[Solved] using vesa driver on second try

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

[Solved] using vesa driver on second try

Post#1 by rych » 22 Jan 2017, 00:35

Hi,
I've tried my older Porteus USB stick on a new computer and it said something like: Xorg failed to load, using vesa driver on second try.

Now, I'm back to my usual computer and am noticing severe typing lags in some of my editors and the video files don't play in the media player as they used to.

I suspect that Porteus has switched me to some compatibility video driver permanently. How do I revert to the original settings? Which configuration files should I look and edit to?

I'm not even sure what my original driver was but it worked beautifully. So I want to tell Porteus it's okay to use it again.
Last edited by rych on 23 Jan 2017, 05:02, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: using vesa driver on second try

Post#2 by donald » 22 Jan 2017, 02:17

run

Code: Select all

rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
reboot

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: using vesa driver on second try

Post#3 by brokenman » 22 Jan 2017, 13:16

Kia Ora,

We will need some information on the video card to troubleshoot. A system information dump from the porteus-settings-centre would be the best way to progress.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: using vesa driver on second try

Post#4 by rych » 23 Jan 2017, 05:01

donald wrote:

Code: Select all

rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
reboot
It worked! Nice and simple. Thank you, @donald!
brokenman wrote:information on the video card to troubleshoot
Hi @brokenman, I won't bother you with this further as it is an old Porteus 2.1 and I just plug it into various newer machines to see if it works. I was just surprised that simply booting into a "wrong" computer affects my default best video settings/driver. But here, it's easy to restore. I'll soon be doing this with the newest porteus and will let you know if there's a problem. Thanks

Post Reply