Page 1 of 1

some questions (3.7.0)

Posted: 14 Jun 2016, 17:21
by davidb
Hello, i am new to Porteus-Kiosk and have a few questions that have come up in my week of testing.

does the Proxy exceptions support cidr notation as below: (i am curious because i see these calls still in the proxy logs, so i am inclined to think it is not working)
proxy_exceptions=192.168.1.0/24 domain.local

During wizard setup, i can test the screen rotation feature and it works, however once kiosk is installed, it fails to rotate the screen.
This mostly is happening with intel chipset graphics chips, (tested with onboard VGA and DVI). I have seen it comes across in the config as VGA-1 and VGA1 but it doesn't work except in the wizard.
After installing a video card, the rotation works properly, but i hate having to get extra hardware to utilize these machines.

i am also having an issue with proxy authentication, backed by active directory. We are using a Sophos UTM for our web filtering, but when i start up Kiosk, i get prompted for credentials.
once entered (same credentials that i have in the config file) all the tabs work until reboot/session restart. (tested with chrome and firefox browsers)
I have also tried the windows login notation in the config file proxy=DOMAIN\user:pass@proxy:port but this does not work either.

When the kiosk is in "digital signage" mode (i.e. no address bar), the restart session button in the ctl-alt-del menu never brings up a new session, screen just goes black until reboot. (tested with firefox browser)
(edit to add: this seems only to be an issue when the screen is rotated?)
Is it possible to select which options in the shutdown menu show up?

Thanks for any and all answers, just getting started with porteus-kiosk and am excited for the possibilities.

Re: some questions (3.7.0)

Posted: 14 Jun 2016, 19:46
by fanthom
Hello davidb,

"does the Proxy exceptions support cidr notation as below: (i am curious because i see these calls still in the proxy logs, so i am inclined to think it is not working)"
We use 'no_proxy=' environment variable to define proxies for browsers and wget:
https://www.gnu.org/software/wget/manua ... oxies.html

Unfortunately this method wont work for IP ranges:
http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions ... t-variable

Firefox itself does support IP ranges:
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/N ... figuration
so as a workaround you could use 'browser_preferences=' parameter and inject necessary parameters to Firefox configuration:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/parameters.htm ... references
Here are your prefs:

Code: Select all

user_pref("network.proxy.http", "192.168.1.15");
user_pref("network.proxy.http_port", 3128);
user_pref("network.proxy.no_proxies_on", "localhost, 127.0.0.1, 192.168.1.0/24, domain.local");
user_pref("network.proxy.type", 1);
"During wizard setup, i can test the screen rotation feature and it works, however once kiosk is installed, it fails to rotate the screen. "
Please setup the kiosk with rotation enabled -> enable debug mode -> install kiosk -> send generated report to support@porteus-kiosk.org

"i am also having an issue with proxy authentication, backed by active directory. We are using a Sophos UTM for our web filtering, but when i start up Kiosk, i get prompted for credentials.
once entered (same credentials that i have in the config file) all the tabs work until reboot/session restart. (tested with chrome and firefox browsers) I have also tried the windows login notation in the config file proxy=DOMAIN\user:pass@proxy:port but this does not work either."
This issue will be resolved in next kiosk release once we have an option for full persistence in kiosk and possibility to remember browser signons. For now only custom build can provide these features:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

"When the kiosk is in "digital signage" mode (i.e. no address bar), the restart session button in the ctl-alt-del menu never brings up a new session, screen just goes black until reboot. (tested with firefox browser)
(edit to add: this seems only to be an issue when the screen is rotated?)"
Will try to recreate this and let you know.

"Is it possible to select which options in the shutdown menu show up?"
Only through the custom build.

Thank you.

Re: some questions (3.7.0)

Posted: 16 Jun 2016, 15:20
by davidb
Thank you for the quick and informative response, i appreciate the answers and clarifications.

I emailed the debug log you requested to support yesterday re: screen rotation working in wizard but not when installed.