Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
rolands.optibet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 12:59
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0
Location: Latvia

Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#1 by rolands.optibet » 10 May 2017, 07:16

I created a customized ISO using Porteus Kiosk Wizard.

In customization process I enabled "SSH Service" under section ""Additional components". Also I enabled VNC access.
The password I entered for SSH was very simple : abc123.

After all, I can make a VNC session, but can not make SSH session.
I get an error: "Permission denied, please try again."

I even tried this solution, but it does not work : viewtopic.php?f=127&t=3264

With version 3.7.0 I have no such an issue.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 May 2017, 08:45

Hello rolands,

I used to connect to kiosk through ssh 100 times every day and never experienced such issue. Did you modify the ISO in any way?
If yes then please try stock kiosk ISO and i'm sure it will work so you can blame your customizations. If not then please post your kiosk config here removing sensitive data like passwords, etc.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

rolands.optibet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 12:59
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0
Location: Latvia

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#3 by rolands.optibet » 11 May 2017, 10:42

Hi,

Here you can download customized ISO : https://files.fm/u/yms9pq2e

And here is the config:

connection=wired
network_interface=eth0
dhcp=yes
proxy=
browser=firefox
root_password=abc123
additional_components=uefi.zip 08-ssh.xzm


Very simple, but can not login via SSH.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#4 by fanthom » 11 May 2017, 11:00

Your ISO works perfectly fine here.

Perhaps you are trying to log into different PC than kiosk? Set static IP in the wizard if you want to be sure.

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

rolands.optibet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 12:59
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0
Location: Latvia

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#5 by rolands.optibet » 12 May 2017, 07:15

Checked. The IP is correct.

The kiosk is booting via PXE.

Very strange that you do not have the same issue with the same config.
fanthom wrote:Your ISO works perfectly fine here.

Perhaps you are trying to log into different PC than kiosk? Set static IP in the wizard if you want to be sure.

Thanks

rolands.optibet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 12:59
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0
Location: Latvia

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#6 by rolands.optibet » 12 May 2017, 07:27

Hmm, I noticed that:
1. Booting via ISO - SSH access works
2. Booting via PXE - SSH access does not works.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#7 by fanthom » 12 May 2017, 08:50

Just checked and ssh works without problems when kiosk is booted over PXE.

Please set static IP for kiosk in the wizard. System will use dhcp to download kernel, modules, etc during PXE stage and then switch to static IP when kiosk is running.
There is possibility that you mixed up kiosk ISOs and different one is loaded to the clients. Please delete everything and start from scratch with single kiosk ISO only.

I have no other ideas.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

rolands.optibet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 12:59
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0
Location: Latvia

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#8 by rolands.optibet » 12 May 2017, 12:40

And you are able to login using password "abc123" ?
fanthom wrote:Just checked and ssh works without problems when kiosk is booted over PXE.

Please set static IP for kiosk in the wizard. System will use dhcp to download kernel, modules, etc during PXE stage and then switch to static IP when kiosk is running.
There is possibility that you mixed up kiosk ISOs and different one is loaded to the clients. Please delete everything and start from scratch with single kiosk ISO only.

I have no other ideas.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 4.3.0 SSH access

Post#9 by fanthom » 13 May 2017, 14:00

Yes
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply