[Solved] Can not enter GUI

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.

[Solved] Can not enter GUI

Postby yale » 21 Mar 2017, 04:01

When I boot the Porteus 3.2.2 xfce, sometimes the blakc CLI screen appears and doesn't go on any more.
So, I am not able to go in GUI despite of several reboots.

Now, Below screen displays repeatedly.
How can I enter the GUI?

Image
Last edited by yale on 28 Mar 2017, 15:43, edited 1 time in total.
yale
White ninja
White ninja
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 11:26
Location: Seoul
Distribution: 3.2.2

Re: Can not enter GUI

Postby Ed_P » 21 Mar 2017, 05:25

Sounds familiar. respawning too fast
Ed
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 2731
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 23:12
Location: Western NY, USA
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.* 64-bit ISO

Re: Can not enter GUI

Postby Blaze » 21 Mar 2017, 17:49

Use this cheat code acpi=off in /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg

Find
Code: Select all
LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus

Replace with
Code: Select all
LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus acpi=off

or better update kernel /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz and kernel-firmwares /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
>>> Look at these posts
plus as bonus you can tweak this script :)
>>> Small fix for next Porteus (new option acpi=off)
Linux porteus 4.10.8-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Apr 1 22:30:16 BRT 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
User avatar
Blaze
Warlord
Warlord
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 12:31
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64

Re: Can not enter GUI

Postby yale » 28 Mar 2017, 15:43

I don't know the technical reason, but whenever I met that screen above, I could enter the GUI by just login and typing 'startx'.
yale
White ninja
White ninja
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 11:26
Location: Seoul
Distribution: 3.2.2


Return to Bug Reports



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests