Virtualbox and Windows 7

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#1 by Jack » 31 Dec 2016, 19:25

How can I get virtualbox to run Windows 7? How can I insert or install Windows 7 inside virtualbox? I have never use virtualbox before? I do have Windows 7 ISO on a USB. All version of it.

I need to run a Windows program for my Mobius 2 camera. I found that virtualbox can do it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#2 by Vic » 01 Jan 2017, 02:53

I think there are VBOX images available from Microsoft and maybe even the Virtualbox website. Do a Ducksearch for Virtualbox images.

Vic

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#3 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 03:31

Vic wrote:I think there are VBOX images available from Microsoft and maybe even the Virtualbox website. Do a Ducksearch for Virtualbox images.

Vic
I want to run virtualbox on Porteus and I want to run Windows 7 program in that virtualbox or do I have to install Windows 7 in that virtualbox so I can run that windows program? To use that program I find a computer that has Windows 7 on it.

Is there another program that can do it? If virtualbox won't.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#4 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 06:33

I see there is a VBox builder and there is a module VirtualBox-5.1.4-porteus-v3.2rc5-x86_64-1prt.xzm. Remember I do not know a thing about this.

I do have one question. Do I need to activate VirtualBox-5.1.4-porteus-v3.2rc5-x86_64-1prt.xzm and run VBox builder or what.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#5 by Vic » 01 Jan 2017, 08:36

Vbox builder is cool. When it is done you will have a module that can be put in the modules folder, which will activate on boot.

In Vbox you will need to create a new VM and point it to the downloaded image I mentioned earlier.

Vbox works GREAT on my Porteus 3.1 KDE.

Vic

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#6 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 14:28

Here is windows I got when I first started.
Image
And I receive this after I click on new
Image
What I do here or now?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#7 by donald » 01 Jan 2017, 17:56

Enter a name of your choice. -> click next

Jack
Setting up a virtual machine is like assembling a PC from the parts.
Chose the name > how much memory > size of the hard disk
(where to store this file) etc.
When all pieces are put together you have a new,empty PC.
Next step would be to install the OS from an iso or CD to it.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#8 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 18:54

After I set it up I receive these ERROR.

Image
Image
Image

What is missing?

I have a 32gb USB could I have Mate install and what it wants to make on it or what it wants to make a Hard drive? I like it all to be on the USB.

I just remember I have a 64gb USB I could you.

UPDATE:
Do I need to set it up in root?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#9 by beny » 01 Jan 2017, 20:13

/run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv, ok this is mine but you have to recall into a console this script: rc.vboxdrv that redo the kernel driver for the kernel that you use, every kernel change you have to execute this script.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5575
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#10 by brokenman » 01 Jan 2017, 20:17

Looks like a bad VirtuBox module. I will check the module on the server. You can rebuild it by activating the 05_devel and crippled sources module and from a root terminal type: update-vbox

This will build the latest virtualbox module and leave it in /tmp

EDIT: Even better do above as Beny says. Make sure you have the development modules activated though.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#11 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 21:04

beny wrote:/run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv, ok this is mine but you have to recall into a console this script: rc.vboxdrv that redo the kernel driver for the kernel that you use, every kernel change you have to execute this script.
This what happen I ran it.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ /run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv
bash: /run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv: No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# /run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv
bash: /run/media/root/60987160-f929-4ae4-ba55-c60d9433eef9/etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv: No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
I also did this.
Image
Last edited by Jack on 01 Jan 2017, 21:20, edited 1 time in total.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#12 by donald » 01 Jan 2017, 21:05

Jack, which version of porteus do you use? ,3.2.1 or 3.2rc5,
because you have to use (download) the correct vbox xzm-module,matching your kernel version.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#13 by Bogomips » 01 Jan 2017, 21:21

^ Does this mean one no longer has to build it?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1189
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#14 by Jack » 01 Jan 2017, 21:22

donald wrote:Jack, which version of porteus do you use? ,3.2.1 or 3.2rc5,
because you have to use (download) the correct vbox xzm-module,matching your kernel version.
I'm using 32rc5. All the other boot up slow.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Virtualbox and Windows 7

Post#15 by donald » 01 Jan 2017, 21:36

64 Bit?
if yes,use this one:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/archive/Po ... 4-1prt.xzm
if this one doesn't work, download and activate the 05-devel.xzm
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/archive/Po ... -devel.xzm
and the crippled_sources.xzm
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/archive/Po ... ources.xzm
and start the vbox builder.
It will make a new and hopefully working vbox.xzm.

Post Reply