Create a save.dat container

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Jabadu
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2011, 12:45
Location: Germany

Create a save.dat container

Post#1 by Jabadu » 23 Jul 2011, 05:37

Hi, i tried to understand this instruction to create a save.dat container: http://porteus.org/info/docs/57-general ... d-one.html
I did the following steps:
1. i used the Porteus save.dat Manager to create a save.dat file.
2. i edited the end of the append line and inserted the save.dat location.

This screenshot shows both changes: Image

Unfortunatly something has to be wrong. The System doesn t save any changes after restart.
I hope someone can help me?
Regards

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5081
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Create a save.dat container

Post#2 by francois » 23 Jul 2011, 09:08

The howto specifies:
changes=/porteus/0.dat
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Jabadu
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jul 2011, 12:45
Location: Germany

Re: Create a save.dat container

Post#3 by Jabadu » 23 Jul 2011, 12:09

Tx.
Sry, i didn t realise yet,it works the way i installed it. I just looked on my screen resolution. Porteus doesn t save the screen resolution in save.dat. I will create an extra thread for it.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Create a save.dat container

Post#4 by Hamza » 23 Jul 2011, 12:32

Yes,

francois is right! You need to change your porteus.cfg

Replace every 'changes=/porteus/' by 'changes=/mnt/sdb1/0.dat'

Good Luck!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5081
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Create a save.dat container

Post#5 by francois » 24 Jul 2011, 14:14

Jabadu wrote:Tx.
Sry, i didn t realise yet,it works the way i installed it. I just looked on my screen resolution. Porteus doesn t save the screen resolution in save.dat. I will create an extra thread for it.
Sometime there are special driver issues not to complicated to be resolved for the screen to be functional. For example, you may have a nvidia driver. Are you on the 32-bit or 64-bit version of porteus?

If you are in the 32 bit:
click on the left button of the control panel (kde menu), choose system, then superuser mode. A cli or terminal will open. Try the following command that will specify amongst other information your graphic driver:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
...

...
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
...

So, in my case it is the:
Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

Or post the results of lspci.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply