DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Non release banter
Post Reply
Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#1 by Vic » 21 Dec 2016, 03:32

I am using DuckDuckGo exclusively for my internet searches, and am very happy with the lack of junk I would need to weed through if I were using Google. Thanks to Porteus for that.

I am curious if there is any other avenue for someone to help the Porteus ship to continue sailing. My wife controls our money, but not in a bad way. I have read posts here and there about t-shirts and other stuff, helping wean people off of Windows and posting on other forums. Is there something more one can do without coding knowledge?

Vic

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#2 by Rava » 28 Dec 2016, 04:47

I cannot help with the other stuff, but I can give heads up to ddg; When FFx appends "t=porteus" into the search URL, then Port gets some money, if it doesn't, then Port gets nothing.

(You have to insert that into your duckduckgo*.xml, that sits in browser/searchplugin [wherever your browser is installed into] to include <Param name="t" value="porteus"/> But cave! You have to edit it as root, and Firefox must not run at the time.)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#3 by Vic » 28 Dec 2016, 08:40

Hi Rava. Thank you for the information.

I found two xml files: duckduckgo and duckduckgo-lite. When opening them up with Kwrite there is this message:

"The file /mnt/live/memory/images/mozilla-firefox-45.3.0esr-i686-1gv.xzm/usr/src/mozilla-firefox-45.3.0esr/duckduckgo.xml was opened and contained lines longer than the configured Line Length Limit (4,096 characters). Those lines were wrapped and the document is set to read-only mode, as saving will modify its content."

The files are in the images folder because I am using a firefox module.

It seems I will need to modify the Firefox module. A new adventure, YAY!

Vic

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#4 by Rava » 28 Dec 2016, 18:23

Vic wrote:"The file /mnt/live/memory/images/mozilla-firefox-45.3.0esr-i686-1gv.xzm/usr/src/mozilla-firefox-45.3.0esr/duckduckgo.xml was opened and contained lines longer than the configured Line Length Limit (4,096 characters). Those lines were wrapped and the document is set to read-only mode, as saving will modify its content."
Oh yes, I forgot, I saw it but it was no issue for mousepad or geany... At least I think it was no issue, since the file is like it should be, I did not actually edit it. The last time I did so, it was a version without the inline icon. That's the reason one line is so bloated...
Vic wrote:It seems I will need to modify the Firefox module. A new adventure, YAY!
No, you can put it into the correct path/filename when using porteus/rootcopy. But I only advise you doing so when you have a Linux-FS for the boot medium, aka ext2 or ext3, not vfat or ntfs aka fuseblk :D .

On the other hand, it is good when you start making your own modules. Best start with very small changes and move on from there. :beer:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#5 by Vic » 28 Dec 2016, 23:35

Thanks, Rava.

I will acquire mousepad and geany to try editing. I forgot about rootcopy even though I use it for firefox. I use ext4, so I should be OK.

Vic

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#6 by Vic » 30 Dec 2016, 19:07

I think I should start a new thread, because my little adventure is becoming deeper than expected. Finding the "T=porteus" is harder than I was hoping.

I do not want to hijack my own thread.

Vic

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#7 by Vic » 03 Jan 2017, 17:23

If I insert "t=porteus" into the DDG url when I am on another operating system, like MS Windows using internet exploder, does Porteus get anything from it?

That would be funny. And cool.

Vic

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#8 by brokenman » 03 Jan 2017, 18:54

You can open most browsers and go into the area where you 'manage search engines'. In there you can set the default search:

Code: Select all

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%s&t=porteus
Screenshot: https://s30.postimg.org/9wg8fgqpd/Scree ... _41_17.png
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#9 by Ed_P » 03 Jan 2017, 19:34

brokenman wrote:

Code: Select all

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%s&t=porteus
I'm pretty sure you can also enter into the url box of a browser

Code: Select all

https://duckduckgo.com/?t=porteus&q=
prior to a desired search string.

For example to search for "how to have fun" into the browser's url box enter:

Code: Select all

https://duckduckgo.com/?t=porteus&q=how to have fun
and press Enter.

This doesn't change the browser's default search engine but does use DDG with Porteus for the search.
Ed

Vic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Aug 2016, 05:36
Distribution: 3.1 KDE
Location: Utopia in Tampa, Florida, USA

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#10 by Vic » 05 Jan 2017, 15:23

I like being able to manually enter the "t=porteus" . if I am on a library computer, for instance.

On my home computers I save the url as a bookmark, which enables the "t=porteus" automagically.

Thanks for the info.

Vic

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: DuckDuckGo and other Porteus support

Post#11 by brokenman » 05 Jan 2017, 22:13

I'm pretty sure you can also enter into the url box of a browser
Yes you can. Just showing the right tool for the job.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply