[solved] de activate wlan0

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
banshee22
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Sep 2011, 08:46
Location: France

[solved] de activate wlan0

Post#1 by banshee22 » 12 Jan 2012, 09:06

Hi all,

I'm trying to de activate wlan0 but I can't. ifconfig wlan0 down does nothing: I don't know how to set default interface to eth0.

when I do : ping -I eth0 <reachable ip> , it works,
but ping <reachable ip> doesn't work....

I think wlan0 is set to the default interface but set where?

Another thing:

dns is not working whereas my /etc/resolv.conf is ok...

any idea?

Thanks,

Banshee
Last edited by banshee22 on 26 Jan 2012, 06:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#2 by fanthom » 12 Jan 2012, 09:14

run 'lspci -k' and find driver used by your wifi card.
now you can try to unload it by /etc/rc.d/rc.local (add "modprobe -r driver_name") or blacklist in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
reboot porteus and check if all is ok.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
banshee22
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Sep 2011, 08:46
Location: France

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#3 by banshee22 » 12 Jan 2012, 10:32

Thanks...it works.

But I would like a solution not only for my PC.
What I'd like is to have eth0 as default interface and activate wifi on the fly, but, the worse: on any PC...I don't know by advance what's the wifi card, then the driver on PCs...

Publié after 30 minutes 45 seconds:
I've created a "/etc/network/interfaces" file, with this content:

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

And now, eth0 is the default interface!

but dns still not working...

Publié after 26 minutes 34 seconds:
I'm trying to launch: nsupdate, and I've this message: "error while loading shared libraries: liblwres.so.60: cannot open shared object file: no such file or directory"

Do i need to install some more package?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5659
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#4 by brokenman » 13 Jan 2012, 03:08

According to the PPM library searcher this library belongs to: bind-9.7.3-i486-2.txz

Code: Select all

slackyd -g bind-9.7.3-i486-2.txz
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#5 by Ahau » 13 Jan 2012, 20:31

The interesting thing is that /usr/bin/nsupdate is also in the bind package:
http://pkgs.org/slackware-13.37/slackwa ... 2.txz.html

So, banshee, how did you get one (nsupdate) but not the other (liblwres.so.60)? Have you already installed the bind package, or did nsupdate come with some other package? If you've installed the bind package, please let us know what version and where you found it, and manually check for the library in your live filesystem:

Code: Select all

ls /usr/lib | grep liblwres
or, if you're using 64-bit:

Code: Select all

ls /usr/lib64 | grep liblwres
Posted after 4 hours 20 minutes 45 seconds:
I downloaded the bind txz package and took a look. It contains both the nsupdate program and libwres, and nsupdate started without throwing an error about libwres (ldd showed all dependencies were resolved).

There were a few issues with the doinst.sh script that still caused some other problems - if converted via txz2xzm, /etc/rndc.key will not be created. Also, /etc/rc.bind is included to start bind at boot-up, but it was not marked executable, so it did not start automatically.

I converted the module with my stxz2xzm script, so it creates /etc/rndc.key when the module is activated. I also ran chmod+x on /etc/rc.bind, so that starts as well (if this isn't the desired behaviour, you'll need to extract the module, chmod -x that file, and rebuild the module).

You can download it here: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... i486-2.xzm

I must admit, I don't know a lot about networking, and I've never used this package before...so I'm not guaranteeing success ;)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#6 by Hamza » 14 Jan 2012, 06:12

Don't forgot bind is used for DNS Resolution..so every domain names will no longer works on the machine when this package is not implemented.

The machine may works only if it uses a local proxy like squid which it doing all dns resolution.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
banshee22
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Sep 2011, 08:46
Location: France

Re: de activate wlan0

Post#7 by banshee22 » 23 Jan 2012, 09:02

Sorry about late response....I've installed a package named: dnsutils_9.7.1.dfsg.P2-2_i386.xzm and now it works.
I've found it here: http://pkgs.org/ubuntu-10.10/ubuntu-mai ... 6.deb.html and then transformed into xzm.

Please, let me know if you want to learn more about this.

Banshee

Post Reply