Network Delay

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
JesseR
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 17:39
Distribution: porteus
Location: Connetquotlibrary

Network Delay

Post#1 by JesseR » 25 Jan 2017, 17:48

I am new to porteus, I have been using it for a few months now.

I have a question about the network connection. is there a way to delay the executeing of the config until the network connection to the lan has been established?

here is the problem, i have old cisco switches, which take about 30 seconds to provide a live internet connection to a computer that has just booted.

this is the line having a problem.

browser_preferences=http://mywebsitehere/opacs/opacconfig.txt

when the computers boot, it throws an error because it can't find the text file.

as a test, I connected one of the computers to a different switch and it works without a problem.

so all I need is a on boot delay of about 30 seconds.

is there a setting like that?

Thanks!
Jesse

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1387
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Network Delay

Post#2 by Blaze » 25 Jan 2017, 17:58

JesseR wrote:so all I need is a on boot delay of about 30 seconds.

is there a setting like that?
Yes. Try delay=30 in /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg

For example

LABEL GRAPHICAL section
....
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus delay=30

Cheers
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

JesseR
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 17:39
Distribution: porteus
Location: Connetquotlibrary

Re: Network Delay

Post#3 by JesseR » 25 Jan 2017, 19:23

I don't know enough about linux to be able to do that. is there anything I can add to the config file?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Network Delay

Post#4 by fanthom » 25 Jan 2017, 20:11

Hello Jesse,

You should post in kiosk section of the forum or at least indicate that you are using kiosk to not confuse Porteus Desktop users.

To resolve your problem you could use 'run_command=sleep 30' parameter. More info:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/parameters.html#run_command

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

JesseR
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 17:39
Distribution: porteus
Location: Connetquotlibrary

Re: Network Delay

Post#5 by JesseR » 25 Jan 2017, 21:18

Thanks that worked for me!

Post Reply