Locked profile is back

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
Dimitri
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2019, 19:38
Distribution: kiosk 4.8

Locked profile is back

Post#1 by Dimitri » 12 May 2021, 16:55

This error has resurfaced in 5.2. I still have the following in my config from when it was an issue in a previous version.

run_command=grep -q 'update-interval' $chflags || echo '--check-for-update-interval=999999999' >> $chflags; rm /home/guest/.config/google-chrome/SingletonLock

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5385
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Locked profile is back

Post#2 by fanthom » 13 May 2021, 07:26

Hi Dimitri,

1) Please remind me how to reproduce this problem.

2) Please also provide your kiosk config (remove passwords and other sensitive data from it).

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Dimitri
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2019, 19:38
Distribution: kiosk 4.8

Locked profile is back

Post#3 by Dimitri » 13 May 2021, 18:11

I don't know how to reproduce it. We took an old windows machine and overwrote the ssd with porteus. Loaded config then shipped client to customer. All was fine until restart browser command was sent from server.

Here's everything except passwords and server info. Would anything on the server end cause it, like the overlapping client IDs?

allow_icmp_protocol=yes
homepage=--app=http://edit.mysmartcommunity.net
disable_private_mode=yes
disable_navigation_bar=yes
persistence=full
scheduled_action=Monday-04:00 Tuesday-04:00 Wednesday-04:00 Thursday-04:00 Friday-04:00 action:killall gui-app chrome; sleep 3; sync; reboot
disable_input_devices=yes
hide_mouse=yes
default_sound_card=0.3
shutdown_menu=no
kernel_parameters=acpi=force reboot=warm,cold,bios,smp,triple,kbd,acpi,efi,pci,force
timezone=America/New_York
run_command=grep -q 'update-interval' $chflags || echo '--check-for-update-interval=999999999' >> $chflags; rm /home/guest/.config/google-chrome/SingletonLock
additional_components=uefi.zip 08-ssh.xzm 09-x11vnc.xzm
gpu_driver=modesetting

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5385
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Locked profile is back

Post#4 by fanthom » 13 May 2021, 19:47

Dimitri,

If the error is not reproducible then i won't be able to fix it I'm afraid.

As a workaround please wipe persistent data with:
persistence=wipe

reboot the kiosk and then go back to:
persistence=full

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Dimitri
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Nov 2019, 19:38
Distribution: kiosk 4.8

Locked profile is back

Post#5 by Dimitri » 07 Jun 2021, 16:55

I think this was because of a repurposed client. It was originally deployed with version 4.9 then 5.2 installed over that. Issue has not returned after unlocking priofile.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5385
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Locked profile is back

Post#6 by fanthom » 07 Jun 2021, 17:20

Great :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply