Page 13 of 19

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 08 Jun 2014, 03:38
by francois
1) CUPS.
In fact, I installed cupsd to bootup with the
xfce panel > settings > session and startup > application autostart.

It should work. I will report on that.

2) system-config-printer.
My problem is with the system-config-printer package. It is really more user friendly than cups. I have installed system-config-printer, but there seems to be something missing.

On porteus stock, it work seemlessly with cups. It is included in the printing.xzm package. I imagine that I have many missing libraries on portarch, see:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1994

I do not know why pacman is unable to resolve dependencies for system-config-printer now that cups is properly installed.

How do you search for already installed dependencies with pacman? Or better, how do you seach for missing dependencies of system-config-printer?

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 08 Jun 2014, 04:29
by stifiling
well after being able to see my printer and being able to successfully print using cups. i installed system-config-printer...and my lexmark printer shows up. pacman installs all the necessary dependecies for system-config-printer if you installed it using pacman. so...all the dependecies are installed to run system-config-printer. but are all the dependecies installed to be able to print from 'your specific' printer? maybe, maybe not. Printers are kind of like wifi cards, most of the time they just work...but sometimes, with some printers, more software is needed to get them to work. May have to do more to get your specific Canon printer to print.

you have to see it in cups: http://localhost:631....webpage first, before you can even use system-config-printer. are you you able to see your printer after:
running cupsd
browsing to http://localhost:631
Under "CUPS for Administrators" clicking Adding Printers and Classes
click Add Printer

do you see your Canon printer??

if not, there maybe some other Canon specific drivers that needs to be installed for your specific printer. Usually if these files can't be installed using pacman (gutenprint?)....then there's usually something in the AUR, that you'll install using yaourt....for your specific printer. More often than not, another user has that same printer, or one similar....and has uploaded to the AUR the easily installable solution using yaourt, to get that specifc printer printing....

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 22 Jul 2014, 21:40
by francois
@stifiling:

Sorry. I was away from porteus-arch sensei for some time, though I really like your creation. This porteus clone is really performing.

1.0 Printing:
1.1 All that was needed to get the cups system to start was cupsd:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# cupsd
My network brother printer was added and it prints well. Accordingly, I have created a /root/.start file in which to insert startup commands.

Thanks.

1.2 However, system-config-printer will issue the same error message once cups is enabling printing, citation:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CUPS
In order to have cupsd start when initiating a print job over the network, create /etc/systemd/system/cups.socket

Code: Select all

.include /usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.socket

[Socket]
ListenDatagram=0.0.0.0:631
In addition, as there is no /var/run/cups/cups.sock, it has to be created too.

But you say that there is no systemd!!

What is there to do?

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 14 Feb 2015, 03:17
by stifiling
i still use it francois. i made a v3.1 rc1 back in Oct that i never got around to completing 100%. It's pretty complete though for the most part and of course u're welcome to check it out if you like.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/senseig ... rce=navbar

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 26 Feb 2015, 01:01
by francois
Simpler than I thought. :)

Yet everything works perfectly on your Porteus-3.1/arch aka sensei edition.

Did you worked with kde5 yet?
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE#Plasma_5
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=192197

Code: Select all

pacman -S plasma-next
Thanks for the community.

Note: For those who want to have all partitions to be mounted at bootup. The procedure is in the last post of this thread:
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=18613

I get my partitions with:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# fdisk -l
Then I mount my partitions:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# mkdir /mnt/sda{1,2,5,6,7,8}
My fstab for Porteus-3.1/arch aka sensei is:

Code: Select all

none          /proc        proc     defaults               0 0
none          /sys         sysfs    defaults               0 0
devpts        /dev/pts     devpts   gid=5,mode=620         0 0
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy  auto     noauto,rw              0 0
UUID=3390e9bb-970a-40e8-acea-8240899ab62c        none        swap    sw                 0 0
UUID=fe907351-5062-41fe-8699-10a7b35ceb7f        /mnt/sda1   ext3        rw,user,auto 0 0
UUID=d5819259-afa1-4ebd-8d83-60be543a3794        /mnt/sda2   ext4        rw,user,auto 0 0
UUID=86a0fbe0-154f-405a-92be-e93f944d93a7        /mnt/sda5   ext4        rw,user,auto 0 0
UUID=43b05240-cbf5-4c1a-9733-fa251ade7aa2        /mnt/sda6   ext4        rw,user,auto 0 0
UUID=9da4aa97-57a2-42b6-a069-9b40f65ad8bd        /mnt/sda7   ext2        rw,user,auto 0 0
UUID=4739d98d-e5c6-454c-a582-f62f7a8b4299        /mnt/sda8   ext4        rw,user,auto 0 0
Where the uuids come from the blkid command:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# blkid

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 26 Feb 2015, 03:03
by francois
I am trying to use the dir2xzm command used in porteus nwhich under porteus-arch is located in /opt/porteus-scripts/. Here is the error message that I get:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# /mnt/sda5/opt/porteus-scripts/dir2xzm /mnt/live/memory/changes/ /mnt/sda5/32bit_portarch/porteus/optional/changes.xzm
mksquashfs: Unrecognised compressor option -Xbcj
mksquashfs: Did you forget to specify -comp?
mksquashfs: selected compressor "gzip".  Options supported: 
	  -Xcompression-level <compression-level>
		<compression-level> should be 1 .. 9 (default 9)
	  -Xwindow-size <window-size>
		<window-size> should be 8 .. 15 (default 15)
	  -Xstrategy strategy1,strategy2,...,strategyN
		Compress using strategy1,strategy2,...,strategyN in turn
		and choose the best compression.
		Available strategies: default, filtered, huffman_only,
		run_length_encoded and fixed
Error building compressed image
root@sensei:~# 
What could be the problem or how would you go for it?

Answer:
replace dir2xzm by mksquashfs. :)
But that does not explain why dir2xzm does not work. :(

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 26 Feb 2015, 10:39
by ncmprhnsbl
@francois
see http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php? ... xzm#p16544
it is because arch mksquashfs version defaults to gzip, so '-comp xzm' must specified.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 27 Feb 2015, 05:30
by francois
Thanks a lot ncmprhnsbl.

I should have looked at the make your own .xzm modules of stifiling on the bottom of the first page of this thread for making modules under porteus/arch:
viewtopic.php?f=114&t=2386

Do you still use port-arch system?

Note for myself:
- problem saving the fstab for next reboot, I want to mount all my partitions at startup. Will an individual module be enough
- are the additional packages like cinammon still good for 3.1 edition?

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 09 Mar 2015, 16:11
by francois
Is it ok to:

Code: Select all

pacman -Syu
instead of

Code: Select all

pacman -Su 
For porteus/arch aka sensei.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 09 Mar 2015, 23:07
by ncmprhnsbl
neither, because you dont want/need to upgrade anything.

Code: Select all

pacman -Sy
to sync the repos is sufficent.
Do you still use port-arch system?
not lately ,if only for lack of time

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 10 Mar 2015, 15:17
by francois
Thanks for anwering to my trivial questions. I am not sure that I would be so well treated on the archlinux forum. :wink:

And what would be the consequences that I use pacman -Syu and pacman -Su package-name on this porteus/arc sensei installation?

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 05 Jun 2015, 01:53
by francois
To help my grief of crunchbang linux. I reread this post on this nice archlinux-porteus clone. I think I will have to trade crunchbang for porteus-arch.

Stifiling are you still there? :wink:

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 10 Jun 2015, 16:50
by jsalpha2
Just discovered this thread and I'm going to try making a live USB with persistence, from the xfce 64 ISO. Thanks a Sensei Million!

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 10 Jun 2015, 20:10
by francois
Then please share your experience.

In my opinion this is a very interesting porteus clone. Stifiling renders the archlinux experience an easy one. And without distribution bashing, even better than archbang I would say.

You get the porteus experience with the amazing variety provided by the repositories of arch Linux.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Posted: 10 Jun 2015, 22:33
by jsalpha2
Image
Link to larger picture. http://i.imgur.com/2wdePPq.jpg
I was able to set it up to boot with persistence and install a few applications. The only problems I have had are with Firefox occasionally hanging and my volume is always muted at boot.
I have minimal experience with Arch, but have used the regular Porteus a few times. Set up is on an older desktop, with ethernet connection, so I don't know about wireless. Still have some tweaking to do.