Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#31 by Blaze » 11 Jan 2017, 18:22

dutchkind wrote:Btw, is scanning included in the printing module?
Of course for scanning too. My printing modules include these packages:

Code: Select all

PyQt5-5.7-x86_64-1alien
brscan-0.2.4-0.amd64
brscan-skey-0.2.4-1.amd64
brscan2-0.2.5-1.amd64
brscan3-0.2.11-5.amd64
brscan4-0.4.2-1.amd64
cups-2.1.4-x86_64-1
cups-bjnp-1.2-x86_64-1_slonly
cups-filters-1.9.0-x86_64-2
cups-pdf-3.0beta1-x86_64-1_slonly
dbus-python-1.2.4-x86_64-1
epson-inkjet-printer-escpr-1.6.10-x86_64-1_SBo
exo-0.10.7-x86_64-1
foomatic-db-engine-4.0.12-x86_64-1_slonly
foomatic-filters-4.0.17-x86_64-1
ghostscript-9.19-x86_64-2
ghostscript-fonts-std-8.11-noarch-1
gutenprint-5.2.11-x86_64-2
hplip-3.16.11-x86_64-3
hplip-plugin-3.16.10-x86_64-1_SBo
imagescan-3.23.0-1epson4fedora24.x86_64
imagescan-plugin-networkscan-1.1.0-1epson4fedora24.x86_64
imagescan-plugin-ocr-engine-1.0.0-1epson4fedora24.x86_64
iscan-2.30.3-1.x86_64
iscan-data-1.38.0-1.noarch
iscan-network-nt-1.1.1-1.x86_64
libnl-1.1.4-x86_64-1
libsane-dsseries-1.0.5-1.x86_64
net-snmp-5.7.3-x86_64-3
notify-python-0.1.1-x86_64-5
pycairo-1.10.0-x86_64-1
pycups-1.9.73-x86_64-1
pycurl-7.43.0-x86_64-1
pygobject-2.28.6-x86_64-2
pygtk-2.24.0-x86_64-2
qpdf-6.0.0-x86_64-1
reportlab-3.2.0-x86_64-1_slonly
scangearmp2_3.20-1_amd64
simple-scan-3.20.0-x86_64-1jsc
sip-4.18-x86_64-1
system-config-printer-1.3.13-x86_64-2
v4l-utils-1.10.0-x86_64-1
xsane-0.999-x86_64-1
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

dutchkind
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jan 2017, 20:19
Distribution: Opensuse Tumbleweed
Location: Spain

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#32 by dutchkind » 11 Jan 2017, 18:52

I hadn't taken a closer look at the contents yet, and since I am now working from opensuse... I can not see it. Anyway, when I tried to scan without having simple-scan installed via usm, I get:

Code: Select all

xsane 
xsane: error while loading shared libraries: libsane.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
imagescan 
imagescan: error while loading shared libraries: libboost_filesystem.so.1.60.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
iscan 
iscan: error while loading shared libraries: libsane.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
simple-scan 
simple-scan: error while loading shared libraries: libgusb.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Installing simple-scan via usm, which pulled in sane 1025 also, fixed all these errors, so some things may be missing from the printing module. Could very well be that those libraries are installed in one of the gnome derivatives of Porteus, but since I run KDE5, I didn't have them.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#33 by Blaze » 11 Jan 2017, 19:12

dutchkind, you are right.
In Cinnamon - xsane and imagescan has troubles.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# xsane
xsane: error while loading shared libraries: libgimpui-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# imagescan
imagescan: error while loading shared libraries: libboost_filesystem.so.1.60.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# iscan 
root@porteus:~# simple-scan
In the coming days I'll update printing modules.
Thank you :)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#34 by donald » 13 Jan 2017, 03:54

3.2.2 XFCE 32 Bit

It is friday 13 ..and bang..

The vbox builder worked perfectly in 3.2.1, so i thought it would be a good idea
to use the builder in 3.2.2 too to get the newest version of vbox....wrong decision.

The builder build the new vbox module BUT did not,(or could not?),
clean up the install in /opt/VirtualBox and other Folders.

result:
It got saved in the changes Folder.
As of now I don't even have to activate a vbox.xzm,
vbox start at every boot (and works) without any vbox.xzm

o_o

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports: Invalid argument

Post#35 by Bogomips » 14 Jan 2017, 11:59

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# changes-time
Enter time interval or press enter for keeping default value (3 minutes):
2
Following folders will be excluded by default: /dev, /home, /mnt, /root, /tmp
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/var/tmp/kdecache-guest’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/var/tmp’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/var/log’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/var’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.local/share/sddm’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.local/share/konsole’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.local/share’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.local’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.kde/share/config’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.kde/share’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.kde’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.cache’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest/.config’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home/guest’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/home’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831/etc’: Invalid argument
mv: preserving permissions for ‘/root/changes1831’: Invalid argument
all files created/modified in last 2 minutes were copied to /root/changes1831 folder
Looks like being related to viewtopic.php?f=140&t=6548&p=52016#p52016
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

alexgorr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 20
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 12:48
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#36 by alexgorr » 14 Jan 2017, 17:26

Hello everyone.
Porteus freezes (at least for me).
I'm trying the latest porteus (kernel 4.9).
I load the same modules i loaded with previous (it worked/works perfectly !)
I've written another post before, but i don't know if problems are related or not. I however believe they are .
Randomly (may be after 3h or after 1 minute) the system can behave so :
1 ) Or the network stops working and i can ping an external site without being able to wget http://www.google.it for example.
2) Or the system freezes immediately for example moving the mouse
When i can launch something i view logs but nothing seems to be important.
In in this situation try to launch ifconfig eth0 down the system freezes totally.
I've also tried to start the ssh server and tried to check via ssh if i could check logs, but the system is unresponsive and blocked.
Now I'm searching to save changes to disk hoping to see something in logs.
WHAT COULD I DO MORE TO RESOLVE THIS UNCONFORTABLE SITUATION ?
THANKS

With 4.9.4 kernel all seems being resolved, probably the bug was only with i915 intel
Last edited by alexgorr on 17 Jan 2017, 17:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1424
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#37 by Blaze » 15 Jan 2017, 17:31

Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#38 by donald » 16 Jan 2017, 17:22

XFCE 4.9.0-porteus i686

cat -n /opt/porteus-scripts/changes-time
Line 34 .....$tmp/$changes/lib/modules/3.*/*...
should be 4.*/*..no?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#39 by Bogomips » 16 Jan 2017, 18:07

^ Looks like good catch, no? :D
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

markdown
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 11:52
Distribution: porteus
Location: marktown

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#40 by markdown » 18 Jan 2017, 10:53

markdown wrote:Using 3.2.2 64Bit with KDE5 on a Dell XPS 13
...
Doesn't Work:
- Screen resolution setting missing in the KDE5 menu(However, changing the resolution via xrandr works)
....
Anyone have any fixes for this? The command kscreen doesn't exist(as root) and kscreen_backend_launcher gives this error:

Code: Select all

kscreen.backendLauncher: Cannot register org.kde.KScreen service. Another launcher already running?
This is probably more of a KDE5 bug, any interim suggestions?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3205
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#41 by Ed_P » 19 Jan 2017, 01:05

To those that have reported extremely long boot times with Porteus I have stumbled upon something that may address that.

On a Porteus USB drive I created I used boot cheatcodes from a previous install that referenced a folder that I had not yet created on the USB drive. Boot times were minutes long. I finally created the folder, didn't add anything into it, but rebooting was back to seconds!!

So, if you use a changes= or extramod= cheatcode or simply use an implied changes=/porteus folder, make sure the folder exists.
Ed

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 642
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#42 by fulalas » 23 Jan 2017, 07:41

Not a bug, but what you think about updating FFMpeg? Porteus now has FFMpeg 3.0.2, but FFMpeg is now at 3.2.2.

And what about keeping MPlayer inside 003- instead of 002-?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports: noswap Issue

Post#43 by Bogomips » 26 Jan 2017, 12:22

noswap in Command Line does not seem to be working:
  • Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
    quiet from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/3.2.2/i586/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2.2-i586.iso copy2ram ramsize=25% noauto rootcopy=/dev/sda4/cin_rcp noswap nonetwork noload=002;003 3
    
  • Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ free -m
                  total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
    Mem:            879          14         643         116         221         622
    Swap:           644           0         644
    guest@porteus:~$ /sbin/swapon -s
    Filename                                Type            Size    Used    Priority
    /dev/sda11                              partition       130044  0       -1
    /dev/sda7                               partition       530108  0       -2
    
    guest@porteus:~$ sudo /sbin/swapoff /dev/sda11
    guest@porteus:~$ sudo /sbin/swapoff /dev/sda7
    guest@porteus:~$ /sbin/swapon -s
    guest@porteus:~$ free -m
                  total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
    Mem:            879          14         642         116         222         622
    Swap:             0           0           0
    
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3205
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports: noswap Issue

Post#44 by Ed_P » 26 Jan 2017, 16:04

Bogomips wrote:noswap in Command Line does not seem to be working:
Try leaving it off.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3818         515        2077         151        1224        2705
Swap:             0           0           0
guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
quiet BOOT_IMAGE=(loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2.1-x86_64.iso volume=33 reboot=cold extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat noload=porteussave.dat.xzm
guest@porteus:~$ 
and

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           1734         324         196          83        1213        1004
Swap:             0           0           0
guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
guest@porteus:~$ 
No noswap in Command Line does seem to be working. :D
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#45 by Bogomips » 26 Jan 2017, 17:53

^ Please do fdisk -l /dev/sdXy to show which Swap Partitions not Activated. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply