using rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5078
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

using rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum

Post#1 by francois » 25 Oct 2017, 21:50

Sometime puting a file in rootcopy works fine, at other time it will bug. I try to use rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum weight.

An example, pman -S error due to omission of \ at the end of line 116.

If I correct the pman script adding \ at the end of line 116 and insert the corrected file in rootcopy as:
/usr/local/bin/pman
booting into kde will be compromised.

Is this due to erasing the complete /usr/local/bin folder?

Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 970
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

using rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 26 Oct 2017, 06:41

francois wrote:
25 Oct 2017, 21:50
Is this due to erasing the complete /usr/local/bin folder?
shouldn't be .. maybe boot to text and check.. also check your permissions on /usr/local/bin/pman in rootcopy..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5078
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

using rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum

Post#3 by francois » 27 Oct 2017, 02:32

And you were right. I need to be more systematic. Got it working. Other packages were responsible for the bug.

Still using rootcopy, what effect has these commands on the files of the system? Are they changing a one and only file?

Code: Select all

rc-update add avahi-daemon default
rc-service cupsd start
Instead of issuing these command, I would like to change the targetted file(s) in rootcopy.
Thanks
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 970
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

using rootcopy to keep the change file to a minimum

Post#4 by ncmprhnsbl » 27 Oct 2017, 03:32

Code: Select all

rc-update add avahi-daemon default
puts a symlink(to /etc/init.d/avahi-daemon) in /etc/runlevels/default

Code: Select all

rc-service cupsd start
i think. this just starts it (runs the service script) as a "one shot"
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply