Nvidia 7150M

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
dwang
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Feb 2017, 09:38
Distribution: Kiosk 4.2
Location: USA

Nvidia 7150M

Post#1 by dwang » 11 Feb 2017, 09:48

Hi,
Trying to boot Porteus Kiosk 4.2 from USB. I've successfully installed PK on other laptops. On this particular machine, it boots fine, but the image is very messed up. The left part of the screen is repeated, and the screen is off-center.

I've tried both 4.2 regular and cloud, with the same results. 3.7 works fine.

I saw something about installing custom Nvidia drivers in the Porteus section; not sure if that applies with PK.

Any ideas?
Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Nvidia 7150M

Post#2 by fanthom » 11 Feb 2017, 10:17

Hello dwang,

Please enable debug mode during installation:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/news/150829/report.png

boot the kiosk and send debug report to support@porteus-kiosk.org.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dwang
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Feb 2017, 09:38
Distribution: Kiosk 4.2
Location: USA

Re: Nvidia 7150M

Post#3 by dwang » 11 Feb 2017, 21:50

That may be hard to do. RIght when I boot kiosk from USB (to install into HD), I get this:

https://goo.gl/photos/VjKChCpW91g8RkLfA

https://goo.gl/photos/StQe5dByAQkeE3q96
This is the mouse all the way to the left.

If I move it to the right, I get this:
https://goo.gl/photos/hjFmyMX87tkUCp2dA

And pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del:
https://goo.gl/photos/QhTWvnPwFcMC4hvB9

So I'm not sure how to even enable debugging mode, unless there's some command-line way to do it, in the startup options, etc?

Thanks,
David

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Nvidia 7150M

Post#4 by fanthom » 12 Feb 2017, 08:36

Hello David,

Please do as follows:

a) install the kiosk on usb stick on some other PC where its working correctly

b) during installation please associate your kiosk with my Server:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/news/151128/server.png

Please use following parameters:

Code: Select all

kiosk_server=porteus1.ddns.net:443
client_id=5023
root_password=some_password
vnc_password=some_password
vnc_interactive=yes
additional_components=08-ssh.xzm 09-x11vnc.xzm
c) Please boot he stick on affected PC and send notification to support@porteus-kiosk.org when its ready

d) Make sure your company firewall allows accessing porteus1.ddns.net domain

Hopefully i'll have a ssh and vnc access to your kiosk and be able to debug this issue.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply