Cinnamon just crashed.

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3156
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#1 by Ed_P » 10 Feb 2017, 17:45

Running in Fallback Mode.

Occurring with Cinnamon 64-bit 3.2.1 and 3.2.2 in all modes including Always Fresh. Problem started about a week ago. Not sure why.

I've tried the cache-module, slim approach but it hasn't resolved the problem.

-update-

Booting ISOs using grub2.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2540
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Cinnamon has crashed

Post#2 by Bogomips » 10 Feb 2017, 22:01

^ Bound to be the Changes. Always more trouble than it's worth. :twisted:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Cinnamon has crashed

Post#3 by Evan » 10 Feb 2017, 23:34

Cinnamon crashes for me with the current Nvidia module.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3156
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#4 by Ed_P » 11 Feb 2017, 01:03

Well, I've just booted Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit from a USB flash drive where it is installed, and using a changes file, and it booted!! In fact I am posting from it. So whatever drivers are in 3.2.2 do support the Dell notebook.

So why are the ISO boots failing??? They worked up until a week ago, then had problems for a day then worked ok for most of the week and now this problem. :%)

:wall:

-update-

Actually the flash drive boot did not use a changes file. But some of the ISO boots that failed with the "Cinnamon just crashed." error were booted in Always Fresh mode so no changes file.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2540
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#5 by Bogomips » 11 Feb 2017, 12:35

So now it's clear. Not Porteus Cinnamon, but it's the desktop that tells you it's crashed.

One gets the option then to restart Cinnamon. Does this then work?


P.S. Should this issue now not be discussed under Cinnamon Desktop?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
normalGuy
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 48
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 23:36
Distribution: porteus 3.2 xfce archBang
Location: uk & portugal

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#6 by normalGuy » 11 Feb 2017, 16:09

Ed_P wrote: -update-

Booting ISOs using grub2.
Hello
Ed_P can you please share your grub2 configs and menus, I'm having a trouble with that.

Thanks.

jssouza
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 179
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#7 by jssouza » 11 Feb 2017, 17:41

Hi Ed_P,

Could it be that there is a mismatch between the kernel that you boot from grub and the 000-kernel.xzm within the iso?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3156
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#8 by Ed_P » 11 Feb 2017, 17:56

Bogomips wrote:One gets the option then to restart Cinnamon. Does this then work?
No. And not sure this is a Cinnamon problem.
jssouza wrote:Could it be that there is a mismatch between the kernel that you boot from grub and the 000-kernel.xzm within the iso?
No. Everything is in the ISO.

BTW The problem has now changed to hanging on:

Code: Select all

searching for porteus-v3.2.2-x86_64.sgn
:wall:
normalGuy wrote: Ed_P can you please share your grub2 configs and menus, I'm having a trouble with that.
This thread may help you with that. viewtopic.php?f=140&t=6557&hilit=grub2win
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2540
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#9 by Bogomips » 11 Feb 2017, 18:41

Ed_P wrote:

Code: Select all

searching for porteus-v3.2.2-x86_64.sgn
:wall:
Run with debug on kernel command line and video what you get. 8)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3156
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#10 by Ed_P » 11 Feb 2017, 21:16

Resolved the searching error by adding a delay=8 cheatcode so now my slow, new Dell Inspiron 13 4 GB RAM 1TB hdd can keep up. :%)

I tried delay=5 before but that didn't work. :unknown:

Never get these problems with my old Acer netbook.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2540
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#11 by Bogomips » 12 Feb 2017, 18:43

Ed_P wrote:new Dell Inspiron 13 4 GB RAM 1TB hdd can keep up. :%)
Talking cold boot?

Takes under 15" for my not so brand new model usb2.0 external 3TB disk to come on line after plugging in, so suppose yours is par for the course. :D

BTW how planning to back up spanking new 1TB HD?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3156
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Cinnamon just crashed.

Post#12 by Ed_P » 13 Feb 2017, 05:27

Bogomips wrote:
Ed_P wrote:new Dell Inspiron 13 4 GB RAM 1TB hdd can keep up. :%)
Talking cold boot?
I'm saying that booting Porteus ISOs, on my hard drive, via grub2, requires adding a delay of 8 seconds to my Porteus boot parms. So the quick boot on the Dell is now similar to the boot on the Acer. WHY I need to slow down the boot process on the newer, faster notebook is beyond me at this point.

Things I have learned with this experience:

1. To help determine blank screen booting errors with Porteus ISOs it helps to add a "nomodeset verbose" options to the Porteus cheatcodes. And "set gfxpayload=1024x768" to the grub2 code for the ISO booting.

2. With the above debugging steps the Cinnamon DE aborts with "Cinnamon just crashed".

3. So do step 1 to find the cause of the blank screen problem. Implement the blank screen fix and delete the debug changes.
Takes under 15" for my not so brand new model usb2.0 external 3TB disk to come on line after plugging in, so suppose yours is par for the course. :D
At this point I believe mine is close to that.
BTW how planning to back up spanking new 1TB HD?
I've got some old USB flash drives. :D

Actually I divided the usable part of the HD into 4 partitions. These go with the 3 other partitions that are on the drive for EFI and Recovery and Dell System. With my 4 partitions, 1 is for the Windows OS, one is for my Data files, which include all my ISOs, one is for my normal Windows backups and one is for the Windows backup I made after I updated the original Windows 10 system to 10.1 which took days. Periodically I do a Windows backup to a 1 TB USB HD.

And while backups to the hard drive that may fail are risky, backups that aren't convenient aren't done. And sometimes hard drives that fail fail on the C: drive and not the other drives. Situations both of which occurred to family netbooks within the past year.
Ed

Post Reply