Grub4Dos menu

Here you can post about non-standard installation methods
(for example when using grub4dos).
Post Reply
User avatar
X-Factor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 23:19
Location: bali, indonesia

Grub4Dos menu

Post#1 by X-Factor » 31 Dec 2010, 03:35

Since i have problem booting from usb bigger than 1Gb i use G4D for my frugal instal

1. cut n paste your grldr n grub.exe to c:\
2. create menu.lst mine is

Code: Select all

# This is my menu.lst file. You should make some changes for yours.
# The old install method of booting via the stage-files has been removed.
# Changed 2006-12-23 (hd0,0)/boot/grub/menu.lst to (hd0,0)/menu.lst)
# 

color blue/green yellow/red white/magenta white/magenta
timeout 30
default /default

title Back to Menu
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
boot

title My OS
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz autoexec=xconf;telinit~4
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.xz
boot

title GParted Runs from RAM / Ejects CD.
kernel (hd1,0)/pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=us
initrd (hd1,0)/pmagic/initramfs
map --unmap=0:0xff
boot

title Windows XP
fallback 3
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
savedefault --wait=2

title Windows 7
fallback 4
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /bootmgr
chainloader /bootmgr
savedefault --wait=2
then save it

3. last n most important save your original boot.ini to bootxp.ini ( or your choose ) then add the last line of your boot.ini to this

Code: Select all

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\grldr="My OS"
hope this usefull for somebody :)

Nb:
The above is configuration for xp as primary master and windows 7 as secondary master, haven't try sata with 2 partition and windows 7 as hda1 who know it might be =@ have read about it on other forum.

here is the link
http://www.mediafire.com/?rtrzr19iv3n00
this one i've tested
http://www.mediafire.com/?4ca77qvcfsm9fxd
I've been confine to my quarter
http://img143.imageshack.us/i/medusathing.jpg/

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Grub4Dos menu

Post#2 by brokenman » 01 Jan 2011, 23:25

Excellent. IMHO this will be one of the most important sections of the forum.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply