[SOLVED]boot text only?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
retfar
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jul 2011, 17:31
Location: us

[SOLVED]boot text only?

Post#1 by retfar » 27 Jul 2011, 11:35

Hi
When I boot in Text only login as root,startlxde all I get is the prompt no errors no x. Also does using text only not use the save.dat? I use ndiswrapper for wifi in text only I have to rmmod prism2_usb and cfg80211, then install the ndiswrapper driver and modprobe ndiswrapper. Wicd don't work so I have to configure the wifi manually.
When I boot lxde from the menu lsmod says ndiswrapper is loaded but wicd still don' work.
Thanks.
Last edited by retfar on 28 Jul 2011, 07:22, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: boot text only?

Post#2 by Hamza » 27 Jul 2011, 12:15

For Wireless problem,

Did you tried to use the command

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0 up
Replace the wlan0 by the name of your wireless interface
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: boot text only?

Post#3 by Ahau » 27 Jul 2011, 14:42

By default, text only mode will boot without your saved changes (you can see this by looking at your /boot/porteus.cfg file or by pressing tab in SYSLINUX when you have 'text mode' highlighted. To load your changes, use the changes= cheatcode (which, again, could be added by pressing TAB at the boot menu and typing changes=/path/to/save.dat, or you can add it to the text mode entry in your /boot/porteus.cfg file)

That should solve your ndiswrapper issue, as your configurations will be loaded in your save.dat (I should note that something as useful and important as your wifi configs and blacklisted drivers might be good to have saved in rootcopy or in their own module in /porteus/modules, so you can have access to them from Always Fresh mode, or if your save.dat fails, etc).

I think this may not be a perfect solution for getting into lxde from text mode, but it is a solution:

try adding the 'lxde' cheatcode at boot time (or to your /boot/porteus.cfg). Just add 'lxde' (no quotes), don't add telinit~4, etc. That will boot you into text mode, but stores the lxde cheatcode in /proc/cmdline. Then you can do whatever you want in text mode, and then execute 'xconf; telinit 4' when you're ready for lxde (you shouldn't need xconf if you already have a proper xorg.conf in your save.dat or rootcopy).

LXDE and KDE run in init 4, and they are started by the /etc/rc.d/rc.4 script, which runs when you execute 'telinit 4', and that script searches for 'lxde' in /proc/cmdline, and starts lxdm if it is found.

It probably sounds like a complicated process from my awkward explanation above, but please give it a try and let us know if that helps.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

retfar
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jul 2011, 17:31
Location: us

Re: boot text only?

Post#4 by retfar » 27 Jul 2011, 15:34

@Hamza: Yes ifconfig is no problem it's iwconfig after like setting the key then it disappears after a dhcpcd req or setting the essid, i just have to do it several times some times i get an ip sometimes not it's a throw of the dice not a porteus problem, but wicd never works after I config it.
Thanks for your reply.

@Ahau: Thanks for your reply it clears things up, came from puppylinux no rc scripts there. will try what you said it should work, just wanted lxde in root instead of kde.
I got other weirdness with the cpu usage like opening this dialog box all of a sudden firefox uses 80% cpu it will go back to normal after i submit this. Also in a term just using top used 90% of cpu weird.
Ill let you all know how your instructions work out.

ps: ff still using to much cpu will have to restart it :(

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: boot text only?

Post#5 by crashman » 27 Jul 2011, 19:21

hello @retfar

I use too ndiswrapper but for atheros AR5005G, my driver is ath5k and must be add to blacklist.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d ndiswrapper must be load before start rc.inet1 script:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
# /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1
# This script is used to bring up the various network interfaces.
#
# Modified for SLAX by Tomas M. <http://slax.linux-live.org>
#
# Modified for Porteus by fanthom

modprobe ndiswrapper
iwconfig wlan0 essid HOME mode ad-hoc channel 3 key 0123456789

if [ "$1" = "start" -o "$1" = "" ]; then
   echo "enabling dhcpcd on all available interfaces..."
   ifconfig lo down 2>/dev/null
   ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 2>/dev/null
   route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 lo 2>/dev/null
   for x in `ls /sys/class/net | grep -v sip | grep -v lo`; do
    /sbin/dhcpcd -L -t 0 $x >/dev/null 2>&1 &
   done
fi

if [ "$1" = "stop" ]; then
   killall dhcpcd
fi
try modify rc.inet1 script or rc.wicd script in /etc/rc.d directory.

If you like opera browser (latest version 11.50 is very fast) try porteus-xf http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=676

cheers

retfar
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jul 2011, 17:31
Location: us

Re: boot text only?

Post#6 by retfar » 28 Jul 2011, 07:08

crashman wrote:hello @retfar

I use too ndiswrapper but for atheros AR5005G, my driver is ath5k and must be add to blacklist.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d ndiswrapper must be load before start rc.inet1 script:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
# /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1
# This script is used to bring up the various network interfaces.
#
# Modified for SLAX by Tomas M. <http://slax.linux-live.org>
#
# Modified for Porteus by fanthom

modprobe ndiswrapper
iwconfig wlan0 essid HOME mode ad-hoc channel 3 key 0123456789

if [ "$1" = "start" -o "$1" = "" ]; then
   echo "enabling dhcpcd on all available interfaces..."
   ifconfig lo down 2>/dev/null
   ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 2>/dev/null
   route add -net 127.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 lo 2>/dev/null
   for x in `ls /sys/class/net | grep -v sip | grep -v lo`; do
    /sbin/dhcpcd -L -t 0 $x >/dev/null 2>&1 &
   done
fi

if [ "$1" = "stop" ]; then
   killall dhcpcd
fi
try modify rc.inet1 script or rc.wicd script in /etc/rc.d directory.

If you like opera browser (latest version 11.50 is very fast) try porteus-xf http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=676

cheers
I'll look into that later,thanks. Ah yes opera is my favorite browser I'll dl it after I resolve some issues 1st.

Posted after 16 minutes 1 second:
Re: [SOLVED]boot text only?
Hi again.
I missed labeled the subject should have been login as root in lxde from boot menu or something.
This worked I put cheatcode toroot in porteus.cfg @
LABEL lxde
MENU LABEL Graphics mode (LXDE)
KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=/boot/initrd.xz vga=791 lxde toroot autoexec=xconf;telinit~4 changes=/mnt/sda1/1st.dat
I'll start a new thread with my wifi problem.

Post Reply