[Solved] How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

[Solved] How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#1 by yale » 16 Mar 2017, 14:25

I'm a novice in linux. I don't know the elementary command in Linux.
But I come to like the Porteus, unfortunately. TT

I need someone who can help me to write Korean in Porteus.

Of course, to write Korean I installed 'ibus-hangul' and 'scim' properly, but it doesn't work at all. :wall:
I couldn't put in the Korean language though the Input Methods above are installed well by modules(I can see them in the Menu).
Through the ibus and scim, I switched to the Korean text but the English is only available.

I need help from the experts.
For reference, there is no problem in reading Korean in the web cause i copied and pasted *.ttf into the TTF folder.
Last edited by yale on 28 Mar 2017, 14:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#2 by Blaze » 16 Mar 2017, 15:31

Hi yale.
Welcome on the board.
Do you use this cheatcode kmap=us,kr in the /mnt/sdxX(your partition)/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg?

You can check this via command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
If this cheat code is absent
open as root /mnt/sdxX(your partition)/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg and find

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus
and replace with

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus kmap=us,kr
or another way - open terminal and type these commands

Code: Select all

su
toor
sed -i 's|changes=/porteus|changes=/porteus kmap=us,kr|g' $BOOTDEV/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg
reboot
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3203
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#3 by Ed_P » 16 Mar 2017, 16:04

Do note yale that the "sed" line is all one line not two like it may appear in the window.

And a very detailed and clever approach Blaze. :good:
Ed

yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#4 by yale » 17 Mar 2017, 02:08

Thank you for all your kindness, Blaze, Ed.

But i'm so sorry to say that it doesn't work yet.

I tried exactly the instructions that Blaze gave, but the Korean input is not available.

I need help.

(and how can i upload the screenshots on the board?)

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#5 by Blaze » 17 Mar 2017, 06:37

yale wrote:(and how can i upload the screenshots on the board?)
Look at this post

For example you can use this service http://tinypic.com
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#6 by Evan » 18 Mar 2017, 09:42

I could be wrong but i read his post as wanting a Korean language for the porteus desktop and menus and not just the keyboard map.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#7 by Blaze » 18 Mar 2017, 09:56

yale, heh, it's localization or input problem?
What is Desktop environment do you use (KDE5, XFCE, MATE, Cinnamon)?
You are have done localization via 'Porteus Settings Centre' in the 'Language setup' tab?
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#8 by yale » 20 Mar 2017, 05:54

Blaze wrote:yale, heh, it's localization or input problem?
What is Desktop environment do you use (KDE5, XFCE, MATE, Cinnamon)?
You are have done localization via 'Porteus Settings Centre' in the 'Language setup' tab?
1.
I mean the input problem.
Also, the menu displays only English. But it doesn't matter. I want put in the Korean.

2.
And my environment is porteus 3.2.2 xfce 64bit.

3.
In my desktop, language tab is not available, but i guess there is no problem in locale.
I've experienced same problem in other linux system like Bodhi, Puppy, Crunchbang, but i soleved it after a few hour struggles.
But in Porteus it seems to be impossible though it is the most interesting Linux I've seen.
(Also i'm in trouble in Putting IN Korean in Tiny Linux)


4.
Here is my desktop screenshot.
You can see that my settings of Scim, keyboard.
I'm looking forward to good news from the Experts.
Image

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 728
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#9 by beny » 20 Mar 2017, 13:21

hi yale, open porteus setting centre tab the second icon choose the english language only for the instruction after you can choose your language,wait until the package is ready and reboot.

yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#10 by yale » 21 Mar 2017, 05:40

beny wrote:hi yale, open porteus setting centre tab the second icon choose the english language only for the instruction after you can choose your language,wait until the package is ready and reboot.
Thanx to Beny, I can see the desktop-menu in korean language.
But there is no change that i could not put in Korean language

All that I want is just put in (write) Korean in Porteus.

I really appreciate to all the replies.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 728
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#11 by beny » 21 Mar 2017, 16:25

hi yale, in the porteus setting centre when you choose the korean language you can also set the keyboard for your language and the input for the korean language too.porteus have this.. when you set a language the last language is what you can use,maybe you can do a modules with the languages that you need and put into the optional folder,but if you can activate this when you need..

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#12 by Blaze » 21 Mar 2017, 16:58

yale, if you manual set your keyboard layout - don't use cheat code kmap=us,kr
because this cheat code (for automatically setting of keyboard layout) is disable your manual settings for keyboard layout.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

Re: How to write Korean in Porteus ?

Post#13 by yale » 28 Mar 2017, 08:06

[Solved]

At last, i've succeeded to write Korean in Porteus.
Thanks to all your help, I've come to using the most interesting linux.
Althouh I don't know exatly what caused me to be able to write Korean in this system,
I wannt to leave the footprint for the beginners who might want to use Porteus in Korean language.

1. To read the Korean language.
1.1. Install the firefox through the USM (In my machine, the chromium is incomplete to write Korean)
1.2. Go to the webpage "hangeul.naver.com/share.nhn" and download the 'nanum fonts' and copy them to the 'usr/share/fonts/TTF'.
(Through the USM, it is impossible to download the fonts 'nanum'. So, I have to this process manually)
1.3. Now you can read the Korean webpage. Do not need to reboot.

2. To Write the Korean language.
2.1. Through 'system - porteus setting center', install the korean language and check the keyboard setting (104key compatible), check to download
non-latin (wqy-zinhei), and check the download 'scim input'.
2.2. With USM, download the all libraries on 'hangul'. It's about 'ibus-hangul', 'libhangul', 'scim-hangul'
and then copy the modules on 'hangul'
2.3 reboot.

3. Above written is all I did to read and write Korean in Porteus, I guess.

Post Reply