Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
cactus
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:58
Location: Toulouse, France

Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#1 by cactus » 19 Aug 2011, 13:52

Hello everybody,

I have installed Porteus on my USB key, it works on my new PC (core i5), but not on my old one (Athlon 2500+).
I use it on a vfat partition, with the append changes=/porteus/xxx.dat. If I remove this append, it doesn't work too.
It seems that the partition sdb1 can't be mounted, and of course, no /porteus directory !
What's wrong ?
Should I add a delay for the kernel ? (not sure it works)
NB : /dev/sdb is mounted in udf format, I think it is the iso file, but it's strange, I've never seen that.

Curiously, it work with the Fresh entry ! Very strange...

Thank you for your help.

Cactus.

Publié after 25 minutes 5 seconds:
ok, I think I solve it with a delay option.
10 seconds make it working, I will try less...

Publié after 17 minutes 50 seconds:
Only 1 s is OK.

Found the solution alone, but hope it will help someone... ;)
Last edited by cactus on 19 Aug 2011, 14:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus doesn't on an old PC

Post#2 by Hamza » 19 Aug 2011, 14:00

Welcome on Board! :)

Sorry, you are in the wrong section of the forum.

For you, the correct section is Newbie questions

Add the [Solved] part in the title if this issue has been solved.

Cheers
NjVFQzY2Rg==

cactus
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:58
Location: Toulouse, France

Re: Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#3 by cactus » 19 Aug 2011, 14:14

Sorry for the wrong section, but I thought it was a bug.

Topic edited as you wanted. ;)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#4 by Hamza » 19 Aug 2011, 14:16

That is a bug, but that is not the bug section.. :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

cactus
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:58
Location: Toulouse, France

Re: Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#5 by cactus » 19 Aug 2011, 14:29

Oh, it's the USB installation section, I thought it was better to post here.
But ok, you can move this topic where you think it have to be ! :wink:

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#6 by Hamza » 19 Aug 2011, 14:31

I cannot move it.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus doesn't boot corretly on an old PC (solved)

Post#7 by Ahau » 19 Aug 2011, 16:39

Good job, finding the solution! Yes, some computers need a little more time to pick up your device, and that sounds like the issue here. This has been addressed already for future releases, so I don't think we need to add it as a bug report; thanks for the post, and I'm sure it will help folks who may have the same issue! I have it as well, I need to add delay=4 on my machine, with some usb drives (but not others!)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply