changing HOSTNAME results in "No protocol specified" at boot

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

changing HOSTNAME results in "No protocol specified" at boot

Post#1 by rych » 10 Mar 2017, 06:00

In Porteus 3.2.2 64 XFCE, when I use this script https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=6015 or manually edit the /etc/HOSTNAME file, and reboot, I receive a long list of "No protocol specified" messages at boot time, and it won't boot Xorg for a long while then. It eventually starts the GUI but at the next reboot the same 10 minutes delay of printing "No protocol specified" on console. I suspect I need to also delete some cashed old value or tmp file or something?

The reason I'd like to change the hostname from "porteus" is that I don't want this name to be present on the network. Or I shouldn't bother? Does this name identify this machine in the network at all?

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 571
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: changing HOSTNAME results in "No protocol specified" at

Post#2 by tome » 12 Mar 2017, 13:25

Try edit '/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf'

YonZeroYon
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Mar 2017, 04:23
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Japan

Re: changing HOSTNAME results in "No protocol specified" at

Post#3 by YonZeroYon » 23 Mar 2017, 06:11

According to https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?p=52841#p52841
<warn> keyfile: 'hostname' option is deprecated and has no effect
// update
I use rootcopy/etc/HOSTNAME to change my hostname,
I too encountered with "No protocol specified" randomly, that is when saving VirtualBox-5.0.36-porteus-v3.2.2-x86_64-1prt.xzm in modules instead of base

Post Reply