Audio and microphone works during Wizard installation, but not when kiosk is installed

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
musa11971
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Apr 2021, 17:50
Distribution: Kiosk

Audio and microphone works during Wizard installation, but not when kiosk is installed

Post#1 by musa11971 » 21 Jun 2021, 11:36

Hi everyone,

We are installing Porteus kiosk using the following parameters:

Code: Select all

connection=wired
dhcp=yes
browser=firefox
homepage=(some url)
hide_mouse=5
disable_navigation_bar=yes
persistence=full
disable_private_mode=yes
timezone=Europe/Amsterdam
disable_zoom_controls=yes
additional_components=uefi.zip
default_sound_card=1.0
default_microphone=1.0
on a Mini PC with a USB-output device (mic/audio in one). However, the sound and microphone do not work at all when the kiosk is installed. YouTube and our own application does not play any sound.

We thought it was a matter of drivers, however when we manually installed the kiosk (through the wizard), the sound did in fact work! So when testing with the Wizard test-browsers, it worked fine. However, after the installation, it does not work. The manual wizard installation also confirmed that 1.0 is the correct value.

We have no idea what is going wrong here. Hopefully someone can help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5398
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Audio and microphone works during Wizard installation, but not when kiosk is installed

Post#2 by fanthom » 21 Jun 2021, 11:50

Hello musa11971,

Please login to your kiosk over SSH (enable it in the wizard first) and post here an output of following commands:
uname -a
cat /etc/asound.conf
aplay -l
arecorl -l

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kiritokatklian
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Jun 2021, 10:11
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk

Audio and microphone works during Wizard installation, but not when kiosk is installed

Post#3 by kiritokatklian » 22 Jun 2021, 10:15

musa11971's colleague here! These are the outputs of the commands:

Code: Select all

$ root@kiosk:~# uname -a
Linux kiosk 5.10.25-kiosk #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Mar 20 10:22:00 2021 x86 64 GNU/Linux

root@kiosk:~# cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!default. {
    type asym
    playback.pem {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "hw: 1,0"
    }
    capture.pcm {
        type plug
        slave. pcm "hw: 1,0"
    }
}

$ root@kiosk:~# aplay -l
** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
sard 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
Subdevices:1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI. 4]
Subdevices:1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: USB [Jabra SPEAK 410 USB], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices:1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

$ root@kiosk:~# arecord -l 
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: USB [Jabra SPEAK 410 USB], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices:1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Camera [USB 2.0 Camera], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5398
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Audio and microphone works during Wizard installation, but not when kiosk is installed

Post#4 by fanthom » 22 Jun 2021, 13:37

Everything looks ok.

Audio and mic should be used on the "Jabra" USB device.

I dont know what else to try ...

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply