cups: reinstall all anew

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

cups: reinstall all anew

Post#1 by francois » 25 Jul 2011, 18:05

I have been spending a lot of time trying to get my printers work under cups lately. :evil:
But, :D I achieved to get a hp laserjet 3030 to work with hplip and libraries provided by Wread. However, my efforts are null when it came for the brother hl2170w, see:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... er-893243/
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=678
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=457
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=704
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=660
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=632

From what I read on CUPS, I would just need to install CUPS from source to erase the former printing system, provided that I am sure to have the appropriate libraries. This is what I am going to do.

If anyone went in the past thru the experience and would like to provide some advice, this would please me.
Last edited by francois on 26 Jul 2011, 00:36, edited 3 times in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#2 by Hamza » 25 Jul 2011, 18:06

Post more informations, please.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#3 by francois » 25 Jul 2011, 18:22

I have the impression that Porteus 32 and 64-bit does not work out of the box for printing.

1) I have added some links in the first post of this thread. They will clarify the problem that some others and I have.

2) The CUPS manual, citation:
http://www.cups.org/doc-1.1/sam.html
WARNING:

Installing CUPS will overwrite your existing printing system. If you experience difficulties with the CUPS software and need to go back to your old printing system, you will need to remove the CUPS software with the provided script and/or reinstall the old printing system from your operating system CDs.
Requirements
Compiling CUPS

Posted after 5 minutes 47 seconds:
3) So, my intent is simply to try to reinstall CUPS anew.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#4 by Hamza » 25 Jul 2011, 18:37

I am currently working on a solution for reset the CUPS config. Looks like there is some files in /var/log/cups

Posted after 7 minutes 34 seconds:
I have found the solution!

Copy this command in a text file and execute it

Code: Select all

[ -e "/etc/cups/cuspd.conf.default" ] && cp -R /etc/cups/cupsd.conf.default /etc/cups/cupsd.conf && /etc/rc.d/rc.cups reload
This command will reset your current CUPS Configuration. Use it ONLY if You need to reset your CUPS' Configuration

Good Luck!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#5 by francois » 07 Aug 2011, 14:40

I did not try Hamza's suggestion until today.

Posted after 36 minutes 8 seconds:
Issuing this command under always fresh, does not permit printing. :(

Posted after 12 minutes 14 seconds:
Trying to install other slackware packages of cups as suggested by beny for porteus 32-bit, I had no results (although I did not tried it yet on porteus 64-bit).

So I decided to have a try installing cups from source. The version I am trying to install is cups-1.5.0. I had some difficulties doing so, peculiarly with one library libpng. However, I finally found the receipe. As I have a problem with the cups password, I will come back with a detailled description of the steps followed . :)
Last edited by francois on 08 Aug 2011, 02:04, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#6 by beny » 07 Aug 2011, 16:27

cups it is a bit strange,you have to restart daemon after every change you made,in the boot log you have start cups scheduler ok and then you know that cups work.well in the slackware official with an epson rx520 no way to do all task with printer or scanner,out of the box only certified linux printer work,but in the megastore selling other printer,not linux printer,with the brother you have to do a ppd file to put in the /usr/share/cups/model and you can do this with a script into the folder in usr local brother,run the script and it made the file,after you can open cups via browser and do the change what you need,adds print etc etc

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#7 by francois » 08 Aug 2011, 19:01

Thanks beny. I will have to try that. Did you did that with version 1.4.3 of cups?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: cups: reinstall all anew

Post#8 by beny » 08 Aug 2011, 19:11

yes this is the cups version,do not forget if use 64 bit the package of 32bit libraries,alias compat32-libraries-1.1.02_13.37-x86_64-1sl.txz.

Post Reply