Where's App I Installed?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
johnywhy
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

Where's App I Installed?

Post#1 by johnywhy » 30 Mar 2017, 05:22

hi

i downloaded and installed Chromium using the package manager.
then i opened modules folder, and double-clicked the Chromium module.
i got the "loaded successfully" alert.

but i do not see Chromium in the application menu.
how to launch Chromium?

thx

johnywhy
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#2 by johnywhy » 30 Mar 2017, 05:51

solved-- i also had to launch wide-vine, a chromium dependency.

question: is there a way to automatically launch all dependencies, instead of manually?
i might not even know what they are.

thx

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3412
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#3 by Ed_P » 30 Mar 2017, 06:12

johnywhy wrote:i downloaded and installed Chromium using the package manager.
Which package manager? USM?
johnywhy wrote:question: is there a way to automatically launch all dependencies, instead of manually?
2 options. 1. Put them all in the modules folder. or 2. combine the base app and it's dependencies together as a single module, which is the approach USM provides.
i might not even know what they are.
USM should show you what dependencies an app requires, which is why I asked what package manager you used.
Ed

johnywhy
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#4 by johnywhy » 30 Mar 2017, 06:19

i'm using the built in package manager, USM.
when i did the download, i picked the "module" option, rather than the "folder" option.
i see, in the modules folder, the Chromium module and the wide-vine module.

update, now i'm getting chromium in applications menu, even if i do not start widevine.
strange!

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#5 by Bogomips » 30 Mar 2017, 11:14

^ All modules in the modules folder will be activated. To ensure that module will not be activated need something like Boot Parameter (cheatcode) noload=Chromium in the prteus.cfg file. Please see http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... -them.html
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3412
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#6 by Ed_P » 30 Mar 2017, 14:06

johnywhy wrote:update, now i'm getting chromium in applications menu, even if i do not start widevine.
All .xzm modules in the modules folder load and activate automatically when Porteus boots.

If you have a module that you don't want to activate when you boot you can use the noload cheatcode Bogomips mentioned, or rename the module's extention, make it .xyzm rather than .xzm for example, or put it in the optional folder.
Ed

johnywhy
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Mar 2017, 17:26
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Cali

Re: Where's App I Installed?

Post#7 by johnywhy » 30 Mar 2017, 21:22

Now it all makes sense.

I was confused cuz Porteus description page says something like "activate features on-demand by double clicking".

I did notice I could do that. But, if everything in the folder is activated on boot, that's a slightly different scenario.

Maybe they should revise the description?

Thx guys.

Post Reply