Thunar as root

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
dinosaur
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 17:34
Distribution: Debian
Location: England

Thunar as root

Post#1 by dinosaur » 04 Jan 2017, 00:32

I'm not sure if this one is a bug or a feature.

Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE off USB stick.

I've noticed 2 strange differences running Thunar as root rather than as guest.

The partition labels aren't displayed in the left pane as root.

I can't mount an ISO on a USB FAT partition using right click as root. To copy the porteus folder from ISO I had to use mount -o loop and cp.

No big problem, but just so you are aware @brokerman.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1128
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Thunar as root

Post#2 by donald » 05 Jan 2017, 14:49

Hello dinosaur

This only happens when you start "thunar(root)" while being logged in as guest.

Logged in as guest; thunar(root) starts via gksu. -- not real root--
If you invoke the "mount iso" command
"/usr/libexec/gvfsd-archive file=some iso"
in a guest su to root terminal you will get:
Error connecting to D-Bus: The connection is closed (g-io-error-quark, 18)
because the dbus-session is running for (logged in) guest and not for root.

Log in as "real" root and Thunar works as expected.

you could also use an archive-manager like Engrampa to open iso files
(included in stock porteus XFCE)

dinosaur
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 30 Jan 2016, 17:34
Distribution: Debian
Location: England

Re: Thunar as root

Post#3 by dinosaur » 05 Jan 2017, 17:49

got it. :) thanks.

Post Reply