Porteus v1.0 ConsoleKit Bug [SOLVED]

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1061
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Porteus v1.0 ConsoleKit Bug [SOLVED]

Post#1 by wread » 13 Sep 2011, 02:50

@brokenman,
@fanthom,
I am using the iso disk of Porteus v 1.0 final now. I want to list the running sessions, so I open a console and type:

bash-4.1$ ck-list-sessions

** (ck-list-sessions:2619): WARNING **: Failed to get list of seats: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success
bash-4.1$

I submit this result as bug, log out and come back soon with an edit:

Now I am back, but using iso disk of Porteus v1.0 rc2, and I do the same as above and get this response:

bash-4.1$ ck-list-sessions
Session1:
unix-user = '1000'
realname = '(null)'
seat = 'Seat1'
session-type = ''
active = TRUE
x11-display = ':0'
x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
display-device = ''
remote-host-name = ''
is-local = TRUE
on-since = '2011-09-12T22:54:43.193138Z'
login-session-id = ''
bash-4.1$

This is the right result!
I am trying to find out what happened in between; it would be nice to have this corrected in v 1.1..

Suspect is dbus-1? :evil:

Regards!

EDIT: I found it! There is a daemon to be started in rc.M to get console kit working; if you start by hand /usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon it is then ok, just try starting a new session and then asking for the list.

root@porteus:~# ck-list-sessions
root@porteus:~# ck-launch-session /bin/bash
root@porteus:~# ck-list-sessions
Session2:
unix-user = '0'
realname = '(null)'
seat = 'Seat1'
session-type = ''
active = TRUE
x11-display = ':0'
x11-display-device = '/dev/tty7'
display-device = '/dev/pts/1'
remote-host-name = ''
is-local = TRUE
on-since = '2011-09-13T10:12:55.830636Z'
login-session-id = ''
root@porteus:~#

I will try to make a rc.M patch for it and report back! :roll:

EDIT: I added a line in my /rootcopy/etc/rc.d/rc.local:

[ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.consolekit ] && /etc/rc.d/rc.consolekit start

and the issue is forgotten, until v 1.1.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus v1.0 ConsoleKit Bug [SOLVED]

Post#2 by fanthom » 13 Sep 2011, 16:38

great finding wread :)

i must have missed consolekit while syncing rc.M between Slackware nad Porteus.
Will be updated for Porteus-1.1

Thanks.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1061
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus v1.0 ConsoleKit Bug [SOLVED -dirty-]

Post#3 by wread » 17 Sep 2011, 10:55

@fanthom
I checked out rc.M in Slackware 13.37 and there is no line related to consolekit at all. Misterious....

Regards!

EDIT: I made following experiment; I took an USB loaded with Porteus v 1.0 (with ConsoleKit bug), subtituted 000-kernel.xzm (and /boot/vmlinuz) with the respective modules of v 1.0-rc-2 and made it bootable again. You won't believe it! ConsoleKit works again ok.

But with this kernel I must mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2, etc, etc by hand ... :x
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply