Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

'User made' tutorials related to Porteus Kiosk edition.
Official kiosk documentation can be find here: http://porteus-kiosk.org/documentation.html
Post Reply
link08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 24
Joined: 27 Sep 2017, 14:40
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk-3.7.0-i586

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#1 by link08 » 18 Oct 2017, 09:05

I have a task of creating kiosk 32 bit system. However Porteus kiosk 32 bit was abandoned by developers and include only old version of Firefox. Also there is almost no help in my topic of adpoting Porteus kiosk 32 bit to new Firefox version. Install latest Chromium instead of Chrome in Porteus kiosk 32-bit 3.7.0
Is it possible then to cut everything, but Firefox from regular (not kiosk) Porteus?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3320
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#2 by Ed_P » 18 Oct 2017, 16:12

Can you add any of the 32 bit modules from here: http://dl.porteus.org/i586/Porteus-v3.2.2/modules/ to your kiosk?
Ed

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 777
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#3 by fulalas » 18 Oct 2017, 20:13

What you're asking for doesn't make much sense considering how Porteus (non-Kiosk) works -- each extra program is a completely separated module. As Ed_P said, you'd better get a Firefox module from the link above. :good:

link08
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 24
Joined: 27 Sep 2017, 14:40
Distribution: Porteus-Kiosk-3.7.0-i586

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#4 by link08 » 19 Oct 2017, 09:13

Ed_P wrote:
18 Oct 2017, 16:12
Can you add any of the 32 bit modules from here: http://dl.porteus.org/i586/Porteus-v3.2.2/modules/ to your kiosk?
I've added Firefox module to Porteus kiosk and when I try to run Firefox from command line in Porteus kiosk debugging mode I get the following error:
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox-50.1.0/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
That error means that Firefox of latest versions need GTK3 to run. So we need to concentrate on injecting GTK3 in Porteus kiosk.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5078
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#5 by francois » 19 Oct 2017, 12:32

@link08:
Why don't you send a personnal message to fanthom. I would be surprised he would not provide a solution for the kiosk version of porteus. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 777
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#6 by fulalas » 20 Oct 2017, 02:26

You can try to download Slackware GTK3 package and convert it to a xzm module: http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackw ... i586-1.txz

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3320
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#7 by Ed_P » 20 Oct 2017, 04:59

fulalas wrote:
20 Oct 2017, 02:26
You can try to download Slackware GTK3 package and convert it to a xzm module: http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackw ... i586-1.txz
The requested URL /pub/slackware/slackware-14.2/slackware/l/gtk 3-3.18.9-i586-1.txz was not found on this server.

However, the mentioned module is found in USM.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -s 3.18.9

gtk+3-3.18.9-x86_64-1.txz was found in slackware [installed]
Packages found:   1 

Use:   usm -i <package>  for more info
Use:   usm -g <package>  to download

root@porteus:/home/guest# 

-update-

Just retried the link and it works now. :%) Still recommend the USM approach though. :)
Ed

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 777
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#8 by fulalas » 21 Oct 2017, 01:01

Yeah, Slackware domain isn't exactly stable, hahaha! BTW, you mentioned a x64 package coming from USM while the OP is asking for a x86 :)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3320
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Remove everything but browser from Porteus 32 bit

Post#9 by Ed_P » 21 Oct 2017, 03:50

fulalas wrote:
21 Oct 2017, 01:01
BTW, you mentioned a x64 package coming from USM while the OP is asking for a x86 :)
Understood but I only have a x64 system. Hopefully packages which I see have x32 counterparts.
Ed

Post Reply