Page 1 of 1

Issues with remote managament

Posted: 20 Mar 2017, 22:03
by Aln
Hello,

I'm facing a problem and not sure whether I'm doing sth wrong or there is a bug in software.

Required setup:
  • networkconnection is set up manually (Wifi differs in each location) during initial launch of Kiosk install
  • then I want to load all other settings from network location
Issue:
  • Initial network setup (Wifi) works fine and I download the Firefox
  • Then I succesfully load the config file (see below)
  • System starts loading components (for example Flash plugin)
  • After restart it seems Kiosk can't connect to Wifi, I get "Update service not available ..."
Is this becase the GLOBAL settings don't have connection settings for individual PC IDs? Does the below file overwrite the connection settings I setup manually (Wifi)?

Config file

Code: Select all

[[ GLOBAL ]]
browser=firefox
homepage_check=Casino not available, please contact your administrator
homepage=http://www.website.com
disable_navigation_bar=yes
kiosk_config=http://www.website.com/config.txt
allow_popup_windows=yes
volume_level=50%
additional_components=uefi.zip 05-flash.xzm
# debug=yes
Any help would be much appreciated, thank you.

Re: Issues with remote managament

Posted: 20 Mar 2017, 22:54
by Aln
FYI: if I do a manual installation without remote management....everything works fine.

So to me it looks like: if remote management config is messing up the connection config. But I don't get it why are the GLOBAL values remove network settings..

Re: Issues with remote managament

Posted: 21 Mar 2017, 08:09
by fanthom
Hello Aln,

Network related parameters are not included in your GLOBAL section so they must be added to PCID section for each kiosk (they must be present somewhere in the config otherwise system defaults to wired + dhcp)

Example for wifi and static IP configurations :

Code: Select all

[[ GLOBAL ]]
browser=firefox
homepage_check=Casino not available, please contact your administrator
homepage=http://www.website.com
disable_navigation_bar=yes
kiosk_config=http://www.website.com/config.txt
allow_popup_windows=yes
volume_level=50%
additional_components=uefi.zip 05-flash.xzm
# debug=yes

[[ 0-71-EF9-C8-20 ]]
connection=wifi
network_interface=wlan0
ip_address=192.168.1.2
netmask=255.255.255.0
default_gateway=192.168.1.1
dns_server=192.168.1.1
ssid_name=some_AP
wifi_encryption=wpa
wpa_password=some_pass

[[ 0-7C-7D7-1E-20 ]]
connection=wifi
network_interface=wlan0
ip_address=192.168.1.3
netmask=255.255.255.0
default_gateway=192.168.1.1
dns_server=192.168.1.1
ssid_name=some_AP
wifi_encryption=wpa
wpa_password=some_pass
Example for wifi and automatic (dhcp) IP configurations :

Code: Select all

[[ GLOBAL ]]
browser=firefox
homepage_check=Casino not available, please contact your administrator
homepage=http://www.website.com
disable_navigation_bar=yes
kiosk_config=http://www.website.com/config.txt
allow_popup_windows=yes
volume_level=50%
additional_components=uefi.zip 05-flash.xzm
# debug=yes

[[ 0-71-EF9-C8-20 ]]
connection=wifi
dhcp=yes
network_interface=wlan0
ssid_name=some_AP
wifi_encryption=wpa
wpa_password=some_pass

[[ 0-7C-7D7-1E-20 ]]
connection=wifi
dhcp=yes
network_interface=wlan0
ssid_name=some_AP
wifi_encryption=wpa
wpa_password=some_pass
Thank you.