ConsoleKit is splitted!

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#1 by wread » 04 Sep 2011, 19:52

@fanthom
Trying to tweak kde-4.7.0 for Porteus v-1.0, 32 bits, I got this warning: "Cannot open ConsoleKit session: Unable to open session: Failed to execute program /usr/libexec/dbus-daemon-launch-helper: Success".

Immediately I thought it was something wrong with ConsoleKit. So I ran a general "find" and got this:

root@porteus:~# find / -name ConsoleKit
/var/run/ConsoleKit
/var/log/ConsoleKit
/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
/usr/include/ConsoleKit
/etc/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/007-devel.xzm/usr/include/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/etc/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/var/log/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/var/run/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/001-core.xzm/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
find: `/mnt/live/proc/3881/net': Invalid argument
find: `/proc/3881/net': Invalid argument
root@porteus:~#

Is there a special reason to have it splitted in 3 different modules?
I wanted to take out 003-lxde -at least provisorily (to make space)- and found that kde4 didn't even start without 003-lxde!

If there is no reason to divide ConsoleKit in three parts, I would suggest to put it in 001-core all together, for Porteus 1.1 or whatever.

Regards :)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Tonio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:37
Distribution: Slackware,porteus,FreeBSD,Slax
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#2 by Tonio » 04 Sep 2011, 22:33

@wread

I believe that it *might* have been splitted to accomodate either desktop :(, somehow things might not work if it is placed in one space. I read this somewhere, but I don't remember where :( Hope that @fanthom/@brokenman correct me in the case that I was mistaken or that my post does not relate to consolekit but might be for some other thing? :pardon:

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#3 by fanthom » 05 Sep 2011, 09:00

@wread, Tonio
Is there a special reason to have it splitted in 3 different modules?
yes :)

Code: Select all

/mnt/live/memory/images/001-core.xzm/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
this folder belongs to udev package (go to /var/log/packages and run 'grep ConsoleKit *')

Code: Select all

/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/etc/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/var/log/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/003-lxde.xzm/var/run/ConsoleKit
this is the real 'ConoleKit' package.

Code: Select all

/mnt/live/memory/images/007-devel.xzm/usr/include/ConsoleKit
all headers and statically compiled libs (.a files) are moved to devel module by our 'cleanup, post configuration scripts' just before making new ISO. These files are needed only for compilation from sources thus useless outside of 'devel'. if one never compiles then he gets smaller 001,002,003,xxx
If there is no reason to divide ConsoleKit in three parts, I would suggest to put it in 001-core all together, for Porteus 1.1 or whatever.
it's up to brokenman if he want's to move it to 001-core or 002-xorg. if it helps KDE4 then it's rather good idea :)

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#4 by wread » 05 Sep 2011, 13:27

@fanthom
Thank you for your prompt answer, fanthom. I will make further experiences with ConsoleKit and report to you an to brokenman.

Apropos KDE4, I read kde4 is not using the hal daemon, starting with 4.6; that means device polling does not work as in older versions. However LXDE uses it for that purpose. I read that hal won't be even supported any more. How did you manage this situation in Porteus 64 bits? (that is 4.6, isn't it?) Do you stop hald in kde4.6 and start it in lxde?

But I also read, that Slackware eventually would switch to Gnome and abandon KDE. The reason is that the kde-team splitted the modules of the DE in more than 70 new modules (good for Porteus!), and that they lack of the developers to maintain so many modules (I don't think this is a powerful reason to react so). They would also switch eventually LXDE to XFACE, too (I think xface is not using hald either).

Maybe this is a subject for a new thread. You decide....

Regards :(
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#5 by fanthom » 06 Sep 2011, 16:33

@wread
Do you stop hald in kde4.6 and start it in lxde?
both KDE-4 and LXDE uses udisk instead of hal in Porteus 1.0. hal was left there only for compatibility with other apps like qmmp, k3b, etc
I'm going to drop it completely in Porteus-1.1 for 64bits (32bit KDE-3 is still using it so must stay in place).
But I also read, that Slackware eventually would switch to Gnome and abandon KDE.
i think it was just a rumor. Alien Bob is still updating KDE in his Ktown repo:
http://alien.slackbook.org/ktown/
and as you probably know his packages are merged upstream as official Slackware's one.
Maybe this is a subject for a new thread. You decide....
yes - it's too much off topic so let's stop here :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#6 by wread » 10 Sep 2011, 13:30

@fanthom,
@brokenman,
I compiled ConsoleKit-0.4.5 with linux-pam included and embeded it fully in 001-core (deleted first the existing old ConsoleKit files). Also deleted the other ConsoleKit parts contained in 003-lxde and 007-devel; then made 3 new base modules 001-core-wread, 003-lxde-wread and 007-devel-wread. Now I get this:

root@porteus:~# find / -name ConsoleKit
/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
/usr/include/ConsoleKit
/etc/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/001-core-wread.xzm/etc/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/001-core-wread.xzm/usr/include/ConsoleKit
/mnt/live/memory/images/001-core-wread.xzm/usr/lib/ConsoleKit
find: `/mnt/live/proc/4977/net': Invalid argument
find: `/proc/4977/net': Invalid argument
root@porteus:~#

Now you can move 004-kde to optional and lxde works ok, or move 003-lxde to optional and kde works ok or even move both 003-lxde and 004-kde and the text mode works ok. You can try it; I posted the 3 changed modules in mediafire

http://www.mediafire.com/file/405impv1w ... -wread.xzm
http://www.mediafire.com/file/voacj8ruh ... -wread.xzm
http://www.mediafire.com/file/m5aiiu71s ... -wread.xzm

Regards! 8)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#7 by fanthom » 10 Sep 2011, 15:13

@wread
You can try it; I posted the 3 changed modules in mediafire
thanks but i'm aware of that and Consolekit is placed in 002-xorg for 64bits. there was no reason to keep it below 003-lxde for 32bits as so far KDE-4 was never considered as kde-3 replacement.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: ConsoleKit is splitted!

Post#8 by wread » 10 Sep 2011, 20:01

@fanthom,
@brokenman
Ok, I will sync it with the 64 bits version and move ConsoleKit to 002-xorg and report back!

Cheers!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply