Touchpad not working

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Adam.Milani
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016, 21:40
Distribution: 3.1
Location: Canada

Touchpad not working

Post#1 by Adam.Milani » 15 Dec 2016, 22:12

Hey guys
I am trying to install porteus on my MSI wind U100, but when I boot up into always fresh so that I can run the installer, the mouse does not seem to work at all. The mouse works fine on the win 8 currently installed.
Any help would be great since I am loving porteus on my other laptop
Thanks in advance
Adam

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2549
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Touchpad not working

Post#2 by Bogomips » 16 Dec 2016, 00:32

Welcome to Porteus. Help should not be long in coming. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Adam.Milani
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016, 21:40
Distribution: 3.1
Location: Canada

Re: Touchpad not working

Post#3 by Adam.Milani » 16 Dec 2016, 03:36

Thanks man :)

jssouza
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 180
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Re: Touchpad not working

Post#4 by jssouza » 16 Dec 2016, 06:29

Hi Adam,

Usually have to update a config file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d to make touchpad work.

Please check the touchpad section of the following link:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/MSI_Wind_U100

Seems there are 2 kinds of touchpad for it based on the model(Synaptic/Sentelic). The Synaptic configuration should be at the same place that you have to update for Porteus as well (that is, /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf).
For the Sentelic, instead of the /etc/rc.local (for Arch Linux), add the configurations in the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file for Porteus.
Maybe this helps.

Adam.Milani
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Nov 2016, 21:40
Distribution: 3.1
Location: Canada

Re: Touchpad not working

Post#5 by Adam.Milani » 16 Dec 2016, 17:40

Hi
Thanks for the reply,
However, how do I add or update the file without the mouse working. I figure open the terminal but then what.
Sorry, I realize I am an absolute noob
Thank you for your patience
Adam

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Touchpad not working

Post#6 by brokenman » 16 Dec 2016, 18:00

If the keyboard works you can edit the file with mcedit.

Code: Select all

su
root
mcedit /path/to/file
F10 to save and exit.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply