[SOLVED] Samba bug.

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
biz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 06:04
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

[SOLVED] Samba bug.

Post#1 by biz » 30 Aug 2011, 05:26

Hello. I have Porteus v1.0 x86_64 with:

1.0-fixes modules:
linuxrc-1.0-fix

additional modules:
samba-3.5.8-x86_64-1.xzm (converted from slackware64-13.37)

So i do:
1. chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.samba
2. reboot

After startup, only smbd deamon runs, but no nmbd.
If i do: /etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart it prints "nmbd: no process found" and smbd and nmbd runs successfuly. What's wrong?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Samba bug.

Post#2 by fanthom » 30 Aug 2011, 08:38

Hello biz,

please try updated (3.5.10) samba package from this link:
http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackw ... k13.37.txz
run 'chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.samba' and rename /etc/samab/smb.conf-sample (can't remember exac name) to /etc/samba/smb.conf.
now start daemons:

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.samba start
works for me :)

please do it on fresh Porteus installation (no changes or extra modules) to make sure that it's not user/other_modules fault.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

biz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 06:04
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: Samba bug.

Post#3 by biz » 31 Aug 2011, 18:10

Hello fanthom,

Thank you for answer. Yes, You are right, in "Fresh mode" it works. But samba-3.5.8 works too!
I don't know why this happens... I need to think about it.

* SFME

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1343
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Samba bug.

Post#4 by Blaze » 01 Sep 2011, 19:50

Hello (Привет), biz.
I think you need to use the save.dat container.
Please read my how to on Russian here
(Read this manual - Важно! Создание save.dat для корректного сохранения изменений Porteus на жестком диск или USB flash drive (флешку) с файловой структурой FAT32 или NTFS)
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

biz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Jun 2011, 06:04
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Samba bug.

Post#5 by biz » 02 Sep 2011, 07:32

Hello (Привет), Blaze.
Я так и делаю. Что самое интересное сейчас у меня все работает нормально с той же конфигурацией что и была в первый раз.
I've always used save.dat. I dont know why, but now it works fine.

* А просто по-русски тут писать нельзя? Типа надо чтобы все понимали что я пишу?

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1343
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Samba bug.

Post#6 by Blaze » 02 Sep 2011, 12:27

biz, for russian speaking users :friends:
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply