Troubleshoot 26-jun-2017 manual upgrade 3.5 base modules

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Troubleshoot 26-jun-2017 manual upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#1 by francois » 02 Jul 2017, 02:08

Nice to read that pacaur and cower are now in manjaro repo.

Replacing the old modules by the more recent ones and keeping my xfce installation with the additional modules and save changes folder, would you say that my nemesis installation will survive or do I have to build anew the complete desktop and modules?

Information tip on pacman -Syyu :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/pacman
If certain the package exists, your package list may be out-of-date or your repositories may be incorrectly configured. Try running pacman -Syyu to force a refresh of all package lists and upgrade.

Replacing the three old modules and then rebooting:
I do not bootup directry into the desktop environment as before. I have to enter login and password. A few windows left from previous session have to be close because of error message.

Then followed your instruction:

Code: Select all

setup-pman
pacman -Syyu
Output error:

Code: Select all

error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
cryptsetup: /usr/bin/cryptsetup exists in filesystem
networkmanager: /usr/share/dbus-1/interfaces/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.Device.Dummy.xml exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.
root ~ # 
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: [How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#2 by beny » 03 Jul 2017, 17:43

hi francois try the pacman --force option to install what you need.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#3 by francois » 03 Jul 2017, 20:18

Thanks beny. You are right, I should try that advice from you and stifiling. Rationale:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/pa ... 9.22_error
"Failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)" error
... ... Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.
Why this is happening: pacman has detected a file conflict, and by design, will not overwrite files for you... ... problem is usually trivial to solve.
- check if another package owns the file (pacman -Qo /path/to/file) ... ... file a bug report.
- not owned by another package, rename the file which 'exists in filesystem' and re-issue the update command. If all goes well, the file may then be removed.
- if you had installed a program manually without using pacman or a frontend, for example through make install, you have to remove it and all its files and reinstall properly using pacman.. ... files not owned by any package.
- Every installed package provides a /var/lib/pacman/local/$package-$version/files file that contains metadata about this package. If this file gets corrupted, is empty or goes missing, it results in file exists in filesystem errors when trying to update the package. Such an error usually concerns only one package. Instead of manually renaming and later removing all the files that belong to the package in question, you may exceptionally run pacman -S --force $package to force pacman to overwrite these files.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: [How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#4 by ncmprhnsbl » 04 Jul 2017, 05:25

francois wrote:Nice to read that pacaur and cower are now in manjaro repo.
not much use without a functioning development module...
francois wrote:Replacing the old modules by the more recent ones and keeping my xfce installation with the additional modules and save changes folder, would you say that my nemesis installation will survive or do I have to build anew the complete desktop and modules?
there are ways and there are ways :) depending on what is where... so not build anew but upgrade individually:
myself: how i do it: for example: (note i dont use changes at all)
when i do pacman -Syu
i stop(n) and cross check each module via /mnt/live/memory/images/<module>.xzm/var/lib/pacman/local/
to find which package belongs in which module...
eg.
<package(S)toupgrade> is in module foo.xzm
# xzm2dir /path/to/foo.xzm /tmp/foo (i keep each module extracted (in a dedicated partition) to apply the update to, before compressing it(good idea if you have big modules and small ram))
# cp /var/ib/pacman/local/ALPM_DB_VERSION /tmp/foo /var/ib/pacman/local/ (to enable package installation)
# pacman -Sw <package(s)toupgrade (this downloads to cache but doesnt install(make sure there are no other packages in there)
# pacman -Uddr /tmp/foo /var/cache/pacman/pkg/*.pkg.tar.xz (installs any package in the cache to /tmp/foo)
# rm /tmp/foo/var/ib/pacman/local/ALPM_DB_VERSION (not needed any more)
# cd /tmp
# dir2xzm tmp/foo foo.xzm (then replace your old modlue with this)
# rm /var/cache/pacman/pkg/* (clean the cache before doing the next module)

your changes folder should (mostly)only be a problem if it has programs installed into it, that are in other modules...

Code: Select all

cryptsetup: /usr/bin/cryptsetup exists in filesystem
# pacman -Qo /usr/bin/cryptsetup tells me: error: No package owns /usr/bin/cryptsetup
further investigation shows the it is in the kernel.xzm, unattached to a package...
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/core ... ryptsetup/ required by
make me wonder what you have installed that requires cryptsetup package...
# pacman -Qi cryptsetup should tell you in the 'Required By:" line
likewise, networkmanager is in the core module and should be up to date... find and remove it from your module or changes(but not core):
#pacman -Rddr /tmp/foo networkmanager (where /tmp/foo is your extracted module)
if its in changes, then boot without changes(alway fresh) and:
pacman -Rddr /path /to/changes networkmanager
in both cases you (may) need to copy the /var/ib/pacman/local/ALPM_DB_VERSION from your live system first...

as of today, the outstanding package upgrades are:
core: openvpn
gui: mhwd mhwd-db xterm
francois wrote:I do not bootup directry into the desktop environment as before. I have to enter login and password.
this could have something to do with elogind replacing consolekit
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [How to] manually upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#5 by francois » 14 Jul 2017, 17:17

Rereading your last post, I get the same result as you get:

Code: Select all

root ~ # pacman -Qo /usr/bin/cryptsetup tells me: error: No package owns /usr/bin/cryptsetup
error: duplicated database entry 'dconf'
error: No package owns /usr/bin/cryptsetup
error: failed to find 'tells' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: failed to find 'me:' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: failed to find 'error:' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: failed to find 'No' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: failed to find 'package' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: failed to find 'owns' in PATH: No such file or directory
error: No package owns /usr/bin/cryptsetup
root ~ # 
To solve the problem, I renamed offending file to /usr/bin/cryptsetup.bkp.bug
Then:

Code: Select all

root ~ # pacman -Syyu
...

...
( 83/191) upgrading atkmm                          [######################] 100%
( 84/191) upgrading avahi-openrc                   [######################] 100%
( 85/191) upgrading bc                             [######################] 100%
( 86/191) upgrading boost-libs                     [######################] 100%
( 87/191) upgrading cairomm                        [######################] 100%
error: could not create directory /var/lib/pacman/local/dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1/: File exists
error: could not commit transaction
error: failed to commit transaction (transaction aborted)
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.
root ~ # pacman -Qi dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1
error: package 'dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1' was not found
root ~ # 

Code: Select all

root ~ # pacman -Qi dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1
error: package 'dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1' was not found
root ~ # 
To solve the problem, I renamed offending folder to /var/lib/pacman/local/dconf-0.26.0+1+g701d19d-1.bkp.bug/

Then pacman -Syyu worked just fine.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Troubleshoot 26-jun-2017 manual upgrade 3.5 base modules

Post#6 by francois » 14 Jul 2017, 19:02

Now this was one thing to upgrade the whole system. It will be another one to upgrade package by package as per the procedure you have provided. I will come back at it in another occasion. Interesting to do it to understand a little more how the system works. But it might be easier to build the xfce desktop from scratch from the base system.

I am dam so slow brain and finger wise when it comes to linux.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply