[SOLVED] no connection with Intel Ethernet I217-LM

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#16 by rych » 02 Feb 2017, 06:50

@fonald
I did what you said, built, replaced and activated the new e1000e. Then I'm back to the same question
What would be a complete and reliable way to restart networking?
I did

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop
killall nm-applet
/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager start
nm-applet&
ping 8.8.8.8
The network is still unreachable. One possible reason could be this:

Apparently a newer e1000e also requires a newer e1000 basic driver from http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ ... 06866.html:

The e1000e source comes with this README https://downloadmirror.intel.com/15817/eng/README.txt. It says that
If your version of e1000 is 7.6.15.5 or less, upgrade to e1000 version
8.x, using the instructions in the e1000 README.
Porteus comes with a very old e1000 driver. I tried to build it too, but it couldn't find a header file from linux/ standard subfolder maybe not included in crippled_sources.xzm.

So this experiment is incomplete as I couldn't replace the e1000 so I shouldn't expect the new e1000e to work. Also, I'm still not sure the network is properly restarted and is picking up the new driver.

What should I do next?
Perhaps, a relevant question: why does Porteus or distibutions it's based on ship with many years old e1000 and e1000e drivers?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#17 by donald » 02 Feb 2017, 07:06

Hmm..
I would not restart the network...just replace the driver...(modprobe > lsmod > modinfo)
to check if in use, if yes try to ping the router...then 8.8.8.8..

OK, i will read the links.

In the meantime,
can you boot a *buntu live-CD, does your ethernet work then?, and if yes,
which drivers and version does buntu use?

EDIT
Sometimes i do things in an awkward way to find something out..( I have Backups )
Example:
setup a 2nd thumb drive (ext2 + changes) > replace the driver > shut down >
restart > now the network will grab the new driver = no need to restart it.
But of course this doesn't mean that it will work..

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#18 by rych » 04 Feb 2017, 05:07

I'v replaced the e1000e with teh new one that I had built and restarted. It got picked up, according to modinfo, but the network is still not working. Logs show that e1000e: eth1 Nic Link is up 100 Mbps, but then also NetworkManager:dhcp4(eth1) request timeout and Activation failed.

frederick
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Jan 2017, 16:31
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 Mate 32bit
Location: toronto

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#19 by frederick » 04 Feb 2017, 06:43

Was having almost the same problem. Turned out it was not the net card nor the modules, but the kernel and net manager. A quick way to check.

Reboot into always fresh. Forget about nm-applet!

As you already did, in terminal as root:

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager status
Make sure network manager is not running.

Again, in terminal as root

Code: Select all

ifconfig eth0 down

ifconfig eth0 up

dhcpcd eth0
You'll know if you get an ip or not.
Good luck!

frederick

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#20 by donald » 05 Feb 2017, 21:29

I agree
As outlined in this post
http://forum.slitaz.org/topic/slitaz-ro ... post-44051
Ethernet support was added to e1000e driver for i217 ethernet controller in 3.5 kernel series.
Only the new e1000e was necessary to make the card work.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#21 by rych » 06 Feb 2017, 05:06

Not sure if you guys are telling me to replace the e1000e or not, so I did what @frederick suggested for both shipped (3.2.6-k) and new one that I'd built, 3.3.5.3. The result is negative in both cases anyway.

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop (*double checked)
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd eth0
output:
eth0: soliciting a DHCP lease
eth0: soliciting an IPv6 router
eth0: probing for an IPv4LL address
eth0: using IPv4LL address ???.254.156.56
eth0: adding route to ???.254.0.0/16
forked to background, child pid 1393

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager start (*optional, doesn't affect below) 
ping 8.8.8.8
... Network is unreachable
The same result is with 3.3.5.3, only eth0 gets renamed to eth1 for some reason. But as far as I understand, I'm getting an IP address with dhcpcd, right? And some new(?) messages in the log files, perhaps, irrelevant, like
eth1: no IPv6 Routers available
or from NetworkManager:
<warn> firewall[0x1b2e2e0]: could not connect to system D-Bus (Timeout was reached)
<warn> Failed to connect to D-Bus; only private bus is available
<error> dispatcher: could not get dispatcher proxy! Timeout was reached
<warn> keyfile: 'hostname' option is deprecated and has no effect
<error> auth: could not get polkit proxy: Timeout was reached
<warn> sleep-monitor-ck: failed to acquire D-Bus proxy: Timeout was reached
<warn> error getting bus connection: Timeout was reached
Current questions: do I replace the e1000e or not? Do you like the output of my dhcpcd eth0? What should I do next?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#22 by donald » 06 Feb 2017, 12:18

I'm getting an IP address with dhcpcd, right?
Wait ~10 seconds and then see output of ifconfig eth0
if you got an IP address like --> inet 192.168.xxx.xx
or with

Code: Select all

ip addr show | grep inet
if not, try dhclient eth0 to force getting an address.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#23 by rych » 06 Feb 2017, 13:20

I thought I already got a proper IP with

Code: Select all

dhcpcd eth0
...eth0: using IPv4LL address 168.254.156.56
Or is it wrong? Must be wrong, because having it doesn't bring up the network anyway.

I'll check that IP again tomorrow with a 10 sec wait and ifconfig eth0 or ip addr show | grep inet, and then dhclient eth0

Should I be doing this with the old or the new e1000e driver?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#24 by donald » 06 Feb 2017, 19:47

IP's from the range 168.254.x.x are an indication that an address
has not been obtained from the DHCP.

IPv4LL = Link-local addresses

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#25 by rych » 09 Feb 2017, 05:26

Wait ~10 seconds and then see output of ifconfig eth0
if you got an IP address like --> inet 192.168.xxx.xx
...
if not, try dhclient eth0 to force getting an address.
OK, I've tried again running (with 10 sec intervals)

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd eth0
with each version of e1000e.ko. After 10sec ifconfig still shows the same 169.254.x.x. Then I ran again

Code: Select all

dhcpcd eth0
When it finally returns, ifconfig eth0 now misses a "inet x.x.x.x" line altogether. inet6 is still there, although logs show "no IPv6 Routers available". Logs also tell that dhcp is timed out.
Anyway there is no network connection. What should I do next? By the way, do normal DHCP servers look at MAC address-hostname correspondence at all?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#26 by donald » 09 Feb 2017, 13:09

I did post dhclient eth0 to force getting an address.
However
I do not see any dhcp communication in your outcome.
Usually it should looks like:

Code: Select all

dhcpcd eth0

eth0: dhcpcd starting
eth0: broadcasting for a lease
eth0: offered 192.168.x.x from 192.168.x.x
eth0: checking 192.168.x.x is available on attached networks
eth0: acknowledged 192.168.x.x from 192.168.x.x
eth0: leased 192.168.x.x for 691200 seconds
maybe try the netconfig tool and / or try to setup a static ip/connection.
http://www.slackware.com/config/network.php
http://docs.slackware.com/slackware:beg ... ur_network

write down the relevant info
(windows or any other pc which does successfully connect)
ip =
broadcast address =
subnet mask =
default route =
primary dns =

and then as root
killall dhcpcd
ifconfig eth0 192.---- netmask 255.---- up
route add default gateway 192.----
(use the gathered information)

afterwards try to ping your router/gateway -- and 8.8.8.8

btw
Have you tried a buntu live-cd...did it work?

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#27 by rych » 10 Feb 2017, 00:18

Code: Select all

dhclient eth0
produced no output. It returned in about half a minute.
I'm not allowed to set up a static IP on this machine.
Will try your the ubuntu Live CD (from a usb) later.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#28 by donald » 10 Feb 2017, 10:44

rych wrote:dhclient eth0 produced no output.
Yep, sorry, it should be dhclient -v eth0

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 87
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#29 by rych » 11 Feb 2017, 04:54

Here is my sequence and the output,

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop
ifconfig eth1 down
ifconfig eth1 up
dhcpcd eth1
:
DUID 00:01:00:01:20:2b:71:b2:74:e6:e2:e2:83:3a
eth1: IAID e2:e2:83:3a
eth1: soliciting a DHCP lease
eth1: soliciting an IPv6 router
eth1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.156.56
eth1: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16
forked to background, child pid 1692

dhclient -v eth1
:
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.3.4
Copyright 2004-2016 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/74:e6:e2:e2:83:3a
Sending on   LPF/eth1/74:e6:e2:e2:83:3a
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
and so on...
I'm going to follow up with either a) booting into Windows, finding out the IP address etc., and manually configuring it in porteus, ...or b) booting with ubuntu(or another?) Live-CD (can you recommend an image with a fresh enough kernel that I could just install on a USB?) to see whether it picks up network. I still think that it's ultimately the I217-LM NIC, a most relevant hardware difference of this machine compared to the next that causes the problem of automatic connection.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1247
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#30 by donald » 11 Feb 2017, 11:07

Now we have an eth1 ?

--> and so on..<--
Did it end with the line "No DHCPOFFERS received" ?
means the DHCP server is not responding to the client.

As outlined in the slitaz post, it should work since kernel 3.5 and it did work
with kernel 3.2.71 + e1000e-3.3.5.3.
You could try an older version of porteus (e.g. 3.1 with kernel 3.17) to determine
if it does not work since 4.x kernels.

once you got a connection write down the contents of

Code: Select all

cat /etc/resolv.conf
=============================================
I wish I could test it myself and then come up with the solution.

ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 up
dhcpcd -k eth0
dhcpcd eth0

if only a timing problem, then e.g.
dhcpcd -k eth0
dhcpcd -t 60 eth0

another file of interest:
/etc/dhcpcd.conf
===============================================
:unknown:

Post Reply