Stuck

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
beeztem
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Jan 2017, 03:20
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon
Location: Wisconsin, United States of America
Contact:

Stuck

Post#1 by beeztem » 21 Jan 2017, 03:32

I install porteus onto a usb, it loads, but I am stuck here:
http://i.imgur.com/YkLgCRr.jpg

Any help?

I am using the latest porteus cinnamon.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#2 by Blaze » 21 Jan 2017, 09:30

Hi beeztem.

Try to disable ACPI option and enable Virtualization or Virtual option in BIOS.
Use acpi=off cheat code in /mnt/partition_with_Porteus/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg

Example in the LABEL GRAPHICAL section

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus acpi=off
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

beeztem
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Jan 2017, 03:20
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon
Location: Wisconsin, United States of America
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#3 by beeztem » 23 Jan 2017, 02:07

Blaze wrote:Hi beeztem.

Try to disable ACPI option and enable Virtualization or Virtual option in BIOS.
Use acpi=off cheat code in /mnt/partition_with_Porteus/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg

Example in the LABEL GRAPHICAL section

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus acpi=off
I tried this, same thing

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#4 by Blaze » 23 Jan 2017, 15:20

What is model of your PC (motherboard, cpu and etc) or laptop?
BTW, try again to install Porteus.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

beeztem
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Jan 2017, 03:20
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon
Location: Wisconsin, United States of America
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#5 by beeztem » 23 Jan 2017, 15:58

Blaze wrote:What is model of your PC (motherboard, cpu and etc) or laptop?
Is there an easy way to find this?
Blaze wrote:BTW, try again to install Porteus.
I have reinstalled it 3 times, no change.

P.S. I was using Kali Linux alongside Windows for a year, just wanted a more "useful" O.S. for once.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#6 by Blaze » 23 Jan 2017, 16:17

beeztem wrote:Is there an easy way to find this?
In Kali Linux as root user run these commands

Code: Select all

lscpu
dmidecode -t 2
lspci
cat /proc/scsi/scsi
and copy logs of these commands to this topic
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

beeztem
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Jan 2017, 03:20
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon
Location: Wisconsin, United States of America
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#7 by beeztem » 23 Jan 2017, 16:25

Blaze wrote:
beeztem wrote:Is there an easy way to find this?
In Kali Linux as root user run these commands

Code: Select all

lscpu
dmidecode -t 2
lspci
cat /proc/scsi/scsi
and copy logs of these commands to this topic
Kinda hard... I made the "change" I didn't want Kali so I mighta gotten rid of zed data... Therefore Porteus is on the old Kali usb.

But... I have found it: https://www.amazon.co.uk/HP-CQ58-256SA- ... B008X2I8CY but with windows 10.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Stuck

Post#8 by Blaze » 23 Jan 2017, 17:49

beeztem, in BIOS of your laptop you will need to DISABLE "Secure Boot" and ENABLE "Legacy Support" in the "BIOS Secure Boot configuration" on the settings page similar to what is shown below, before you can attempt to install Porteus.
Image
Press "F10" and click "YES" to "Exit Saving Changes".
Tap "F9" or "ESC" and then "F9" when prompted.
Highlight the Porteus boot source you are using and press "ENTER".
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply