Networking problems [solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Networking problems [solved]

Post#1 by ThatDeadDude » 01 Aug 2011, 16:51

Hi,

I've been using Porteus for a while after moving on from Slax, but I'd still count myself as a n00b. Since I upgraded to v1.0 I've been having annoying problems with the network settings on one of my interfaces resetting. As some background: I'm basically using Porteus in text mode on an old laptop as a PPP router due to some network difficulties in my house. The laptop connects via wlan0 to to the proper ADSL router which it makes use of in bridge mode (ppp0 on the laptop). Another PC is then connected directly to the laptop on eth0. All of this works fine, mostly.

Every so often though, eth0 loses its IPv4 address and adds an IPv6 address (even if I've specifically deleted that in the past). The routing table also tends to get messed up - it'll get a second 'default' line added (that refers to wlan0 instead of ppp0), and sometimes will lose the entry that tells it to use eth0 for 192.168.1.0/24. Everything works fine if I manually change things back, but it's annoying to have to do that every day.

Can anyone give me any clues as to why this would be happening?

Thanks.
Last edited by ThatDeadDude on 21 Sep 2011, 18:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Networking problems

Post#2 by fanthom » 02 Aug 2011, 08:55

@ThatDeadDude
welcome on board :)

is it 32bit Porteus version or 64bit one? did the problem appear after switching from Porteus-v09 to Porteus-1.0 ?
please show us output of 'lspci -k' command which gonna tell us more about hardware and drivers which you are using.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Re: Networking problems

Post#3 by ThatDeadDude » 02 Aug 2011, 20:06

Thanks for the reply.

I'm using 32-bit, and yes, the problem came about after upgrading from v09 (At least, I'm pretty sure it was v09).

Output of lspci -k:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
        Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
        Kernel modules: intel-agp
00:00.1 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
00:00.3 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: i915
        Kernel modules: intelfb, i915
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel modules: i915
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
        Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
        Kernel modules: intel-rng
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
        Kernel modules: i2c-i801
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: Intel ICH
        Kernel modules: snd-intel8x0
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0038
        Kernel modules: snd-intel8x0m, 8250_pci
02:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1520 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
02:04.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1520 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
02:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0039
        Kernel driver in use: 8139too
        Kernel modules: 8139too, 8139cp
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Linksys WPC54G v1 / WPC54GS v1 802.11g Wireless-G Notebook Adapter
        Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
        Kernel modules: ssb
I may as well mention as a side-note given that I'm already dumping hardware information: one of the big reasons I use text mode is that when Porteus starts normally, or I use the startx command from text mode, the interface normally stops responding after a little while (~30mins). Have no idea on what causes it - doesn't seem to have occurred when I've tried X-forwarding through PuTTY.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Networking problems

Post#4 by fanthom » 02 Aug 2011, 20:38

i think you are hit by 'broadcom-sta wrong kernel version' bug.
add this fix to /porteus/modules:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/i486/testing/1. ... .0-fix.xzm

and check out this thread for more info:
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=709

let us know if that fix solved your issue.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Re: Networking problems

Post#5 by ThatDeadDude » 09 Aug 2011, 21:46

Well, I've installed the module. Will probably have to wait a while before I can tell you if it has worked though.

Posted after 3 days 11 hours 2 minutes 21 second:
An update: Unfortunately the issue is persisting.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Networking problems

Post#6 by fanthom » 12 Aug 2011, 14:19

@ThatDeadDude
similar problems were reported by jcuk before:
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php? ... ting#p2026
(see 'note1'), but seems that they were magically resolved in Porteus-1.0-rc3:
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php? ... ting#p4706

anyway - if it's not a driver causing unstable connection then i'm out of clues what it could be. sorry about that.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Networking problems

Post#7 by francois » 15 Aug 2011, 01:37

On porteus 64-bit.

Broadcom are not easy. Here is my solution:
http://slax.speedymirror.com/forum.php? ... ntID=70793
" Wifi is finally working for me. I knew that linux sta for bcm was on the distribution. I finally understood that to use the bcm43xx (for me 4328), all I had to do was to blaclist ssb and b43 in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf, as proposed in:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_BCM43XX"

Tell me if it helps.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Re: Networking problems

Post#8 by ThatDeadDude » 13 Sep 2011, 17:20

Hi, sorry for taking a month to respond. Unfortunately the updated module did not seem to help. The wired interface is still losing its IPv4 address at least a couple of times a day.

One thing that I have learnt is that a reproducible way to cause it to happen is to unplug the network cable, or turn off the machine on the other end. When connectivity is restored the address has been "forgotten".

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Networking problems

Post#9 by fanthom » 13 Sep 2011, 20:17

hi ThatDeadDude,
One thing that I have learnt is that a reproducible way to cause it to happen is to unplug the network cable, or turn off the machine on the other end. When connectivity is restored the address has been "forgotten".
this is important information.
are you using Porteus in text mode with 000 + 001 xzm modules only or 002 as well?
if 002-xorg.xzm is active then wicd manages your connection and i have found that this app does not restore wired connections as it supposed to (plain /etc/rc.d.rc.inet1 or pns-tool does better job in this subject due to different dhcpcd flags).
please disable wicd by commenting it out in /etc/rc.d/rc.M, like in this example:

Code: Select all

# Start wicd:
#[ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd ] && . /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start
and save modified rc.M as /porteus/rootcopy/etc/rc.d/rc.M

let us know if that helped :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Re: Networking problems

Post#10 by ThatDeadDude » 14 Sep 2011, 18:45

Ah, yes, I was including that module. And now I've learnt what the rootcopy directory does. I will update you on whether this fixes the issue, but it does sound promising.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Networking problems

Post#11 by francois » 15 Sep 2011, 01:09

If not working, here is a solution provided by fanthom for bcm wifi cards that will be available on v 1.1 porteus:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=758
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

ThatDeadDude
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:39
Location: Somewhere

Re: Networking problems

Post#12 by ThatDeadDude » 21 Sep 2011, 18:03

It seems the change suggested to rc.M worked! I've successfully remained connected since my last message! Thank you very much!

Post Reply