noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt [solved]

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
Mithrandil
Power user
Power user
Posts: 29
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:02
Distribution: Gentoo, PixieLive
Location: IT
Contact:

noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt [solved]

Post#1 by Mithrandil » 30 Dec 2010, 15:36

is there any way to know the boot device (i mean the device where the slax directory is located)? other than

Code: Select all

ls /mnt/live/mnt/
Last edited by Mithrandil on 30 Dec 2010, 22:25, edited 1 time in total.
PixieLive developer www.pixielive.org

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#2 by Hamza » 30 Dec 2010, 15:38

Yes , if you do this command , you can see where remix is mounted

And , if you do this command :
cd /mnt/live/mnt/*/slax/
You can found automaticly on slax device .

Regards,

You topic is solved or no ?

User avatar
Mithrandil
Power user
Power user
Posts: 29
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:02
Distribution: Gentoo, PixieLive
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#3 by Mithrandil » 30 Dec 2010, 15:40

no, it's not solved, i want to know if there is another way to know the device, different from search in the /mnt/live/mnt
PixieLive developer www.pixielive.org

User avatar
Quax
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 21
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 21:28
Distribution: FluxFlux (ARM + x86), Slax7
Location: Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#4 by Quax » 30 Dec 2010, 15:44

Hi mithrandil,

as far as i know no.

To achieve this, fanthom would have to change linuxrc to export $DATAFROM variable to the running system while processing initrd.

Regards, Quax
Erfahrung bedeutet gar nichts - man kann Dinge auch 15 Jahre lang falsch machen...

Experience means nothing - one could have done things wrong for the last 15 years...

User avatar
Mithrandil
Power user
Power user
Posts: 29
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:02
Distribution: Gentoo, PixieLive
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#5 by Mithrandil » 30 Dec 2010, 15:46

thank you Quax, that's what i thought to do if there are no other ways ( some secret proc file or stuff like that ^_^ )
PixieLive developer www.pixielive.org

User avatar
Quax
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 21
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 21:28
Distribution: FluxFlux (ARM + x86), Slax7
Location: Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#6 by Quax » 30 Dec 2010, 16:03

Mithrandil wrote:thank you Quax...
You are welcome.

Safest way would be adding the following line to linuxrc before switching root in initrd:

Code: Select all

echo "DATAFROM=$DATAFROM" > $UNION/var/log/datafrom
and then adding following line to rc.slax:

Code: Select all

export $(cat /var/log/datafrom)
Regards, Quax
Erfahrung bedeutet gar nichts - man kann Dinge auch 15 Jahre lang falsch machen...

Experience means nothing - one could have done things wrong for the last 15 years...

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#7 by Hamza » 30 Dec 2010, 16:06

Yes , can you report this to this topic http://porteus.org/forum/ftopic41_linux ... ripts.html

Regards,

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt

Post#8 by fanthom » 30 Dec 2010, 22:02

this question has been answered in http://porteus.org/forum/ftopic41_linux ... ripts.html

please add [Solved]
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5068
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt [solved]

Post#9 by francois » 02 Jan 2011, 03:08

@fanthom:

There is no information at the hyperlink cited.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: noobie question about /mnt/live/mnt [solved]

Post#10 by fanthom » 02 Jan 2011, 04:42

that's probably because forum is moving all the time :)
my answer was:
"this info is already included in /mnt/live/var/log/livedbg
some other useful info is also there "
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply