Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#16 by gusbemacbe » 30 Jul 2017, 01:19

which desktop environment are you using? (eg.xfce mate,cinnamon etc)
KDE.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#17 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Jul 2017, 02:46

from memory, it should in KDE settings> Application Style somewhere... look for 'Window Decorations'
for the taskbar checkout "Workspace Appearance"
otherwise keep poking around because KDE has a setting for pretty much everything...
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#18 by gusbemacbe » 30 Jul 2017, 06:51

It worked normally. The whole apps body got customised and the ugliness is gone.

I finished the long and hard job, but unfortunately I was unable to install MySQL Workbench, Nautilus, PHP 7.1.2 and npm and the libraries gcc, g++, make, git. Too bad.

Here is the final screenshot:

Image

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#19 by gusbemacbe » 30 Jul 2017, 07:22

You were right. I did a stupid thing. I shouldn't use the magic folders.

I was warned if I wanted to mount the dat. I said no. Then I couldn't login. I rebooted and I said yes. The same thing happens.

I moved the folders.cfg to the other place. But the same thing still happened.

Is there how to fix it?

Do I have to reformat?!

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#20 by gusbemacbe » 30 Jul 2017, 07:45

I discovered. There were two different changes (duplicates), I had to removed the old and maintain the new.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#21 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Jul 2017, 08:49

gusbemacbe wrote:
30 Jul 2017, 06:51
and the libraries gcc, g++, make, git.
these are in the development module, which can be had from here: http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/port ... -devel.xzm
or from another mirror : http://porteus.org/porteus-mirrors.txt
this can placed in the /modules folder to loaded at boot or /option(or any where you like) and 'activated' after boot via filemanager rightclick menu>activate
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#22 by gusbemacbe » 31 Jul 2017, 00:08

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
30 Jul 2017, 08:49
gusbemacbe wrote:
30 Jul 2017, 06:51
and the libraries gcc, g++, make, git.
these are in the development module, which can be had from here: http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/port ... -devel.xzm
or from another mirror : http://porteus.org/porteus-mirrors.txt
this can placed in the /modules folder to loaded at boot or /option(or any where you like) and 'activated' after boot via filemanager rightclick menu>activate
Hello, I did it and it worked. And npm? I installed npm.xzm and I tried to command the npm and it didn't run.

I tested my external HD on my sister's laptop (with Windows) and on my laptop (with Manjaro), and I selected my external HD, and nothing worked or it didn't boot or start itself. Any solution? I can't remove EFI because I want my external HD with Porteus to run on any PCs and also on any Mac, so I read Porteus is designed to run from an USB or an external HD on any PCs anywhere.

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#23 by gusbemacbe » 31 Jul 2017, 00:41

I tested my external HD on a virtual box, it seems that it is the problem of rEFInd or EFI.

Image

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#24 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Jul 2017, 02:04

gusbemacbe wrote:
31 Jul 2017, 00:08
And npm? I installed npm.xzm and I tried to command the npm and it didn't run.
looks like npm needs node or node.js.. node.js is available in slackware and includes npm afaics..
gusbemacbe wrote:
31 Jul 2017, 00:08
Any solution? I can't remove EFI because I want my external HD with Porteus to run on any PCs and also on any Mac, so I read Porteus is designed to run from an USB or an external HD on any PCs anywhere.
(going out on a limb) i'm guessing that the other PCs are not EFI bios, in which case, i think, you would need to make your HD (oldstyle bios)bootable.
you should be able to this via porteus on your mac..
do as root:

Code: Select all

# cd /mnt/sdX0/boot/   (where X0 is your HD partition letter & number)
# ./Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
(confirm its the correct drive/partition, done)
then open( text editor) /mnt/sdX0/boot/sylinux/porteus.cfg and adjust the APPEND line for your changes= as in your rEFind
note: i haven't ever done this myself
hopefully someone with this experience can tell us if this is safe
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#25 by gusbemacbe » 31 Jul 2017, 02:13

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
31 Jul 2017, 02:04
(going out on a limb) i'm guessing that the other PCs are not EFI bios, in which case, i think, you would need to make your HD (oldstyle bios)bootable.
you should be able to this via porteus on your mac..
do as root:

Code: Select all

# cd /mnt/sdX0/boot/   (where X0 is your HD partition letter & number)
# ./Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
(confirm its the correct drive/partition, done)
Terminal on Porteus or Mac? On my Mac, I commanded at the terminal like:

Code: Select all

$ diskutil list

/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *500.1 GB   disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS OS X Sierra             499.2 GB   disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3

/dev/disk1 (external, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     Apple_partition_scheme                        *7.8 GB     disk1
   1:        Apple_partition_map                         32.3 KB    disk1s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS Γούσταβο                7.7 GB     disk1s3

/dev/disk2 (external, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *320.0 GB   disk2
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk2s1
   2:       Microsoft Basic Data PORTEUS                 319.8 GB   disk2s2

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#26 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Jul 2017, 02:26

gusbemacbe wrote:
31 Jul 2017, 02:13
Terminal on Porteus or Mac?
Porteus
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

gusbemacbe
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 00:51
Distribution: macOS Sierra

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#27 by gusbemacbe » 01 Aug 2017, 07:46

Unofrtunately it didn't work. :-/

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sdb2/boot# ./Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Porteus Installer......

Installing Porteus to /dev/sdb2
WARNING: Make sure this is the right partition before proceeding.

Type 'ok' to continue or press Ctrl+c to exit.
ok
Flushing filesystem buffers...

Installation failed with error code '2'.
Please ask for help on the Porteus forum: www.porteus.org/forum
and provide the information from /mnt/sdb2/boot/debug.txt

Exiting now...
cat: /mnt/sdb2/boot/syslinux/lilo.menu: Arquivo ou diretório não encontrado
root@porteus:/mnt/sdb2/boot#
 
Plus, Porteus can't read the disk with format ExFat. (*)

(*) I partitioned my external HD, one FAT partition for Porteus and another ExFat for mine, because the FAT partition doesn't allow me to copy files larger than 4GB.

I installed exfat and exfat-fuse, it gave errors:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# mkdir /mnt/test
root@porteus:/home/guest# mount.exfat /dev/sdb2 /mnt/test
FUSE exfat 1.2.7
ERROR: exFAT file system is not found.
root@porteus:/home/guest# mount.exfat-fuse /dev/sdb2 /mnt/test
FUSE exfat 1.2.7
ERROR: exFAT file system is not found.
root@porteus:/home/guest# 

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can I use Etcher to burn Porteus to my external HD of 320GB, on macOS?

Post#28 by ncmprhnsbl » 01 Aug 2017, 23:21

hmm.. these are well outside my areas of experience.. a search of the forum leads to this http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=145
which might worth a try..
exfat should be mountable... what type of partition table are you using? (MBR,GPT etc)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply