Does Slackware need a Root Account?

Non release banter
Locked
Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Does Slackware need a Root Account?

Post#1 by Evan » 04 Mar 2017, 23:47

Distributions like Mint don't have a root account you can Log into , they just use a standard single user account and password with the su command for root access.

Over the last few months i've got into the habit of using the su command and no longer log into the root account of Linux Distributions as i've never had the need too.

I wondered if Slackware needs a root account as one less account is quicker to setup and you only need to remember one password.
Last edited by Evan on 08 Mar 2017, 01:43, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4932
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#2 by francois » 05 Mar 2017, 01:07

The root account is what keeps me with porteus and slackware. I hate those distributions that put a lot of energy and care to keep you out of root mode. :evil:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#3 by Evan » 05 Mar 2017, 01:28

LOL , i have noticed people on other forums getting riled and annoyed at the lack of a root account and point blank refusing to use the su command for root access. :)

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#4 by burdi01 » 05 Mar 2017, 10:48


Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#5 by Evan » 05 Mar 2017, 12:30

You don't need root icons if you just type su:password from the guest account? Image

:D
Last edited by Evan on 06 Mar 2017, 00:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#6 by brokenman » 05 Mar 2017, 13:44

I agree 100%. Porteus doesn't need a root account. There are other ways to get things done. Having said that, my car doesn't need air conditioning either. If someone took it away, it would be something I would notice every day and I probably wouldn't be happy about it.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#7 by Evan » 06 Mar 2017, 00:06

As Porteus follows the Slackware structure i suppose "Does Slackware need a Root Account? would have been a fairer topic.

Slackware doesn't do drastic changes so i can't see that happening any time soon.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 723
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#8 by beny » 06 Mar 2017, 12:45

in slackware i use the root account because it is a bit strange with the permission rules,in arch i use the user account simple to manage that it is,but the root account used like a universal key.... brokenman the hard coded option are a developper choice,you have to think people follow or not your choice,but if this it is difficult to change people give up and give up also aufs...

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4932
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#9 by francois » 07 Mar 2017, 16:41

I understand brokenman's which takes about position as for Linux best practices. :good:


And maybe, I should not have intervene on that sensible and conflictual topic. I might be on the side of a minority of users. :oops:

I appreciate beny's opinion which provides on the subject some shades of greys. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Does Porteus need a Root Account?

Post#10 by brokenman » 08 Mar 2017, 01:37

There is no choice for me to make and, therefore, no choice to follow. Porteus doesn't NEED a root account, but it has one available for those that want to use it. If you don't want to use it then you simply log in as guest. If you feel it is a security risk having it enabled than editing the password file to disable it is simple enough.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Does Slackware need a Root Account?

Post#11 by Evan » 08 Mar 2017, 01:49

I've changed the topic as to make it fairer as Portues follows the slackware structure, this was always about a General discussion of opinions , hence why it's posted in General chat

At no point was it a suggestion that porteus should change , just an attempt at starting a General discussion of pros and cons of a Root account while others have decided to change and move away from this.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Does Slackware need a Root Account?

Post#12 by Evan » 08 Mar 2017, 02:00

https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=6186&

Infact this topic can be locked or removed as from the link above the topic is already exists for discussion.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4932
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Does Slackware need a Root Account?

Post#13 by francois » 08 Mar 2017, 02:12

Locking the topic as requested by the initiator of the thread.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Locked