-05-29 01:46:47.000000000 +0200
+++ update-vbox	2018-04-08 17:31:11.852397783 +0200
@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@
 PIXMAPS=/usr/share/pixmaps/porteus
 SERVER=`awk -F= '/SERVER=/{print$NF}' /etc/porteus.conf`
 link=$SERVER/i586/testing/live/update-vbox-live
-trap cleanup SIGHUP SIGINT SIGTERM
+trap cleanup 0
 
 cleanup(){
 rm /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null
@@ -49,7 +49,7 @@
 	<hbox>
 		'`txtmarkup 220 "Choose an option: "`'
 		<comboboxtext active="6" focus-on-click="false" button-sensitivity="1">
-			<variable>vbox-live</variable>
+			<variable>vbox_live</variable>
 			<item>VirtualBox</item>
 			<item>VirtualBox Guest additions</item>
 		</comboboxtext>
@@ -64,18 +64,21 @@
 </window>
 '
 gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG > /tmp/.vbox-live
+. /tmp/.vbox-live
 
-[ `egrep "Cancel|abort" /tmp/.vbox-live` ] && { cleanup; exit; }
-[[ `grep vbox-live /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null|cut -d'"' -f2` == "" ]] &&  { cleanup; exit; }
+if [ "$EXIT" = "abort" -o "$EXIT" = "Cancel" -o "$vbox_live" = "" ]; then
+   exit
+fi
 
-answer=`awk -F'"' '/vbox-live/{print$2}' /tmp/.vbox-live`
+answer=$vbox_live
 ## Internet check
 if [ ! -e /tmp/update-vbox-live ]; then
 if wget --spider -v "$link"; then
+        export HAS_NO_INTERNET=0
 	wget $link -P /tmp
 		else
+        export HAS_NO_INTERNET=1
 	gtk_message "An internet connection was not found or the porteus server was not reachable. Exiting now." 450 gtk-dialog-warning
-	cleanup
 fi
 fi
 
@@ -85,12 +88,8 @@
 case $answer in
 VirtualBox )
 /usr/local/bin/update-vbox-live vbox
-cleanup
 ;;
 "VirtualBox Guest additions" )
 /usr/local/bin/update-vbox-live vboxguest
-cleanup
 ;;
 esac
-
-rm /tmp/.vbox-live 2>/dev/null
This patch should be applied to the original version of the file.
Sorry for the trouble.

Thanks
hoppla geiss!

User avatar
alsass
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 Apr 2018, 19:09
Distribution: Porteus XFCE V3.2.2 32bit
Location: Europe

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#113 by alsass » 09 Apr 2018, 15:30

please find the next and last patch below:

this one is for file : /opt/porteus-scripts/xpns-tool

Code: Select all

--- xpns-tool.orig	2012-06-21 22:51:59.000000000 +0000
+++ xpns-tool	2018-04-09 15:18:56.821933178 +0000
@@ -520,7 +520,7 @@
 
 ## Check for good connection
 if [ "$METHOD" == "wifi" -o "$METHOD" == "wired" ]; then 
-  if (wget -q --spider --force-html --inet4-only http://www.google.com >/dev/null 2>&1); then
+  if (wget -q --spider --force-html --inet4-only http://dl.porteus.org >/dev/null 2>&1); then
     connected=1
 	else
     unset connected
The other update-* scripts are already in good shape (for the 40rcX series).

Thanks.
hoppla geiss!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1591
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Porteus-v4.0rc4 bug reports

Post#114 by Rava » 20 Jul 2018, 20:19

alsass wrote:
09 Apr 2018, 15:30
please find the next and last patch below:

this one is for file : /opt/porteus-scripts/xpns-tool
Could that even solve my online issue? I think not, it might only apply to update scripts, right, not to the whole system…
Last edited by Rava on 20 Jul 2018, 20:20, edited 1 time in total.
Reason:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply